Close Encounter of the Moose Kind

Momma Moose from my window of my computer room (window swung open).
She was about 20 feet away, and I used fill in flash for these photos.
 
 IMGP3368 a

Momma’s calf was very wary, I think she is a good mother teaching this

IMGP3366

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Close Encounter of the Moose Kind

  1. Turd says:

    Holy crap, that\’s close.  Are moose agressive, or do they run away if they see you?

  2. Aimee says:

    wow…beautiful…and so close…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  3. Amanda says:

    Hello Steve,
    Yep that\’s pretty close !  Loved your photo\’s in your previous blog by the way.
    Hope all is well,
    Keep happy,
    Love Mandy Marie xx

  4. Passing says:

    Oh how wonderful of a surprise to look out the window and I bet you took a double take.
    That is nature up close and a bit personal. Great pictures.
    Toodie

  5. Kimmy says:

    Oh Steve that is precious! Her snow covered nose is too cute! I hope you have more moose encounters to post about. 🙂

  6. Jim says:

    Wow.  That is very close.  They just walk right up to house?

  7. Vieille Ourse says:

    Who was most impressed ? That\’s really close, wow !!!
    The only animal that comes and sits on the window sill …. is a cat ! I will post a picture shortly.
    Thanks to you Steve for sharing this wild life experience with your Friends !

  8. Kuskulana says:

    They walk right up to the house, yes.
    One of these moose actually bumped the house, and that is what tipped me off to their presence.
    Cows can be very aggressive if they feel threatened, especially ones with calves.
    This particular cow has been very calm so far in several encounters.
    Bulls are usually quite docile, except that during the rut they get crazy and I try to give them lots of distance!

  9. Sarah says:

    marvelous shots–what a thrill–I can feel my skin tingling now!  They are the most unlikely looking creatures ever, I think.

  10. Barb says:

    What great photos Steve!  Didn\’t Bonnie alert you to them being out there?  Has she lost interest in things that go bump? 🙂
    Hope you have a great Saturday. 🙂

  11. Kuskulana says:

    Well Barb at first I thought it was Bonnie going bump, she often does that for me when I am trying to take a nap.
    When I saw them I scrambled into my computer room and shut the door so Bonnie wouldn\’t come in with an open window!
    She usually just crouches then runs away when she sees big animals like this 🙂
     

  12. Nessa says:

    How wonderful to experience them this close.  I think they have the most wonderful faces, with such big eyes – too cute 🙂

  13. Ann says:

    You live in Wonderland. I have deer in the yard, but never a moose. How magnificent! Great shot of her too. Hi big girl.

  14. Cindy says:

    Too Cool!  Lucky you!

  15. Gareth says:

    You got the moon rise / set?  How cool is that?  Well thats er "Top Self" mate, you gotta let me know when you put it on here.  Give us a nudge / wink when you do, plus thanks for your feedback 😉

  16. Nae says:

    Hi Steve ~I loved feeding the moose when I lived in Anchorage — even the babies. Yeah, I know, I wouldn\’t let my kids do it — I must have been crazy back then. Still — I miss that part of living in Anchorage.I hope that you are well.God bless you and keep you,Nae :o)

  17. I says:

     
     
      You are truly blessed… How many people get even a chance to see a Moose, let alone get pictures like that!? Guess what? It is snowing here!!!
     
      Love,
             Tammy~

  18. Rhapsody says:

    Telephoto lense? great shot…..

  19. account deleted says:

     
    Way awesome!!! I have seen deer and fawns and various other forms of wildlife in my backyard, but moose… wow!
     

  20. Linda says:

    Boy that sure was some pic of  the moose , great shots, had one visit in the fall went for a dip in the   man made lake that my hubby  made me  my male swan who we nick named DR. EVIL come sping time, actually tried to attack him  as he  frolicked  at the edge, of the lake course by the time I ran for the camera things where over. Just want to thank you for sharing some of the most beautiful images I have ever seen. You are truly blessed. ttfn Linda

  21. Alan says:

    WOW  You never cease to amaze me with your great photography.  We have wolves and coyotes around all the time but it is usually too dark to get the pictures like you.  Thanks for sharing them with us.  Al

  22. Cindy says:

    I love wildlife photos!!  Remarkable!
     
    What did you think of the wildlife shot I got a few weeks ago?  Don\’t think you ever did give me your expert opnion.  What\’s up with that?  Huh?
     
    Hugs!
     

  23. terri says:

    luv the up close moose shot!never saw 1 up close before. have painted mountain goats & alot of birds, lizards, all kind of wildlife, but never a moose.I think u have inspired me!lol

Leave a Reply

