New Visitors

I was sitting at the PC working on photos when something from the window caught my eye.
Nothing unusual there, but this was a cow moose with her two brand new babies!
I scrambled for the camera and opened the window,
but they were keeping quite behind the trees and bushes

IMGP0746 a

 
I went outside and peered around the house to the back and there they were.
I kept my distance, this is exactly the situation you don’t want to get too close in.
This is a big cow, a good thing for her babies,
she is experienced and will protect them as well as can be.
Twin baby moose are pretty common, both of them surviving the first year is rare,
only time will tell.
 
IMGP0748 a

Moose are funny looking really, kinda dumb and maybe even ugly to some,

but you gotta admit, this little guy is pretty cute!IMGP0744 a

If I was standing with my feet where momma moose’s back feet are,

I would guess the top of the photo frame would come to about my shoulders,

and I am 5 foot 11 inches tall with shoes on, to give you a reference.

I am sure I will see more of this grand lady and her babies in the comong weeks,

and so can you!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to New Visitors

  1. Sue says:

    Oh how lovely to seewonderful pictures thank you for showing usTake careSue

  2. Nessa says:

    OH!  They are so darn cute – how wondeful that you get to see them from your study window – how blessed you are.  I do not think moose are ugly at all – I think they have the most endearing faces  and these little ones even more so.
    Huge AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW factor photo\’s Steve – thanks 🙂 x

  3. Kimmy says:

    Awe what a face! I hope momma brings them back for you to shoot (only with your camera) again. Can we call him Bullwinkle?

  4. Dianne says:

    I would have to get in my car and travel about 150 miles, then run the roads or get out and hike until God know when, to find one of these amazing animals. You are truly Blessed to have them come up to your window, pick up your camera and start shooting. I am very happy that you can do that. Thankyou for sharing all your amazing photos with the rest of us. Blessing , Dianne

  5. Michele says:

    Yep its a cutie, and your so brave..lol. Love coming here =)

  6. Babblelot says:

    Now that is a nice break from working. Thebaby is so darn cute. Moose are an awe of nature I think.I hope the twins survive.

  7. Patsy says:

    Oh Steve, they are wonderful, I love looking at them and I know you do too.  When I went out west a couple of years ago, I got to see one a Mom and her calf, but I did have the good sense to stay in the car while I took their picture. It was at the Grand Tetons. Anyway hope you capture more moments of them . Take care and have a great Memeorial Day !

  8. Beth says:

    The babies are adorable Steve.  The pictures are great!  I am really looking forward to more!

  9. Barb says:

    Awwww, she brought them to show you!  Now it can\’t be any sweetie then that. 🙂
    Glad you were home to welcome your visitors!
    Hugs from another dull-day in Edmonton

  10. Sherry says:

    Oh Steve these photos are wonderful. How lucky you are to be able to look out your own window and see mother nature at her best. The babies are adorable and I\’m so glad you got photos to share with us and am looking forward to see how they grow.
    It\’s nice and sunny here today too and it looks like it\’s going to be a great few days around here.
    Hugs
    Sherry

  11. Sarah says:

    Wow Steve, what a splendid family.  So glad you will be bringing htem to us regularly.  Let\’s keep our fingers crossed for BOTH of those little cuties.

  12. J W says:

    Keep it up Steve and you will be the person responsible for my running away from home and setting up camp in your backyard…Momma wouldn\’t care for that I think!!  Hey, you could use me.  I\’m 6\’3\’\’ without shoes.  Think what a good tripod I\’d make…J.W.L.  

  13. Butch says:

    You have some of the coolest wildlife right outside your window,it\’s hard enough for me to find whitetails when I\’m looking for them and you\’ve got moose.Here in Ny it\’s more like stay dogs,ferel cats and a few bunnies.Keep up the good work Steve and Thanks,Butch

  14. Cindy says:

    I love these pictures!  Now you\’ve got to come up with some names for the kids.  They are so cute.  Keep em\’ coming…forget about the swans.  These are my kind of pictures…IMO.  LOL

  15. Aimee says:

    ahhhh they are so cute!!♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  16. Vieille Ourse says:

    They are so sweet … hopefully they come back to greet you from time to time …

  17. Cindy says:

    WoW!!

  18. Arctic says:

    wow, i like those babies so much,,,your place is so cool..your house seems located in the calving area.
    yes, Moose is listed as one of 10 ugliest animals on the earch in a program in Animal planet only few days ago..but the babies arn\’t ugly at all.

  19. Lyn says:

    How cute they are ,,,,,,,,too bad they grow up and look ……..well, ugly I guess. Still I like them. Good pics. Reminds me of the baby calves, cute then look what happens, and they dont get any more intelligent as far as I can tell. Nice to just sneak out the back door and take a picture isnt it??? Thanks

  20. p says:

    How beautiful what a great life! xx

Leave a Reply

