Mother and Child

They say up here the wilderness starts at the pavement edge.
Seemed true today as I caught this right off a busy road just a couple miles from home.
 IMGP0574 a

This moose calf is only a month old at most.

 IMGP0573 a

Wait for me momma!

IMGP0576 a

Reminded me of an oldy by Paul Simon

  http://www.seeqpod.net/cache/seeqpodEmbed.swf
SeeqPod – Playable Search

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Mother and Child

  1. KatSoup says:

    Hi I hate always saying "beautiful pictures" everytime I come here.   bla bla bla what I really want to see now is a picture of your camera.  Because (here we go again) your pictures are awesome!

  2. Sarah says:

    what wonders to behold in the variety of babes………..awesome little one.

  3. Sue says:

    Great pictures what a great world you have up thereTake careSue

  4. Cat says:

    the calf reminds me of Jasmine – she looked like a fawn sometimes – especially lying down and curled up – thank you – helped ease the pain –

  5. Barb says:

    Oh, how precious is that!  🙂   🙂   🙂
     
     

  6. Michele says:

    lol..
     
     
     
     
     
     
    I lOVE IT!..lol..great SHOTS AND SONG!!! =D xxoo
     
     
     
     
     

  7. Vieille Ourse says:

    That little one is soooo cute, with it fluffy fur and long legs  ! Hopefully they do not cross that busy road … but return to the safety of their forest …
    Hugs from Belgium.

  8. catamaran says:

    Sweet…good music.

  9. kïrstin says:

    i think moose are a funny sort. such long graceful legs, and then hardly a neck , and that nose! quite the combination. but ah still lahks \’em  🙂
    s. lizard☼

  10. JoAnn says:

    Great photos (as usual)!  In the first two shots looks like baby is alert to you and in 3rd, running to mom for protection.  These put a smile on my face!  Thanks.

  11. Beth says:

    The photos are spectacular.  By the way, I have always been a fan of Simon\’s. 

  12. Cindy says:

    Wonderful photos Steve.  The little one looks like its all legs.  Thanks for sharing these.

  13. Sheila says:

    oh to be young and free and trampling after Momma! the last one looks like a colt! How absolutely adorable!  Can\’t even begin to imagine the thrill and excitement when one gets to "pull over" for a scene like this!
    keep "pulling over"!
    hugs hugs

  14. Lyn says:

    Arent they sweet. All legs. Reminds me of the baby horses. Good pics again. If I wasnt so frustrated with the deer here, eating all my roses, plants and whatever else, I would put on pictures of them, I think they would come in the house if I would open the door. May as well. Oh well, they have to be somewhere, may as well be here. Have a good weekend.

  15. Sherry says:

    Love the song and the pics.

  16. Kimmy says:

    Steve these set of photos are just wonderful to wake up to today. What a beautiful moment you have captured!

  17. Horst says:

    About 10 years ago I almost ran into a Mother Moose and two babies. This was at night. They were standing in the middle of the road, in the middle of a curve, thank God I was able to stop in time. One of the babies was soo startled that it jumped up and then sliped on the pavement. I watched all this, and then watched them walk away. Even though my heart was pounding, it was a wonderfull sight, and I was glad no one, or animal was hurt. Thanks for sharing these photos with us Steve, keep them coming.
     
    Horst

  18. Patsy says:

    After all the hiking you do to get a perfect shot, you come home and lo and behold its in your back yard. Loved it and thank you for sharing. I just love animals so. Have a good week-end. Hugs, Pat

  19. p says:

    Just love it, just love it, what beautiful pics, amazing, what is more beautiful than God\’s nature I say nothing. Keep on taking great shots Steve, and hope you have a great weekend, xxPauline

  20. REDEEMER WORD says:

    In Texas where I was raised the men would have deer stands.  These stands were camafloged to sit in and watch for deer, if you
    saw a deer you could shoot it.  I saw one and got the Buck aggers, so I did not get to shoot it.  But it was an awsome sight and a thrill
    a minute.  Every state has its liberties.  Here in Washington where I live men come out in droves and just shoot anywhere.  I think the deer stand is better, then you know where everyone is.  .ELZA

  21. Arctic says:

    i like that fresh calf soooo much, thanks Steve, you give chance to enjoy that baby.

  22. Ellen says:

    Awwwwww Steve – what a sweet baby!  🙂

  23. Life's Like A Beach says:

    Really enjoyed this combination Steve.  Thanks again for the smile.  Have a Great Weekend…footprints @ Life\’s Like A Beach

  24. Cassia says:

    Thanks Steve,
    great pics, great song.
    You made my day brighter.

  25. PEP says:

    This is so precious.

Leave a Reply

