See the Beauty

Tonight I went out once again to try to capture beauty at the marsh.
It was blowing a steady 25mph with 30mph gusts and overcast when I got there.
Pretty dull light and I thought, this is pretty sucky!
I hung out for a few hours, as I do, and there were a few breaks;
The muskrat (Marty) put on a show and I scrambled to catch him,
A goose I have been photographing came in with a spectacular landing,
 that I missed with my camera.
An eagle flew through the Mew Gull nesting area and that caused a huge stir!
Missed that too.
And the shy Canvas Back Duck pair, very unusual in these parts,
came right up and gave me a great close up show.
Not to mention the Arctic Terns…
 
When I got home and was uploading the 500 photos I had taken I got an email from a friend,
Frank (FIRIS on flickr)
He said another Flickr friend Sandee’s Mother just died and requested I post a photo for her.
I told Frank I would post my best, but then realized how many I had!
Well I went through them all and I chose the one below as the best.
It is a Canvas Back drake and with (perhaps) the best light so far.
 
IMGP9750 ac
 
It is ironic too me this event should play out just now,
as I have been trying to get my blog "In The Summer Time" ready to publish recently,
about the loss of my father as a young man.
 
This blog is dedicated therefore, to Sandee,
and also to all of those of us who feel the loss of a loved one,
whether is be today (Sandee), 
a month ago (Sheila, Hurricane Lane),
last year (Earthmother, Nessa, Ring of Light),
or as in my case decades ago.
Here is a toast to seeing beauty, even through the tears of life.
 
In dedication I offer part of a song;
 
When the night has been too lonely
and the road has been too long
and you think that love is only
for the lucky and the strong
Just remember in the winterfar beneath the bitter snows
lies the seed
that with the sun’s love
in the spring
becomes the rose

Artist: Bette Midler

If you care to listen to the entire song here is the web address;

 http://www.seeqpod.net/search/?plid=f2bd36df20

From my collection, the wild rose of Alaska

IMGP5414 Wild Rose

Let’s shed only enough tears so we can see the beauty of the spring, shall we?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to See the Beauty

  1. Vieille Ourse says:

    I agree with you, some of us experience the loss of loved ones at an earlier age than others, but beauty should/could help us to go on. Departing cannot be avoided … and we should honor those who are gone by trying to be happy … they would not like us to grieve all the time, would they ??

  2. «»Vosje«» says:

    Thnx for this nice blog … The poem from BetteMidler I love it! The Rose is so nice song!
    The world is more beautiful with you … ByebyeBenona

  3. Kimmy says:

    Very well said Steve. I pray we all choose to see the beauty in things and cherish those memories. ((hugs)) from Tennessee

  4. Rambling says:

    Very well said blog and beautifully illustrated..thank you.

  5. Beth says:

    Beautiful photos.  Love the song.  I have Bette Midler\’s CD with that on it.
    I am sorry about the death of a friend.

  6. Nancy E. says:

    Oh, thank you, thank you.  How wonderfully beautiful.  You have such a talent. 
    Also, thank you for the song.  I have been looking for a replacement and this is perfect!
    May I ask?  Where in my fine state were you born??  Yes, corn, corn, corn.  Maybe that is
    why they call it the Husker state?  SMILE!

  7. Butch says:

    Thanks Steve,that is one of my all time favorite songs,Conway Twitty did an excellent rendition also.Butch

  8. Patsy says:

    Sorry about the death of a friend, but thanks for the lovely song and wishes you have for everyone. Take care steve, I know this brings back memoies to you too. Take Care, Pat

  9. Cindy says:

    Very nice Steve.  Tears come so easily for me and this did it for me.  😦
     
    The canvasback picture is so good…you can practically see the down feathers.
     
    I had one of those days when seeing nature was the best I could do.  The camera was safely around my neck when the osprey landed on the pond with a huge splash.  The fish were lucky that time.

  10. Fizz says:

    Thank you for that wonderful reminder.
    I often forget that true and undying love comes in many forms, not just husband and wife. Bette has done an excellent job of reminding all of use. The song is untimely, it will be beautiful for years to come, as it has for years gone by.
    You\’re a gem and a wonder… keep up being you!
    — Fizz —

  11. Sarah says:

    "…..only enough tears….." and no more–for we best honor those who have gone ahead of us by living well!  ………living our best \’heart-filled\’ lives!  ………honoring that love with our own, shone brightly outward.  Thanks Steve.  I bet your Dad was an amazingly heart-filled man.  He surely lives on in who you are, what you chose to focus upon.  We are all blessed by the undying (multiplying) of the Love we chose to hang on to.

  12. Cat says:

    I had forgotten that song and I love it – utterly touching post – thank you for sharing yr heart –

  13. J W says:

    Steve, you are indeed a good and honorable man…enough said.
     
    J.W.L.

  14. Lyn says:

    Well said and lovely picture to go with it. All of us have lost ones we love at one time or another, and this was a nice way to reflect and have some bittersweet thoughts and still smile. I also love Marty…………….

  15. Barb says:

    What a beautiful Canvasback Steve!  I\’m so glad they treated you to a close encounter of the best kind.  And the backlighting on that rose is wonderful!  A very touching tribute for your friend.
    Hug hugs from the tired wanderer

  16. Patty says:

    Just swinging by to check out your beautiful photography, actually it\’s breath-taking…….Very nice tribute to your friend….. Patty 🙂

  17. brettskib says:

    As usual Steve you continue to out do yourself with these incredible photographs , writings my game but can appreciate the Patience , time and diligence that you must need in abundance to get these fantastic shots , Also is the Aurelia Borealis still lighting up the night sky , My Uncle severed there years down at Australia\’s Base in Antartica and took sopme incredible shots of the Aurora Australis at the moment I\’m trying to get copies of these photos as soon as I get them (IF) I promise to send them to you so we can compare the Northern and Southern Lights .Take good care of your self and hope its getting a bit warmer for you my friend keep your fingers crossed about the photos they were taken in the late sixties so wont be a s colorful as yours but will be interesting to compare Wishing you Love Light and Laughter Brettskib 🙂

  18. Nae says:

    Hi Steve ~
     
    Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.  I so love good discussions.  I agree that not all television is bad, but I do believe that it encourages a bit of negativity … and not enough appreciation.  Just call me old fashioned!!
     
    I loved your photos — and your tribute.  Well done!!
     
    God bless you and keep you,
     
    Nae  :o)

  19. Ann says:

    The only thing worse than losing someone you love, is to never have had them to love at all. That is a beautiful song; one of my favorites.

  20. Sheila says:

    Steve,
    My thoughts and prayers go out to your friend Sandee on her loss, and yes I know the feelngs of loss.  But the love I recieved from my father, helped to shape the person I am today, yes I am with Ann on this one, it is always better to have loved and lost, than never to have loved at all. 
    Wow what red eyes that duck has…hey I went on a field trip with my daughter and captured a Scarlet Tanagier (sp)…didn\’t have a bazooka so the quality isn\’t all that great, but will try to share it soon.
    hope that spring thaw continues and summer comes quickly for you,
    hugs from an on/off stormy coast!

  21. Life's Like A Beach says:

    Steve…Thank you for sharing this beauty.  Bette Midler\’s "The Rose" has been one of my favorites.  The timing was for me to read now, your blogs always touch my spirit.  You are a kind soul & dear friend.  May Peace And Blessing Be With You… footprints @ Life\’s Like A Beach

  22. Sandee says:

    Steve,Thank you for the image and the wonderful songs, thank all your friends for the kind words. I do miss my mom time to time and I so love the shot you have taken that day for my mom, I know she would have loved it! I am so glad you and all my Flickr friends have become good friends over time. Thank you!~Sandee

Leave a Reply

