Spring Color in Little Packages

The first spring colors are out, mostly in very small Alpine plants,
and mostly on west facing steep rock slopes bathed in the long sunlight of the afternoon.
 
I haven’t identified any of these yet,
just got out with my 125mm manual lens and extension tubes for some macros.
 
This one was just waking up and opening with a slow yawn to greet the afternoon daylight.
 

These are the largest blooms I found, about the size of a dime when fully open.

IMGP0215 a

Lot’s of these around, I really didn’t have to go through the thorn patch to find them,

but the light was too nice not too!

IMGP0234 a

These like rock ledges and steep heights (I can relate)

IMGP0249 a

I only found one place with these, very tiny little flowers that seem to like shade

IMGP0192 a

Sunny little smiling faces up on the rock

IMGP0239 a

Just a few of these

IMGP0256 a

Some of the most delicate little plants

IMGP0253 a

Thrive in a stark rocky place

IMGP0262 a

 IMGP0254 a

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Spring Color in Little Packages

  1. Beth says:

    They are all beautiful.  I do love violets though! The pink tipped bell like flowers are gorgeous!

  2. Barb says:

    What?  No GM keys to give scale?  LOL
    What an amazing assortment of flowers that seem to appear overnight.  How\’s Carolyn coming along with the IDs?  Wasn\’t she your IDer last season?
    One looks like a variation of Hen \’n Chicks (second last)   Love the tiny pink bells…they look so delicate both in size and colour.
    It is so hard to photograph such small things but you did a smashing job. 🙂
    Hug hugs from sunny Alberta!

  3. Michele says:

    , Oh my! Yes Lovely Light! Do you listen to music much? I was just curious as to what your fav inspirational music was if you have any..is that strange?..lol. I listen to all kinds of music changing the style/genre  from time to time. I dont know why, its just what i do…ima little nutty  , i know  =) hope all is well with you.
    Michele 

  4. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Steve, with the delicate touch.  My Son likes these flowering plants.  He took me and my daughter to the Bouchard Gardens in Canada.  God\’s creation is amazing, isn\’t it….ELZA

  5. Jacque says:

    These are just incredible!  and they make my heart sing.  Nature always makes me feel so in awe of our Lord.
    Thank you for bringing the beauty to us!
    Blessings to you…

  6. JoAnn says:

    I always look forward to a visit here.  Am always in awe of how you capture Mother Nature at her best – it lifts my spirits!  Thanks for these stunning photos.

  7. Patsy says:

    Finally spring has come to Alaska!!! and in such a beautiful way. You know how I love flowers and dirt and stuff. LOL Take care Steve and have a great week. Pat

  8. .. says:

    It`s a dream world. Your photos are very beautiful. Thank you for sharing it here. I like to stay here reading and looking at your photos. Thank you. Greetings from Germany!

  9. p says:

    Beautiful pictures Steve, simply breathtaking, you do such a great job, wish I could do the same.  I guess everyone has different talents, and this is yours for sure, take good care and have a great evening, xxPauline

  10. Cindy says:

    I assume you saw my comment over on your Flickr pictures.  These look so much nicer that those small ones that I saw earlier.  Really nice pictures, Steve.

  11. Arctic says:

     Just dream when i could see those mostly tiny buty brillient flowers in Arctic here.

  12. Faerie says:

    Unbelieveable images…truly, even when spring seems a million miles away these would be helpful bringing about the faith it was on it\’s way….I believe I can identify several of these flowers, but I was unaware they were growing in Alaksa!  Wonderful work!
    Cheers,
    FQ

  13. Vieille Ourse says:

    These are little wonders of nature : surviving in such harsh conditions … with hardly no time for flowering and making seeds for the next generation ! Unfortunately I do not have any books on the Alaskan flora, but some might well be of the same families as the flowers found high up at the Alpine level in Europe … The first one (yellow) seems to be a "Trollius" (but the Alaskan one), and the second one (blue-violet) seems to belong to the Veronica family !
    The green-red ones are probably from the Sempervivum family (the name already tells you a lot about their characteristics !!).
    The beautiful pink ones could well end up … in a marmelade glass … as they look like blue berries or cranberries !!! yum yum !!!
     
    Do not worry too much about the names … the sight of their beauty already makes me feel fine …
    Hugs … from an hungry Bear …

  14. Life's Like A Beach says:

    Wow, Steve.  What great camera shots with that 125mm.  Thanks for sharing these lovely, delicate discoveries.  May Peace And Blessings Be With You, footprints @ Life\’s Like A Beach

  15. Aqeela says:

     
    Great shots brother!
     
    you have to visit Salalah

  16. beding says:

    Wowwwwwww Splendide magnifiques photos. Ça nous donne envie de visiter l\’Alaska:))

  17. patricia says:

    Hi my name is patti and I was looking at your space and seen you have awesome flowers.Now I actually have a question and an observation,first the flowers at the beginning of your blog the seventh one down, do you know what kind of a plant that is? My observation is that I have seen that one before and if I\’m not mistaken is that not a  Venus Fly-trap? reference the trail of Alaska shots….

Leave a Reply

