Under Cover

With the leaves coming out the forest is darker and line of sight is more limited.
This is a chance meeting I had yesterday with a two year old bull moose.
 
He sized me up
 IMGP0460 a Who's There?

Hid behind cover

 IMGP0465 a Under Cover

Sneeked a peek

 IMGP0464 a Sneaking a Peek

And finally decided I was OK,

I was talking to him in a low, calm, quiet voice will taking these.

 IMGP0468 a Hello There

A pleasant mellow meeting

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Under Cover

  1. Sherry says:

    He\’s beautiful Steve!
    Hugs
    Sherry

  2. Nessa says:

    I just think they have the most adorable faces – I saw there was a documentary on national geographic channel ometime about Alaskan Mooses – must see if I can catch it. Excellent pics as always – the animals instinctively know you mean them no harm – you must have a peaceful aura Steve 🙂

  3. JoAnn says:

    Wow!  Is that his rack starting to bud?  He\’s a beauty! 

  4. Beth says:

    Great photos Steve.  He is so cute!

  5. Sarah says:

    practically \’doe-eyed\’……..what a dream, to speak to him and have him accept you as much as he did.

  6. Cindy says:

    Wow, that is so cool and everything looks so lush.  Good eats, if you\’re a moose!
     
    I\’ve done the same thing to deer and bear…telling them how pretty they are and thanking them for letting me take their pictures.  Of course I was safely inside a vehicle, not close like your encounters. 

  7. Vieille Ourse says:

    Nice encounter …. you are "The Man Who Talks To The Moose" …. even better/greater than talking to horses !!!

  8. Rambling says:

    what a pleasure.  I thoroughly enjoyed the photo but also what you said.  I am not surprised that you two had an understanding.  Thank you for the visit.  That was a lovely thing today.

  9. Barb says:

    Add Moose Whisperer to your resume.  Ha!  Wonderful sequence of your encounter.  Glad it turned out to be a safe one!
    Hug hugs

  10. Kimmy says:

    So sweet! Just look at those eyes. He knew a good soul when he saw one. 😉

  11. Cindy says:

    That yellow flower…I don\’t remember what it\’s called.  When it\’s done blooming, it gets all fuzzy, just like a dandelion, only bigger.  My wildflower field guide is at the cabin.  I tried googling on yellow wildflower, but that was a tad too vague. 

  12. Sue says:

    wonderful pic of a beautiful animalTake careSue

  13. Fizz says:

    Excellent job, as usual. I\’ve yet to be even remotely close to unimpressed. You\’re a natural and you\’ve got great stuff.
    Plus… I like Moose, reminds me of home.
    — Fizz —

  14. J W says:

    Yes, He might think that space exploration and revealing science is good, but I prefer to believe that He would much rather we spent all that money taking care of those suffering on this earth.  Can\’t imagine a starving person in Myanmar would care much about Mars at the present time.  But what do I know…ask the moose!!  BTW, totally agree with you on organized religion.  Religion is man\’s word.  Service is God\’s word for those who love their neighbors and forgive their enemies.  Just like to keep it simple Steve.  BTW, I\’m still pissed because we were left off the spaces party list…yeah right!  You could have brought the fresh fish and I could have brought my appetite for wild salmon.  Baked pine cones on the side.
     
    J.W.L.     

  15. Babblelot says:

    Such a wonderful picture. You captured his quiet side.You sure have a way Steve and so much talent!

  16. Life's Like A Beach says:

    Awesome Steve.  What energy there must have been amongst this greenery.  Imagine freshness to the air also.  Thanks for sharing. 🙂  Have a Great Week…May Peace And Blessings Be With You, footprints @ Life\’s Like A Beach

  17. -c says:

    This is so good to know! I grew up in Wyoming and it was constantly drilled into my head to NEVER trust a moose – they are all insane, they will suddenly charge you, blah, blah, ad infinitum. I never wanted to believe that, I love moose! You have given me renewed hope! :^)
    -cindy

  18. Charlotte M Simonsen says:

    great pictures… I don\’t think I would care to meet up with your new friend like that, however, hopefully you enjoyed the moment. hugs, lottemae

  19. elizabeth says:

    take care out there brat !
    hugs from bb. xx

  20. Sheila says:

    Hey Steve!
    outstanding shots with the low light…I had a time trying to get a Scarlet Tanagier under the canopy and all I got was a red splotch! that last one tells it all!
    hugs from a nice evening for a river walk, here on the other coast
     

  21. Arctic says:

     you turned that encouter into beutiful memory by your professionalism. i can see he felt safe.

Leave a Reply

