Bodies In Motion

I have a running dialog with Gareth at Ulstertower Photograpic about photographing Celestial Bodies.
We have been musing about predicting when an object in the sky, such as the moon, could be in proximity to another terrestrial object for a photo op.
As I told him, it is absolutely predictable any given day and time, to predict the moons location in the sky relative to any geographical location.
As I also said, however, I think it is best to have a general sense of moon rise, set and tracking, and then just get out and be looking for that photo op.
 
When I set up for yesterday’s sunset it was in a turnout across from a popular roadside ice climb, and I immediately saw the moon. So when I got set up I ran accross the highway as a climber was leading the pitch.
 
Sheila at Running On says that bodies in motion tend to stay in motion, and these are two examples of that momentum principle, one body human and one celestial.
 
So Gareth and Sheila, here are some of those principles at work!
 
IMGP3026
 
IMGP3030
 
IMGP3031
 
 
 
 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Bodies In Motion

  1. Dallas says:

    Truly awesome!!
     
    HUGS

  2. Nozee says:

    …. < wide eyed in wonder + amazement of great photos>

  3. Vieille Ourse says:

    Wonderful moments !

  4. Cindy says:

    Did he make it to the top?  That sort of thing makes me shake my head and ask myself…why?  I know, because it\’s there.  LOL
     
    Great combination of objects.  Cindy

  5. Nessa says:

    Amazing shots!  I love the way the ice flows over the rock face – a frozen waterfall – beautiful.  Reminds me of the mineral formations you see inside deep caves – once again you have excelled yourself Steve.  Have a great weekend  🙂 

  6. Aimee says:

    amazing…
    *~* :o) if you do not have a smile today… :o) I will give you one of mine… :o) *~*

  7. Kuskulana says:

    Cindy,
    This climb has pre set anchors on the wall that the climber reaches and clips into.
    A rappel is then done (lowering one\’s self on the rope with special techniques).
    This is a "practise" climb, good for a quick outing and to get some ice time to train for bigger climbs.
    Why do it is the same as asking why craft, why photograph, why hunt or fish, and so on, lots of answers
    by lots of different people. Shaking of one\’s head is always welcome and completely understood!

  8. Sheila says:

    Oh Steve,smiling big time here! These photos illustrate the spirit, drive, and motivation it takes to get such amazing shots. They encompass what you and your photography are all about. Photography is a medium that allows those gifted, to extend worlds to eyes of those that have been closed.
    Yes, bodies in motion…that\’s what it takes to climb ice, take amazing photography and accept the challenges of life!
    I have a shot that I have set up in my mind, that I have to wait for things to be in their proper places (much like the shot of the bridge I took earlier this year). This is the motivation for me to get that shot! HA! It is what you have many times referred to as extending oneself! Keep extending Steve, and eyes will continue to be opened in "awe"!Thank you!hugs hugs

  9. Tani says:

    Nicely composed. Like you I believe you could track the moon if you put an effert to it, Of course it helps if you have something huge like this cliff near you to be able to capture the moon at a perspective like this.

  10. Wrayvynn says:

    Yeah i clean out my flicker frequently as it only holds 200 pics. The eclipse photos are still posted here http://wrayvynnsnest.spaces.live.com/photos/cns!EE785752A7C4B703!2844/?startingImageIndex=0&commentsExpand=0&addCommentExpand=0&addCommentFocus=0&pauseSlideshow=0
     
    You can take a peek at my book here
    http://sgsea.spaces.live.com
     
    Keep sharing them photos 😉
     
     
     
     

  11. Suki x says:

    Hi Steve
     
    Wow two heavenly bodies, super pictures! 
     
     Thanks for your visit we have had lots of fun with this blog!  but looking forward to seeing Chicadees, they sound like all singing all dancing stars of Walt Disney.  What different worlds we live in common place little birds here and never seen or heard of in US Canada and Alaska, and vice versa!!
     
    Take care on that mountain
     
    Love Suki x

  12. Suki x says:

    PS Thinking about Sheila\’s comment………………….. when ever you carry your camera you are always looking for beauty, this can only be a good thing………….for the soul and the sprit
     
    Love Suki x

  13. Ann says:

    Question:  Is that guy NUTS!!? AAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaa!!!

  14. Gareth says:

    Great shot mate, fantastic, wow!! 
     
    Plus i have had some good progress too, I was going to reply to you after I had done some research on the net about Shooting Celestial Bodies, but now I have found that I am going to have to post it as a full blog on my web site.  I\’ll try and finish it tonight, plus I have got this free software, that is brilliant.  Again should be on my blog tonight 🙂

  15. Kimmy says:

    Wow what a wonderful capture Steve. I love concept.. bodies in motion. We sometimes forget that we\’re constantly turning in this big ole world. Makes me want to go out and see where the moon is right now.

  16. Cindy says:

    Would you tell that to some of the guys around here?  A date would be nice.
     

Leave a Reply

