An Evening to Remember

The sunset over Cook Inlet
 
IMGP5031 a
 
A Bald Eagle hunts the bluff above the Seward Highway
 
 IMGP5019 a
 
 
The moon over Anchorage
 
 IMGP5036 c
 
As darkness falls the moon approaches the horizon
 
IMGP5058 ac
 
The moon setting behind the mountains above Anchorage
 
 IMGP5061 a
 
As the moons sets another image appears, this is a mirage.
It is called an "Inferior" mirage which means the image is projected below the horizon.
 
IMGP5072 a Moon and Mirage
 
After the moon is completely out of sight, the mirage lingers in the night
 
IMGP5080 a Moon's Mirage
 
This is the first mirage of the moon I remember seeing, and my first to photograph.
 
Strange things happen in the northern sky…
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to An Evening to Remember

  1. Suki x says:

    Hi steve
     
    Well you learn something new every day what wonderful pictures,   and I love the story of your old knife a trusty ol\’ friend , reminds me of the story of the Bowie Knife!
     
    Thanks for your visit and comment you are the nearst in the caption competition so far, (how well you know me) lol
     
    Love Suki x

  2. Sarah says:

    wow, Steve, this is really cool–I had no idea that the Moon\’s light would play like that………I will have to watch for it.

  3. Greg says:

     
    Good evening Steve…
    I\’m out and about on a little blog walk and thought I\’s come by and take a glimpse of Alaska.
    Great eagle shot. I love those birds. I haven\’t seen our eagles around lately here over Lake Taneycomo.
    I love that night time over Anchorage picture too.
    Be well sir…
    Greg
     
     

  4. Barb says:

    Of all these wonderful images, I fell in love with the long exposure of the city lights that made them look like glitter on the land (yes, I looked at Flickr to see how you did it!)  What a beautiful result.
    I hope the Bald Eagle stays in the area so you can grab some daytime images!
    Have a great evening Steve,
    Hug, hugs from me!

  5. Kimmy says:

    Strange indeed! I don\’t recall ever seeing the moon do that here. What a beauty she is though, casting herself over Alaska like a grand queen. 🙂 Beautiful shots Steve. I want to go shoot the moon now. lol

  6. Delete52Mitch says:

    Wow! Wonderful pics. And a bald eagle! What a shame it\’s so damn cold up there! 

  7. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Thanks for those lovely pictures, it is good that you can be creative in photography, you must know something about astronmy too.
    Alaska seems cold and uninviting but your pictures show a warm heart.  God Bless…ELZA

  8. Passing says:

    I just learned something new here, an inferior mirage.
    That moon over Anchorage would make an excellent woodburning eh?
    Just beautiful pictures Steve. Your an artist with that camera!

  9. JaeElle says:

    All pictures are breath taking, my friend.  Love the picture of the bald eagle. WOW!  What a shot!  The picture of the "Inferior" mirage is awesome!  Thanks so much for sharing these wonderful pictures with us. 

  10. Aimee says:

    incredible…
    Don’t forget to stop by and place your guess on the sex of the baby in my comments!!
    *~* :o) everyone smiles in the same language… :o) *~*

  11. Ann says:

    OH, Steve, Moon over Anchorage…priceless.

  12. PEP says:

    Again Steve you have outdone yourself.

  13. catamaran says:

    Beautiful shots Steve!

  14. Sheila says:

    Oh Steve, the moon of Anchorage, I added that as a favorite at flickr, but seeing it here I have to ask…is that a mirage or a reflection of the moon on water? what is that at the bottom????? directly beneath the moon, four bars of horizontal light…
     
    This is the perfect scene for two to stand and hold hands…do people gather here on a regular basis to see this sight?
    OK, so I am the only one who has the nerve to ask…is there a big neon sign that points? : "This Way to Lover\’s Lane".
    This has a definate feel to it, like the lighted Hollywood sign has a definate feel to that!
    Thank you  for sharing, all of these are beautiful,
    hugs hugs

  15. Kuskulana says:

    The horizontal bars of light below the moon in the first moon shot are the reflection on the waters of Cook Inlet just offshore of the city. There is no sign identifying this to lovers, but yes people do come here for the view. I never approach a vehicle at night!

  16. Patsy says:

    Thanks again Steve, Beautiful shots. I liked the lights, but I really liked the shot of the moon over the water with trees in the foreground??? I\’m hoping that was water. Anyway have a great Wednesday. Pat

  17. Patsy says:

    Oh Steve I went back and looked and its the lights not water, I really am a red head, just had a blonde moment. LOL Pat

  18. Cindy says:

    Just peekin\’ in to see what wonders you have posted today …
     
    Love \’Moon over Anchorage\’!
     

  19. Jim says:

    The mirage is very neat.  All sorts of interesting things are going on up there. 

  20. Dallas says:

    Awesome photos! You have a wonderful talent! Wishing you the best, and have an awesome weekend!
     
    HUGS

  21. KatSoup says:

    The oly thing missing is the breeze, the sounds and smells.  The photographs are beautiful!  I live in beauty too, but it is a different kind of mountainous beauty.  Isn\’t life good?

  22. Pat says:

    Hi Steve…thank you for sharing your beautiful photos. They brighten my day.
    Take care, Pat

  23. Jodi says:

    I\’ve missed quite a bit over here … but have enjoyed catching up on the reading and the wonderful photos this morning.   🙂

  24. Nessa says:

    Lovely photos as always Steve – but that third one down is absolutely stunning – when I first lookd at it I thought it was light sparkling on water – then realised it is the city lights – lovely 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

