Five More

Some photos from yesterday.
 
The vast mud flats of Cook Inlet at low tide.
These are treacherous to venture out on,
with soft mud and extremely fast tides.
 
The mud is silt ground from mountains by glaciers and washed to the sea by rivers,
a never ending transport carried out over eons of time.
 
IMGP6941 ac
 
Giant cottonwoods along Portage Glacier Road,
 
The Chugach above Turnagain Pass in the background.
 
 IMGP6945 ac
 
Mountains don’t make me feel small, they make me feel young and alive.
These mountains are a result of techtonic plate collision that is happening right now.
Untameable Freedom
 
 IMGP6963 a
The setting sun along the Seward Highway.
 
 IMGP6989 a
 
 IMGP7003
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Five More

  1. Barb says:

    Very beautiful beautiful images Steve.  I especially loved the one with the silhouetted trees.
    I watched a two hour special on Discovery Channel Canada last night on Alaska.  The images were so beautiful as were the animals they showed.  What a very wonderful place you live in!
    Hugs from the winter wonderland that use to be called Edmonton. 

  2. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Thanks for the warning about the flats, its kind of a swamp?  Maybe when you get 74 you can tie yourself to a mountain ledge and
    restore your youth.  The Lord restores our youth via the word planted in our heart and mind.  Lot of lessons we learn my friend.
    ELZA

  3. Kuskulana says:

    Elza, thanks for the question about the mud, I added a line to explain a bit.

  4. Sheila says:

    Hey Steve,
    what a wonderful five you got and shared! each so different, each a singular treasure.  Thank you for sharing!
    hugs from the drizzly east coast

  5. Cat says:

    oh bother I forgot what I was going to say – oh wait – I was visiting Morro Bay on the central CA Coast w/ a friend who was very knowledgeable about nature – and went out on the tide flats there to attempt to photo graph a blue hereon – the tidal flats were covered with vegetation but I did wonder about how fast & deep the tide might be when it came in and was I being wise about this – never had I wished for my stolen telephoto lens more!!

  6. Kimmy says:

    Breathtaking.. just breathtaking..*sigh*

  7. DANA says:

    My sons use to be horribly terrified of the mud flats only because my husband and his best friend talked about some guy getting stuck out there, and the gory details in front of all the very young and impressionable boys. Needless to say they never went near them!
    Beautiful pics!

  8. Vieille Ourse says:

    Mountains don\’t make me feel small, they make me feel young and alive.
     
    I totally agree with you my Alaskan Friend !
    Thanks for sharing these fabulous images …
    Hugs from Belgium !

  9. Cindy says:

    The mud flats/tides do sound scary.  Your sunset pictures are wonderful!  Any sign of spring up there yet?

  10. REDEEMER WORD says:

    I guess every state have their kind of swamp.  I know Florida and Texas do.  I live in Washington but I have a lot of memories
    of experiences down there.  When I was a girl, my father and family traveled into the Trinity Bottom.  Every year the river overflowed
    and fish would be captured in the small lakes and ponds, also a few gators.  The trip was awsom taking all of our gear with old cars and four wheeled trailer loaded with tents, food etc and fishing gear and guns. We spent a lot of time getting unstuck out of the mud.   Now you can\’t go there anymore because they made into a park.  Civilization is crowding out all our pleasure anenjoyment. 
    By the way, even of all the work to get there everyone was happy and joyous to be together…Most of those folk are with Jesus now.  Be Happy my friend….ELZA
     

  11. kïrstin says:

    designing french drains sounds easier than digging them.  🙂  im having a few second thoughts about mine … i will just have to see. my tree additions will be nice, but my heart ever longs for the evergreens of the pacific north west. nothing like a sequoia or a redwood to make one feel \’grren\’. i, too, love the mountains, of which there are none here. not real mountains. sigh …
    i do love the last picture!
    s. lizard☼

  12. Lyn says:

    Good pictures again. The Mts may be big, but they are so beautiful. Guess I will stay out of the mud tho…………Thanks

  13. Rhapsody says:

    Loved the first pic, the snow capped mountain, the contrast with the greenery, the ground….wonderful…..
    have a good one…peace and stay blessed.

  14. J W says:

    You are living the dream of many a man Steve.  Jeremiah Johnson would be proud.  Me, I\’m jealous!!  Thanks for your support…..J.W.L. 

  15. JaeElle says:

    I\’d like to ski down one of those mountains….just once.  Problem is,  I don\’t ski….HA!  Makes me wish I did.  Your pics are always so breath-taking.  I always enjoy visiting here.  Thank You!

  16. Todd says:

    your photos are absolutely mesmerizing!!!  I love this one the most, I find it peaceful, calming and too beautiful for words to give it justice

  17. Jim says:

    I like the shot with the cottonwoods.  I once made a pen out of cottonwood.

  18. Mud says:

    All lovely, but the last one brought tears to my eyes.   I\’m speechless. 

Leave a Reply

