Sundog and Halo Sunrise

Sunday’s Sundog Sunrise over Turnagain Arm of Cook Inlet,
south of Anchorage Alaska
 
IMGP3495 a
 
This is the "dog" part, the optic that is 22 degrees from the sun,
which was to the right.
 
IMGP3481 a
 
The Sundog turned into a Halo as the Sunrise developed.
 
The temperature at sea level was about zero, ideal for this phenomema.
 
IMGP3540 a
 
Note that the color and hue of these photographs has not been altered.
 
The saturation levels were adusted only!
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sundog and Halo Sunrise

  1. Vieille Ourse says:

    As already said I l ike the surrealistic colors, the more so that they are just natural ! Thanks for this sunrise … reach my place at … sunset  !!!

  2. Barb says:

    Wonderful capture Steve.  I\’ve only seen the full halo once in real life and was lucky enough to have my camera handy.   Glad you were there to catch this one.  And I love that second image. 
    We are having an artic draft here this week.  The windchill got to -57C/-70F at times during the night.  We have a beautiful sunny day here now but cold as cold can be.  Too cold for the camera and me. 
    Hope you\’re warmer up there!  Have a great Monday. 🙂
    (and yes, that was at Fort Henry.  I imagine the little door was for people to communicate through without having to open the gates.)

  3. Sheila says:

    Sunday\’s Sundog Sunrise…say that five times fast, I dare you!  Chasing those Sundogs again, and what a gorgeous capture.  "Say…what do you do for a living?" (smile) "oh, I chase Sundogs…and I am pretty damn good at it!" HA! Way to go Steve, this is one of a kind, like you.
    tell me in picture #2 is that a bit of wafty clouds on the right hand side? I love the Halo pics, but there is something mystical about #2.
    hugs hugs
    oh btw, Barb!, it is nice to know I am not the only one to leave a mess in aisle 13!

  4. Kimmy says:

    Oh that last one is a real beauty Steve! I can almost feel the warmth of the sun. 🙂

  5. Cindy says:

    I\’ve seen lots of sundogs, but never the halo.  Way cool!

  6. Dallas says:

    We used to get these in Nebraska. 🙂 So awesome to see.!
     
    HUGS

  7. Passing says:

    Thankyou Steve for doing all the work and surviving the cold so the
    rest of us can sit back and click the computer to see your marvelous
    pictures capturing thee moment of beauty.
    Toodie

  8. J W says:

    The last photo of this post is perfecto my friend.  Really like your style of sticking to original tones, colors and especially, the precise framing indicates a wealth of experience.  Did you use stitching at the top of the page this time?  Stitching is just another aspect of photographic artistry that I\’ve yet to try, but time will tell if I choose to expand my horizons further.  Look for a message from me Steve.  Another great post.
     
    J.W.L.

  9. account deleted says:

     
    Not sure what a "sun dog" is, but the pictures are stunning! Liz : )
     

  10. Sarah says:

    WOW.  That halo is so balanced, so pure……

  11. April says:

    Great picture, love the sun dog. We get them here in PEI, and a few days later storm!! The pictures are so peacefull,  Thanks

  12. Linda says:

    Truly have never seen anything  so beautiful, have relly made my day,  P.s  have inspired me to get a better camera. Live Well & Prosper Linda

  13. elizabeth says:

    love the halo.   amazing sky colours.
    hugs, bb. x

  14. Cindy says:

    Simply breathtaking, Steve!!
     

  15. Phil says:

     
    Just love that last one.   Very nice. 

Leave a Reply

