Tuesday about Sunday

 Tonight is not fit for man or beast outside, sustained winds at around 50mph and much higher gusts, and sideways rain in sheets!
But more on that in a later blog.
 
I have been working on some sunset photos I took on Sunday.
Typically during a good sunset I take 20 to 50 shots, and I always try to find new and better ways to present them.
I am playing with some software that can let me do a slide show with music and so on, and I think it has some promise.
There is a learning curve of course, and I’m just not quite ready to put my first little show out in prime time.
 
So…
Here are a couple of favorites of mine in the mean time.
 
This one was an ongoing experiment with near and far subjects, and I was pleased that the image is a fair rendition of what I saw.

IMGP8451

 
In the words of a friend and excellent photographer who critiqued the whole series and said…
"This one has it all…the sun, the glow off the water, the flying plane, the rain showers over the mountains, and the silhouetted tree. Fantastic moment… "
 

IMGP8459

 
Yes it was a fantastic moment, and I am smiling that I get to share it with everyone.
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tuesday about Sunday

  1. elizabeth says:

    just beautiful.  some of your best. 
    hugs.  xxx

  2. CC says:

     
    How awesome!  I am getting into photography more and more.  It\’s all about the imagination! 

  3. Cheryl says:

    They are fantastic pictures… Iwant to learn how to do the slide show thing but I just don\’t have time to learn it right now….Waiting to see yours…

  4. PEP says:

    It\’s beginning to feel a little like fall around here. We have had some beautiful weather the last few days. Sounds like it\’s alredy winter where you are :-(. Beautiful sunset pictures as always. I\’m thinking of enrolling in a beginners photography course at the local community college (if only to know how to use another setting being the automatic setting).

  5. Aimee says:

     beautiful….
    *~* :o) if you don\’t have a smile to give… :o) I will give you one of mine… :o) *~*

  6. Barb says:

    Steve, I hope the storm has finally ended for you there and didn\’t leave too much damage in its wake.
    Both of these images are incredible.  I love your Alaskan sunsets and your talent of capturing those moments forever.
    Hug hugs,
    Barb 🙂
    PS  Go on, say it.  You knew I would come back eventually 🙂

  7. Cindy says:

     50 mph winds?  Now that\’s some serious wind…and mix in heavy rain, sounds lovely.  Hope things are beautiful for the first day of fall.  Cindy

  8. Punzy says:

    OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOh – that second photo was so good I wanted to steal it but I didnt.  Promise. Id love to be able to take photos like that.  Im kinda jealous but Ill leave you with a hug anyway!!! 
     
    Hugs Punzy xxx

  9. elizabeth says:

    your comments always make me smile.  ( did you visualise the stamping of the foot too ? )
    much love, bb. xxx 

  10. Nessa says:

    AWESOME – both photos are marvellous but that second one is just incredible.  You are such an inspiration to all of us amateur photographers – well I know you inspire me – I just today too some close up shots of autumn berries and changing leaves – inspired by your earlier posts.   Nowhere near as great as yours but am pleased with them and may be brave enough to do a blog on my Autumn garden shots soon.  The slideshow sounds great – I recently made my very own first youtube slideshow to music – not my own pictures but was fun to make and receive good comments on.  I am looking forward to seeing your slideshow and then I can badger you to tell me how you did it 🙂 

  11. Jay says:

    These photos are amazing. You are so very talented, and with a good eye.
    Jay
     

  12. BH says:

    The grass in the sunset adds a very interesting element to the sunset.  My wife and I take so many sunset photos that after a while the challenge becomes how to make them unique from the last.  Great colors.Cheers,BH

  13. Amanda says:

    Hello Steve,
    This is one of the sunset pictures from your video that i fell in love with and have the urge to paint.  It is true, it has every element that is so dynamic and wonderous.  The video is perfect by the way, i loved it and will go back to see it again !
    I have had a fair bit of reading to do this morning, as i havent read your blogs in a long time.  Now my eyes are popping out lol !
    I will come back to finish reading, as now i have to get ready for work.
    Hope you have a happy weekend, and that we get to chat again soon my friend.
    Be happy,
    Love Mandy Marie xx

  14. Beth says:

    Beautiful!!!  I thoroughly enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

