Morning Star

Things come full circle sometimes…

The other day I saw a blog at Hurricane Lane about suffering a loss, dealing with life’s downs, and expressing positive wishes. I found this very inspiring and I wrote a poem, trying to capture the positive outlook. I looked for a photo to go with, and finding none suitable I sent the poem off as a comment.

That night I stayed out in the valley hoping to see the northern lights, which were once again elusive. I was ready to leave before dawn but the tail lights on my truck were out and I ended up waiting until daylight before getting on the highway.

The wait reminded me of a time long ago when I had climbed up the icy north face of Mount Assiniboine to a rock band. My climbing partner and I waited for the daylight in the cold Canadian wilderness so we could move on up that north face climb, only the second time it had ever been done in winter. Silently waiting for the dawn…

As the light began to reveal sights I began to photograph. I shot several photos that I was glad to be able to experience. Then I saw a morning star and it seemed to be aligned nicely with the mountains, so I took a few shots. When I saw what I was getting on the camera preview panel I knew this was the photo that went with my poem, and I continued to photograph to get the best one I could. That it was revealed to me in this way was very moving. That it was above Pioneer Peak, another north face I climbed thirty years ago, is icing on the cake.

I will always remember this morning star shoot, and all that was unexpectedly revealed. The morning star will always mean to me the star of the beginning of a new day, and the glimmer of a promising new journey.

Thanks to Sheila at Hurricane Lane for her very positive outlook that inspired the poem.

Thanks to my guardian angel for being kind to me and my climbing partners, and in making sure that light switch burned up at the particular time and place…and bring this morning star to me, to bring it full circle.

IMGP1891 c

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Morning Star

  1. Nessa says:

    A Beautiful photo, a beautiful verse and a beautiful soul and spirit who provides us with such images of beauty and inspiration – May your angels always guard and protect you Steve -Thank You!

  2. Kimmy says:

    I don\’t think I could say it any better than Earth-Mother just did! Breathtaking shot my friend. I did run into Mr. Hawk again.. she/he indeed has 2 fledglings that hang out nearby. They\’ll sit on the wires and watch the cars pass by but the second you stop your vehicle they take off. I have taken it upon myself to be their lookout now. lol

  3. Vieille Ourse says:

    Just the right time for the picture, just the right words for the poem …. Great, indeed !

  4. Sheila says:

    Sometimes opportunities present themselves when we have just about given up.
    and sometimes these opportunities aren\’t what we originally planned.But do we "present" ourselves in the first place, to the opportunities that are out there?Ya know, bother to show up?
     
    Through hard work, patience and devotion to your craft, not only did you "present" yourself to this opportunity, but you were flexible and open enough to see it for what it was (even though it didn\’t match your original plan). You were there for the Northern Lights but ended up getting the Morning Star! How extreme is that?!?!?
     
    There is so much symbolism in both your words and your photograph. This will provide inspiration to everyone who sees it. I have never watched the Morning Star rise, but this poem reminds me that first I have to show up ("present myself") and then have a positive outlook as to what lays ahead.  This is a fabulous photo, everything about it is perfect and the mist almost says to me, you never know what will be present (or behind curtain number three!).
    Keep presenting yourself Steve (the opportunities will always be there) with that patience and openess you have, and thank you for sharing this very special moment. No, not one special moment, a culmination of special moments, that resulted in the Morning Star.
    hugs and so much admiration,Sheila
     
    Hey! I sure hope you have fixed your tail lights ~ you still need to get those Northern Lights and we can\’t have you driving the last frontier without back up lights!!!!! how would Jake\’s friends know to get out of the way??
     
    pffffffft kinda ironic though, wouldn\’t ya say….Northern lights, tail lights! HA….just thought I would point that out, I\’m going now, hoping I don\’t leave a triple comment (giggle)

  5. Cindy says:

    That was beautiful…you\’re amazing! 

  6. BH says:

    Well said indeed my friend.  We all have a choice in how we approach any situation in life.  It\’s not always easy being positive.  But more often it takes even more energy to see the downside.  One of my all time favorite quotes is:  "People often fail to realize that when a door closes in front of them, another opens nearby."Enjoy the shortest day of the year and keep after your adventures and have a Merry Christmas!Cheers,BH

  7. Barb says:

    What a stunning image Steve.  Thank goodness your taillights were malfunctioning!  It would have been a shame to miss this spectacular moment.  The mist rising off the open water adds that little bit extra to the wonderful clear sky and the morning star.
    The poem you wrote for Sheila was beautiful.
    Have a wonderful weekend,
    Hugs,
    Barb 🙂 

  8. Suki x says:

    Hello Steve,  What a wonderful blog you have brought me to tears!  beautiful beautiful photos.   Thank you for your visit and a Very Happy Christmas to you and yours, Love and Peace for the New Year
     
    Love Suki x

  9. I says:

     
     
       Thanks so much for sharing not only your talent for photography but your talent for writing poetry. That was the most beautiful thing I have seen or read in a very long time. Merry Christmas, Steve.
     
       Blessings to you and yours,
     
        Tammy~

  10. Cindy says:

    OUCH!  That was an awful game to watch.  We may need to break into the Christmas beers this afternoon!  Oh and btw, dopplebach is a winter ale…heavy, dark and bitter.  Not my glass of beer!  Thanks for the condolences.

  11. Cindy says:

    Breathtaking photo and you were right it is the perfect setting for your verse. 
     
    Merry Christmas!
     

Leave a Reply

