Last Night’s Aurora

Last night the northern lights (Aurora Borealis) were visible from the high vantage point I sometimes go to watch sunsets.
They were more "quiet" than the night previous, meaning less active.
Mostly they appeared as a very broad band of light, sort of like a rainbow.
The Aurora lights are green and the red is from the city lights in the Anchorage bowl.
I made a simple overlay of two photos to illustrate this
 
Pan
 

The Aurora is cause when charged particles from the sun, called solar wind, hit the earth’s manetosphere,

creating a gigantic electro-magnetic generation of energy.

Photographing them last night was interesting to me as I had some foreground subjects with the trees, and because it spanned from mountain to city scape

IMGP2686 a

IMGP2671 a

IMGP2696 a

Auroral activity is forecast to increase the next couple days so I am getting ready for it

(and trying to get some sleep too).

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Last Night’s Aurora

  1. Vieille Ourse says:

    Poor Steve. You are really hooked !!! But well, I can understand …. this is so beautiful.
    Get some rest too … we will forgive you … lol
     

  2. Nessa says:

    I love that green rainbow in the first photo but my favourite is the last one.  The black silhouette of the trees and the brilliant lights of the city set below those wonderful whisps of brilliant green in the red sky – absolutely wonderful 🙂

  3. Barb says:

    Amazing sight!  I\’m so glad you are able to capture them.  I should wander out here in the night and see if they are visible this far south.  I like how you included the landscape.  It gives a great point of reference.  Happy Hunting! 🙂

  4. Kimmy says:

    You are having too much fun up in there Steve. And I can\’t blame ya one bit. You\’ve got God\’s playground at your feet! I love the last one the best..the silhouette of the trees against the sky just sets it off.

  5. catamaran says:

    Wonderful…I love Alaska.

  6. Amanda says:

    Hello Steve,
    Your photo\’s are so stunning ! You are lucky to be in a part of the world that has such spectacular entertainment in the skies. Your photo\’s prove that.
    How\’s you anyway ? Hope all is well with you and your family.
    Keep happy my friend,
    Love Mandy Marie xx

  7. Sheila says:

    Steve, As I have said before, your photos here are what distinguishes the professional photographer from the amateur. These are so beautiful and I hope you can continue to chase those Northern Lights,hugsSheila

  8. Jeff says:

    so beautiful

  9. Cindy says:

    Excellent!  Those are incredible pictures…as usual.
     
    I believe the fog yesterday would have been like in Thompson Pass.  Just the thought of driving in that stuff…on a high speed road…and believe me those drivers drive fast…was scary.  The temps got into the high 40\’s and there was still about 5 or 6 inches of snow on the ground.  This morning, we still have a couple inches on the ground, but for a change of pace, we have rain complete with thunder and lightening!  The weather\’s never boring around here!

  10. elizabeth says:

    great pics kid.  love the last one.
    hugs, bb.

  11. Amanda says:

    Hiya !
    I forgot to thank you for passing on my message for Beth.  She sent me an e-mail the other day saying you had passed it on to her, so thankyou my friend.
    Hope to chat on line soon…
    Keep happy, take care,
    Love Mandy Marie xx

  12. tressie says:

    It is my hope and dream to one day see the lights for myself – amazing – what a wonderful magical land you live in Steve…ttfn ~ tressie

Leave a Reply

