Summer Sun

With the sunrise at 4:25am and sunset at 11:36pm, there is plenty of light here.
In fact it is only dark between minight and 4am.
This doen’t drive me nuts because I can adjust to the light and the weather now.
It drives some people nuts because they have a hard time slowing down when it’s ight.
Me, I just go with it and sleep in or take naps as needed.
 
I have been getting out in the evenings to shoot photos lately.
It’s my favorite time because of the light of the late evenings here.
 
Here is last night’s sunset as I saw it high from on a ridge.
 
The sunset began with sundogs on both sides of the sun, pretty faint in this photo.
 

IMGP1003 a

The right sundog then became dominant.

IMGP1005 a

I caught a cityscape shot as the sun crossed northward above downtown Anchorage.

IMGP1022 a

                  A three frame composite of the sky

Pan 26-27-28 a875

The light began to wane and a small viewport started to open slightly at the top of the mountains.

IMGP1035 a

Looking through to the other sideIMGP1037 a

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Summer Sun

  1. Sue says:

    Wow how beautiful, wish i had of seen this
    Take care
    Sue

  2. Arctic says:

    red glows of sunset are all resplendent though the sundogs are rarely noticebable. last year i got a very impressive one, there is no night here at all now:)  (http://jxc93.spaces.live.com/photos/cns!22192F62EEBE2555!351/)

  3. JoAnn says:

    Beautiful as usual!  I don\’t think I could ever adjust to all that daylight!

  4. Beth says:

    The Land of the Midnight Sun.  I always wanted to see it and now through your photos I have.  Thank you.

  5. Barb says:

    It\’s so nice that you have something beautiful to look at night after night after night. 🙂
     

  6. Jacque says:

    Steve,
    I just am so thrilled to come here and see the beauty that you\’ve captured with your lens.  I love sunsets, flowers and wildlife.  The "Lonely Bull" song was one of my favorites when I was a kid!  I think one of my older sisters had a 45 of it.
     
    Thank you so much for sharing.
    Take care…

  7. Lyn says:

    Boy you are a busy guy, new pictures all the time. I like them all. Daylight wouldnt bother me, I am a lousy sleeper anyhow. I suppose it was hard at first but guess we have to adapt to our environment. Always like to see what youve been up to, great ones of course.

  8. Vieille Ourse says:

    Thanks for all the info Steve. I can also adapt my sleep to light and darkness and do not sleep much in summer but behave as a bear (of course !!!) in winter ….
    I like the 3-frame image very much … it is real and not real (well, I understand what I mean anyway) LOL.
    Hugs and till next time.

  9. Cindy says:

    I like the third picture…the big sunset makes the big city look so small.  Cool!

  10. PEP says:

    Beautiful as always

  11. Sherry says:

    I like the third one too for the same reason. Can\’t wait to see what\’s next.

  12. Aimee says:

    beautiful…
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  13. Tani says:

    It is hard to imagine sunset at Midnight,LOl But definately prefer all that light to the darker times in the winter you experience.
     
    On your comment to Barb, Dark chocolate is my drug of choice,LOL

Leave a Reply

