Lunar Eclipse Tonight

The last few days have been very cloudy here,
 so it is iffy at best for us as far as viewing the eclipse tonight.
I will go out for sure if it looks like there is any chance of seeing it.
There is a great web page that NASA has with info, times, and diagrams, here is the address: http://sunearth.gsfc.nasa.gov/eclipse/LEmono/TLE2008Feb21/TLE2008Feb21.html
 
This morning I got a quick glimpse of the moon before it set, good sign or just a tease?
 
 IMGP4298

Here is the NASA map on their website,

each shaded zone represents a stage of the eclipse, there is a key on their page.

 TLE2008Feb21-Map1

I like the diagram they provide for all North American time zones, like this one for Alaska

 Eclipse Diagram

Here is a composite I put together from the last eclipse I caught last August.

I sure would like to improve on that one this time,

but if I am not able to I hope some of you get to see it and capture it.

Good Hunting!

 Composite 2 Moon Eclipse

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lunar Eclipse Tonight

  1. Vieille Ourse says:

    The eclipse is only foreseen  around 4 or 5 am on FEB 21 in Belgium … By then the weather might improve as for the moment (9.30pm on WED FEB 20 ) … it is even difficult to see the top of the church carrion  through the dense fog …. !!!! I will try to wake up early … In the meantime, Good Hunt to you !

  2. Caleidoscope says:

    We have some clouds near Vienna, but maybe between 04:25.9 Uhr MEZ and 04:51.0 Uhr MEZ, I\’ll try to take a look, it is only an hour before breakfast ^^

  3. Cindy says:

    Quick…take a trip to Wisconsin.  It\’s going to be as clear as a bell!

  4. Lynn says:

    Fascinating blog,
    really love the stars and planets, thanks for sharing ur
    knowlege with us…Goodnight for now…Lynn

  5. Kimmy says:

    I\’ll be looking! But we\’re under a freezing rain advisory tonight. 😦 Not sure what I\’ll see past the rain and clouds. lol

  6. Turd says:

    I\’m getting ready…the kids are about in bed, but then I\’m going to set up.  There are clouds moving in, but hopefully they will hold off for a few more hours.

  7. Barb says:

    I\’m debating whether I want to stand for two hours in the soccer field.  We have clear skies predicted here so I\’ll feel guilty if I don\’t at least make an attempt.  The temp is really mild as well.  Hmmmmmm decisions, decisions.

  8. Sheila says:

    Hey Steve! 7:48 here my time and working on it, but I definately need a bigger lens…sigh. The night is clear and I am hoping it will stay that way. will check back later!

  9. Sheila says:

    Hey Steve…well I finished up at about 10:15.  The clouds came in just after that first "umbra" photo so I didn\’t get the full series "on the other side".   It sure was fun though and I loved having your photos as an example.  I can see the difference of the angle in the eclipse from your photos to mine.  Pretty neat.  Thank you for coming by!
    Hugs hugs,
    from the east coast

  10. Barb says:

    It was clear here.. an awesome sight.. I didn\’t stay out too long as I am suffering
    with a dreaded  cold and the accompanying aches and pains 😦
    Hope you get some photos
    Barb

Leave a Reply

