Life is Big

I was out and about as usual last night and went high up to photograph some lupin.
Arctic Lupin grows wild here, and likes well drained soil.
Right now it is prolific in the cut banks and steep slopes of the high country.
This is a 4 frame panorama of one such place.

Pan 54-57 ac 875

This next one is of course my Chugach Mountain front range, the foot hills if you will.

Also a 4 frame panorama, it is Flattop Mountain and two other Peaks.

Pan 58-61 ac 875

Life is big, so large photo prints is one of my projects.

Happy Solstice!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Life is Big

  1. Nozee says:

    How we can get lost in the wonders nature provides for us BIG and small.Good photos, brilliant stitching. What method do you use?

  2. Kuskulana says:

    I mostly use Photoshop Elements to stitch photos.
    Sometime I have to do it manually.
    I have also tried Autostitch, but photoshop is my favorite so far.

  3. Vieille Ourse says:

    Big is beautiful !
    I love that mountain picture …. and dream of hiking …
     
    Have an excellent night … watching the sun … and a Happy Solstice as well !
    (any pictures to follow ??? … I think I know the answer already …)
     
    ((hugs))
    Katia

  4. Vaughn says:

    Steve,
     
    Your pictures are beautiful, as usual. I have flowers much like the lupine growing in my back and side yard. I\’ll have to do a little study to determine just what they are. The hills are beautiful, and look much like our Utah mountains before they dry out for the summer. The author T. Jefferson Parker described such a scene as a spilled cargo of emeralds. Ah, the beauty of life seen through the right lens. Thank you for your lens, Steve. What I see is uplifting.
     
    Vaughn
     

  5. morgan says:

    You do a great job.  I\’m still showing the multi frame bird landing from a few postings ago to my friends.

  6. Cindy says:

    Great panoramas…much better than what Live Gallery does with my pictures.  The lupins are filling the ditches around here right now.  I think they\’re really pretty flowers…even tho some consider them weeds. 

  7. Lyn says:

    Good ones again. I need a better camera I decided. Your pictures are so good, my little camera just doesnt get it. My new twin deer in the back, I lurked and waited and snuck around and my pictures are still too far away……..oh well, had fun trying. Makes me appreciate yours all the more, so keep it up.

  8. JoAnn says:

    The lupins are beautiful.  Great panaramic scenes.

  9. Life's Like A Beach says:

    Truelly beautiful, Steve.  Thank you for sharing…footprints @ Life\’s Like A Beach

  10. Babblelot says:

    Love the flowers and I\’m sure the hills are alive with music.I think I see Julie Andrews twirling midway up the mountain.Wonderful pictures as always. Such a joy to see your work.

  11. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Lupine is poison to cattle, we have to get rid of it in the field.  Pretty but dangerous. 
    ELZA

  12. Cat says:

    ahhhh – purple and mountains to dream –

  13. Paulk says:

    Dear Steve,You work like a painter with your camera, no matter if one is a professional or an amateur, his work show whether he loves his art or not and this is what makes the difference. You love your art and it shows! Happy solstice and are they beautiful your lupine! Even poisonous they have a good reason to exist in our ecosystem to contribute to a healthy environmental balance. Shortsighted uneducated views that whatever is not profitable to our bellies and wallets should be extinct have resulted to the destruction of our planet that our descendants will pay for our faults, suffer for and curse us for.

  14. J W says:

    Can always count on you to provide us with visual and verbal soul food Steve.  What you do, the manner in which you share, and the love you have of nature is a priceless gift that you share generously.  I\’m really starting to get that itch to shake your hand.  Perhaps its time to take a good, long Harley ride.  Only problem with that is finding you!!  The ball in is in your court regarding the particulars of that.  For me, it would be worth every mile a hundred times over.  This old Tennessee mountain man turned 60 this past April.  Tick tock, tick tock, bony butt, but willing and hopefully able.  Strangely, the zest for adventure amplifies with age.  I know you can relate.  Be safe and well my friend.
     
    John
     

  15. Beth says:

    Great photos Steve.  Thank you!

  16. Ann says:

    Okay…WOW!

Leave a Reply

