Night and Day

Pioneer Peak at about midnight
 
IMGP2738 a-cc
 
Stars track over Pioneer Peak in a 12 minute exposure
 
IMGP2742 a2
 
Angel of the Morning
subtle Aurora at 3am
 
IMGP2744 a Angel of the Morning
 
 
Midday Alpenglow
 
The Mount Foraker Massif
 
 IMGP2753 a
 
Denali (the great one)
 
 IMGP2755 a
 
 
 
 
 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Night and Day

  1. account deleted says:

     
    Wow those stars tracked a lot in just 12 minutes. I never woulda thunk it. Has it been warm where you are too?
     

  2. Passing says:

    Ok, what planet were you on with these out of this world pictures?
    Great job Steve! I saw your videos (applaude!) I hope you do more.
    Toodie

  3. Barb says:

    Love that first image.  The mountain takes on that ghostly atmosphere at night under long exposures. 
    I didn\’t even check the skies tonight.  Glad the light show is still on up there!  When do you sleep? 🙂
    Have another great photo night tonight!
    Barb 🙂

  4. tressie says:

    Steve – please add a thesaurus to your site so we who feast on your photos can find words to express our amazement at your talent and at the beauty of Alaska – words fail me.  ttfn ~ tressie

  5. Vieille Ourse says:

    Great ! I like the "trail" made by the stars … Well, yes, Steve, I also wonder when you sleep ??!!
    Anyway, thanks so much for sharing these wonders with us …

  6. -c says:

    I am amazed at your night exposures. The clarity and colors (almost golden) just amaze me – do you edit them or are they naturally like this?
     
    These pictures bring home just how much I miss living in the mountains – even in the winter. Truly majestic!
    -cindy

  7. Sarah says:

    I\’m with Vieille!!  When DO you sleep?  It can\’t be at night, cause I did an entry at midnight or so, then you left a comment between then and now–and I just got up!  You should still be in bed…………….being an hour or two behind our time zone.    Hmmmmm….
     
    Denali is quite awe inspiring.  I can just sit in front of your picture and feel \’hozoji\’ flow………this time the \’Re\’ in the Universal  \’Ki\’.  Wow…ooooooooo…………ahhhhhhhhhhhhh……

  8. Kuskulana says:

    -c
    I edit my photos with Paint Shop Pro.
    Generally I only adjust the saturation, never alter the color.
    I probably should just adjust the calibration on my camera, but I like to get the most neutral setting I can to give me maximum flexibility later.
    One exception is night shots with manmade light present such as the night shot with the stars tracking here,
    I adjusted the hue to make the snow more white.
    Thanks for asking!

  9. Ann says:

    Steve! Does you mother know you stay out that late?! That is almost time for me to be getting up.
    I love the shot of Denali. 

  10. Cindy says:

    Okay … you can get breathtaking shots of the Alaskan Wilderness but can you get one like this?
     

  11. Kimmy says:

    Holy cow.. what were you doing up at 3am taking photos man?? lol They were so worth it though! I so want to visit Alaska one day. Your photos just create more anxiety for me. lol

  12. catamaran says:

    Beautiful.I love the natural from Alaska.

Leave a Reply

