In For a Landing

A 5 shot composite of a Tern coming in.
This was the end of an interesting event where the gull landed almost on top of the Tern,
setting the turn off on a squawking and dive bombing spree until finally landing.
The gull was ducking and occasionally snapping in defense but looked pretty much like…
what did I do? LOL
 
Terns are very territorial and if riled they will dive at you,
coming within inches of your head and squawking in your ear,
and sometimes in numbers, very unnerving!
I learned this when I mistakenly walked into a nesting area years ago.

Term Composite: In for a Landing

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to In For a Landing

  1. Sherry says:

    That\’s a great shot!!!

  2. Barb says:

    Gosh, they sound like they are related to Magpies! 
    I like the second gull hiding in the grass….I\’d hide out too!
    Hug hugs from here!

  3. Beth says:

    Sheer beauty!

  4. Rambling says:

    they look almost ethereal.

  5. Cindy says:

    Sounds like a northern version of "The Birds"! 

  6. Anita says:

    Wonderful photos…what an interesting life you have! Thanks for sharing new "friend" Have a great afternoon!!

  7. Cat says:

    wow! very cool –

  8. Arctic says:

    so nice pictures, they did to me last year when i approached a small island in a lake, there there were many chicks.

  9. Babblelot says:

    Very cool Steve. I can\’t imagine getting dive bombed by birds.I did, but I think it was so terrifying I blocked it out. Now thegoose chasing me, that I remember!

  10. Vieille Ourse says:

    Amazing … well done Steve !
    Hugs from rainy Belgium !

  11. dawn says:

    hey Steve, your comment made me laugh. thanks!  amazing is your photography. these terns are beautiful. but to have them boldly dive at you…EEeeeks!

  12. Kimmy says:

    Love the way this turned out! I\’ve had bluebirds dive bomb me but never a Tern.

  13. Greg says:

     

    Hi Steve,
    Wanted to come by and take a stroll in Alaska.
    I would like all that daylight.
    Summers have to be just awesome up there.
    Do a lot of people have summer homes up there?
    Thanks for sharing and safe travels…Greg
     
     

  14. Terry says:

    What a beautiful shot.  I\’ve been dive bombed by a bird and it wasn\’t fun.  Fell in a box of broken glass and cut my leg needing stitches. 

  15. Lezli says:

    The gull does look befuddled by the terns.  lol.  Wonderful! 
    ~L

  16. Dianne says:

    I love this photo and post. You just have a way of being in the right place at the right time. lol, It reminds me of when I was a little girl on my grandparents farm. I was sitting on my pony in the barn , singing away when a mean old rooster took a dive at me from a rafter above my head. I ran to my grampa and told him my story and said , " I want to have that rooster for Sunday dinner". Sunday came along and we had rooster for dinner, at least that is what they told me and I never seen that rooster again. Being the animal lover I am today I feel badly and somewhat guilty. lol. Oh well this post brought back a memory from the past.
    Thanks Steve , for dropping by and for answering my question. I just ordered it through http://www.vistek.ca

  17. morgan says:

    Isn\’t that composit something! WOW!  Looking at the goslings makes it easier to imagine the link between the fine boned feathered dinosaurs found in Liaoning Province China.

Leave a Reply

