Ten Thousand Suns

The day is defined by one sun

Warming the land and creatures that on it run

In the eve I look to the west

Over head the eagle flies from its nest

The one sun departs with flash and fancy colored style

Then all light dims and it is quiet for just awhile

Then I see the shimmery night wind from the one

And just beyond…

Ten Thousand Suns

 Moon Pillar and Aurora from Denali Highway

The image: A two frame composite scan of a pair of medium format (2-1/4" or 6cm square) negative film taken by a pair of cameras. Taken March 14, 2008, from the Denali Highway. The horizon flash behind the tree is actually a pillar of light from the moon that had set, an atmospheric optic created by floating ice crystals.

Words and images by Kuskulana Steve

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Ten Thousand Suns

  1. Vieille Ourse says:

    St Exupéry writes in his book "Le Petit Prince" : Fox (to the Little Prince, about to leave for his far-away planet)  : "When I see the ripening yellow wheat fields it will remind me of you and your fair hair" …
    So at night, when I look up to the sky and see all those bright stars, I will think of Alaska and remember you, my Friend, and your marvellous pictures …
    Hugs from Belgium.

  2. Vaughn says:

    Beautiful, Steve, words and picture both.

  3. Isabelle says:

    How come each time I come here I am almost speechless?
     
    You and your wonderful pictures are guilty for that!!:O)
     
    You are welcome at my space anytime!
     
    Take care,
    Isa 

  4. Rambling says:

    What a lovely composition.Always your fan

  5. Robinson says:

    Hi Steve! 
     
    Good Morning from Canada. I am amazed with this beautiful picture of the "Sun" and such beautiful words which echoed my mind. "Really you are truly amaziing!!!" you remind me of a little song we sang at school. It goes like this. "The evening is coming, the sun, seems to rest, the birds are out flying over head; no time for their nest. Caw Caw says the rooke as it flies over head, "It\’s time that we children were going to bed!" "Ice Christals" You are enjoying the wonders of the world, truly the creation of God\’s hands being magnified.  HEY! HEY just a little humingbird flying over. Take care TATA.
     
     
    so  therefined words. You are simply amazing, I like that part "Over head the eagle flies from it\’s nest," to add
     
    The evening is coming, the sun seems to rest, the birds are all flying, no time for their nest, cawcur,says the  

  6. Fizz says:

    Wow… that\’s amazing. The sun and the Aurora. Very beautiful and very spiritually touching.
    — Fizz —

  7. Sherry says:

    I echo what everyone else has said Steve. I am so happy I found your space.
    Hugs
    Sherry

  8. Tani says:

    Lovley poetry, and the moons pillar is fantastic. You have been blessed by these Northern Lights.

  9. Barb says:

    Beautiful words to go with a spectacular image. 🙂
    Hugs from the land of wind and dust. lol

  10. Cat says:

    beautiful words conjuring beautiful images – I am so envious you can see stars – w/ city  lights bleaching the sky here – we are not so fortunate – I remember a night ride – returning from an aunt\’s memorial service in Patagonia AZ heading to Tucson – and my brother-in-law stopped the car in the mountains so we could look at the stars –

  11. Amanda says:

    Hello Stranger !
    Thanks for your congrats comment on my last blog about me being carer of the month. It means a lot to me to be well recieved in my job, at least i know i\’m doing my job properly anyway.
    Hope you and your family are keeping well.  I never see you on line at all, but noticed you changed your name.  Do you still go on line ? It would be nice to have a chat and introduce you to Woody.  So much goes on, i know it\’s hard to find the time to get on the pc and chat at times. 
    Anyhow, catch up soon my friend,
    Keep happy and healthy,
    Love Mandy Marie xx

  12. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Your so scientific, but I see this pillar of fire like a crescendo of music reaching to the sky, very good …ELZA

  13. I says:

     
     
        I see I have been a bit behind in my blog visits. Lots to catch up on here! Wonderful pictures and wonderful words. Goes right to the soul. I hope you have a blessed weekend.
     
    xoxox

  14. Jodi says:

    Love both the pictures and the words. Beautifuly captured and written.

  15. JaeElle says:

    Your words express it perfectly!   I like that flash of light….and the words that go with it.  Beautiful post!

  16. Jim says:

    Wow.  Cool picture composite.

Leave a Reply

