Old and New Friends

From my front step, it’s junior
 
IMGP7270 a
 
Junior and momma moose
 
IMGP7271 a
 
They are on the move
 
 IMGP7272 a
 
Browsing on tender spring buds
 
 IMGP7283 a
 
Aren’t they adorable?
 
 IMGP7285 a
 
Look junior, these kind
 
 IMGP7287 a
 
She was watching me close, but not a hackle did I raise.
Check out those ears.
She comes here every year and trusts me.
 
 IMGP7288 a
 
Moving on…
 
 IMGP7289 a
 
Wait for me momma!
 
 IMGP7290 a
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Old and New Friends

  1. Patsy says:

    Steve, just loved this. I love wild life and you have it right in your yard, how great is that?  I see you still got snow, hopefully it will warm up for you soon. Junior is such a handsome moose.  I get lots of deer, I did have a kangaroo in back yard one time???  Yes, someone had it for a pet and it got loose and I called my husband and said there is a kangaroo in our back yard. He says to me , "Pat have you been drinking?" Knowing full well that I don\’t drink, finally he came out on the back porch and said ,"I\’ll be damned"   So like you said we all need to look out our doors sometimes Huh? Have a good week.

  2. Rambling says:

    Steve…you made my day.  The captions were exactly what they were commnicating to one another, too.  🙂

  3. Babblelot says:

    How wonderful that Momma trusts you. To get to see herevery year. Great pictures.

  4. colleen says:

    Ahhh that is so sweet, Great pictures Steve!

  5. Cat says:

    You are so fortunate…

  6. Fizz says:

    Very nice…. I love moose… in pictures, not so much up close.
    — Fizz —

  7. Lyn says:

    How sweet they are. Nice they trust you and keep coming back. Good pics. I have deer in my pasture most afternoons, but moved in a horse yesterday, so dont know how that will work. He wouldnt mind them, but they might mind him. Good friends come in all shapes and forms.

  8. Barb says:

    These are such wonderful shots Steve. 
    An added bright spot in my day.
    Hug hugs from lazy in Edmonton lol
     

  9. Cindy says:

    Your photos always make me smile, Steve. 
     
    Thanks!
     

  10. Cindy says:

    Do moose have juniors every year?  Momma looks kinda plump.
     
    Cool pictures. 

  11. jannaj says:

    Okay, all your photos of mountains, skies and sunsets take my breath away, but now you\’ve done it. I can\’t take it anymore, pick me up at the airport!   Jan

  12. Barb says:

    These are wonderful not just the photos (although spectacular) but the story
    and the trust momma and junior have with you says so much .. about you 🙂
    They obviously trust you
    Be Well
    Barb

  13. Kimmy says:

    Steve Junior and his Mom are beautiful! I have a thing for big-pawed dogs.. now I think I have a thing for big eared moose! haha How cool that they trust you and come so close. I\’m jealous!(btw the Muscovy duck is actually from South America!) Link

  14. audiO says:

    fantastic steve!

  15. Vieille Ourse says:

    They are soooo sweet … nevertheless they look quite big to me … Would not feel to safe that close …
    But as you seem to know them and they know you, so I assume there is not (that much) danger. But moms are always on the alert for their "babies", aren\’t they ?
     
    Nice pictures, Steve, thanks a lot !

  16. Sheila says:

    Hey Steve! these are so bright and clear, almost as if I was right there! can\’t wait to show these to my D when she gets home from school!
    hugs hugs from a chilly east coast

  17. JaeElle says:

    Oooooh,  what a wonderful sight to behold,  my friend.  I\’d love to see this outside my door.  

  18. Charles says:

    You know, if those photos would have been shot anywhere but in Alaska, They would have made the evening news, and quality was not spared, these are fantastic! But no, for you people,  this is an regular thing.

  19. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Steve, my brother is coming to visit me, from Brazil, wish we could come up there and see those Moose.  Glad to see you have a house, I thought you lived in your pickup…Ha …..ELZA

  20. Dianne says:

    Steve , I really loves these photos. I just read that you have been there since 1975 , with $50.00 in your pocket. That is so cool. You followed your dream and you live it each day. Thankyou for sharing Alaska with the rest of us. It is so Beautiful and you have captured it\’s Beauty for us to see. Thankyou! Dianne

  21. Mud says:

    Incredible.  The wildest thing I\’ve seen here was a beech marten on the terrace at 3 a.m.  The moment it saw me it was down the wall and halfway down the street looking back over its shoulder.  Far too fast for me to get a photo.  And if I\’d had camera in hand, I still would\’ve been too slow.  Anyway, I have yet to master night photography.  Kudos to you!

  22. Karen says:

    Soooo cute! I just love moose!  I have a collection of stuffed animals, mostly moose .. of course I am talking about fake stuffed ones!!
      🙂 Thanks for the great photos!

  23. Don't dream your says:

    Adorable friends you have Steve!
    She came to introduce you her young one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

