One More Aurora Shot…What It’s All About

I got my medium format photos back today from last weeken’d shoot.
These are 2-1/4" square negatives, 4 times larger than 35mm film.
At about 10 times the resolution of 10 megapixel digital, these are suitable for very large pictures.
This is what I am shooting for on these photo excursions.
This one is a very unusual "pillow" northern light pattern.
Note the tiny hills at the skyline, these are big imposing mountains when you are out there.
The scale is really indescribable…what it’s all about
 
AAA003 ac
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to One More Aurora Shot…What It’s All About

  1. Cat says:

    oh…my…I so envy you seeing that in person…maybe someday

  2. Barb says:

    What an incredible sky.  Glad you pointed out that those \’hills\’ are actually mountains.  It puts the magnitude of it into perspective.  Glad you did some in the medium format.  It really shows how far digital has to go to match the quality of the really \’professional\’ equipment.  Hugs from me. 🙂

  3. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Matthew 24:30  "And then shall appear the sign of the Son of man in heaven;  and then shall all the tribes of the earth mourn, and they shall see the Son of man coming in the couds of heaven with power and great glory.  A GLORY CLOUD!
    ELZA

  4. Caleidoscope says:

    Must be one of the reasons why mankind still feels a need for religion.

  5. Vieille Ourse says:

    Let me just repeat your onw comment :  The scale is really indescribable !
     
    Thanks for the fantastic view and the technical info !
    Hugs from Belgium.

  6. JaeElle says:

    Absolutely beautiful!   I\’ve never seen an Auroa before visiting your site.  Actually,  I hadn\’t heard of one before.  I\’ve learned so much here.  Thank you!

  7. Sherry says:

    Absolutely breathtaking.
     
    Hey Steve I just found out that I have a cousin who\’s daughter is racing in the Iditarod. Her name is Zoya Denure http://www.iditarod.com/race/musherprofiles/musherbio_241.html. I hope she does well.
     
    Hugs
    Sherry

  8. Aimee says:

    Hasablad??
    *~* :o) everyone smiles in the same language… :o) *~*

  9. dawn says:

    one dayone dayim coming where you are!ASTOUNDING!! geez…you\’ve got amazing eyes. ^_^  and yeah~~*your comment made a sense to me. thank you – dawn

  10. Patsy says:

    After I retire,in about two years I\’m coming to Alaska, but until then I will look at it through your eyes or should say lens. Thanks so much for sharing. My nephew sends me shots of whales, eagles and bears, he has never sent me pictures of the skys. Anyway thanks Steve. Have a great week.

  11. Sarah says:

    ……….all  \’hozoji\’, friend, most awesome………thanks for your efforts and your aim–we all benefit.

  12. Ellen says:

    Hi, Steve!
    Great photo! It\’s been a long time now, since I saw the northern lights flaming like that (moved south six years ago…). But I have two beautiful paintings that I got on my wall last week:
     
    http://ellenlostin.spaces.live.com/photos/cns!6317828F4D869B68!1722/?startingImageIndex=1&commentsExpand=0&addCommentExpand=0&addCommentFocus=0&pauseSlideshow=0

  13. Nae says:

    Nice shot!  Glad that you are resting up after your jaunt around Alaska.  Hope that everything is moving along swimmingly for your photography business.
     
    Have a fabulous day!
     
    God bless you and keep you,
     
    Nae  :o)

  14. Jim says:

    I bet these are superb prints.  An extremely nice poster size shot in a flat black fram and a very nice egg shell mat.  Amazing subjects you have up there for photography.  I just have to get up to Alaska.

  15. jenner says:

    these are beautiful! 

Leave a Reply

