Giving Thanks by the Day

I am trying to be grateful for each passing day.

This can be difficult at times, some days are tough to be grateful for. But the way I am trying to look at it, those days that are difficult are just a precursor to better days, and therefore I should be grateful for each. In other words, they are really parts of the whole, so I want to be grateful and give thanks for the tough ones as well as the ones that feel more rewarding. The ultimate extension of this I suppose would be to be thankful for each moment, maybe I’ll work on that next.

Today we had a storm move in that brought a lot of wind, high temperatures (up into the 40’s) and some rain. The direct result I saw was the snow on the trails I ski on turned to slush and then to slop. Kinda hard to like that much! The day was grey and drab looking for the most part. I did get some chores done outside that the weather helped out with so that was good. Later I saw the sun starting to set (it set at 4:08 pm today), and decided to go out to the inlet to see.

Here are some shots from tonight…

There were waves coming in and spray from the wind

IMGP1287 a

The color started very subtle in several "windows"

IMGP1306 ar

As the sky grew darker the color developed more,

The mountain in the lower right is a 4,000+ foot high in elevation volcano,

to give you an idea of scale.

IMGP1327 a

Here is the big picture, roughly a hundred miles of horizon shown.

IMGP1333 a

I took a couple panorama photo sets.

These next two photos are from the same panorama, first the left (or southern most view)

40-41 Pan

And then the right (northern most view)

42-43 Pan

Hmmmm not too drab after all, seems like the theory may work!

Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

     

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Giving Thanks by the Day

  1. Nae says:

    Have a happy, delicious day!  I will pray that you succeed in finding joy in the moments — looks like the Lord gave you plenty to enjoy last night — I pray that you have plenty to enjoy today!
     
    Thanks for all the eye delights that you share with the world!
     
    God bless you and keep you,
     
    Nae  :o)

  2. Nessa says:

    I agree totally – being grateful can really be hard sometimes and some days I wonder what on earth I can be grateful for- but in the end something always happens that gives you something to be grateful for – even if it is only a few words written in an email or on my website – a few words that remind me I always have something to be grateful for – My Friends – they make the world a much better place!  🙂  Oh and at least one of them takes really gob-smacking pictures that could brighten up anyones day – Thanks Steve – I am grateful for you 🙂

  3. Barb says:

    Wow, the whole sky was engaged during that sunset!  What a wonderful colourful end to a somewhat drab and grey day.  I really loved the action of the waves.  I could have stood and listened to that sound for a long time.
     
    Have a wonderful Thanksgiving Day Steve!
     
    Hugs,
    Barb 🙂

  4. Cindy says:

    Hope you had a good day.  It\’s colder up here than in your neck of the woods…what\’s wrong with that picture?  Great pictures…as usual.  Thanks for sharing.  Cindy
     

  5. NATIVE says:

    Awesome pictures and awesome perspective! It is a beautiful place you reside in, and I am very grateful you shared it. Peace.

  6. Tani says:

    Fantastic sky,defiantely worth being grateful for. Sorry to hear about the sloppy snow. I wouldn\’t mind sending you ours.Hey ,you were supposed to keep it up there,what happened? LOL
     
    Hope you can still move after the Thanksgiving feast. Myself I am exhausted and in need of my bed for these painful hips and back from wallowing on the floor half the day thaking pix of the wee little Grandneices. But I am waiting for one more piece of pie first.LOL

  7. Aimee says:

    beautiful…
    *~* :o) don\’t cry cause it\’s over… :o) smile cause it happened… :o) *~*

  8. Life's Like A Beach says:

    Thank you Steve for stopping by my page recently along with the well wishes for Thanksgiving.  Do hope that your Thanksgiving brought a glint to your eyes & happiness to your heart!  After I posted my blog I headed out to my mom\’s that was about an 1 1/2 hr drive to what I referred to in my youth as the "boonies".  It is the same now.  It is beautiful in the woods outside the city where I can get in some nature walks.  Perhaps some of my photos taken will be worth sharing.  Will know later.  Thanks for sharing these awesome photos, especially the water.  I have been missing the ocean & hope to get out to it soon.  Your photo made me imagine the smell of the air when it sprays & that you had that gift carried to you while taking it all in.  May Peace & Blessing Be With You…footprints @ Life\’s Like A Beach 

  9. Sheila says:

    it is a struggle, but sometimes you do have to "wait" for those things of which to be grateful,  like your beautiful photographs, and yes it is a day to day deal sometimes.  Moment to moment would definately be the ultimate goal, as you say.  I love the "window", quite subdued and tame compared to the washes of bright colors in the others, though they are beautiful also.  Would love to see the panorama.  The ocean looks so brutally (Polar Bear Club) cold, especially since I am used to ocean water temps of 70 and above, but this one evokes a strange feeling, maybe because it is so unfamiliar looking. or maybe it isn\’t…maybe it reminds me of winter in the Massachusetts as a teenager, when we would take a ride to Hull Beach, just for the heck of it…. to just be teenagers!
    thanks for reminding me to be grateful, that is something I need to do each day, for everything I have been blessed with…

  10. PEP says:

    Thanks Steve for sharing your corner of the world with us in pitures and in words, for that I am very grateful.

Leave a Reply

