Knocking on Heaven’s Door

I have been out very late the last several nights to photograph the Summer Solstice,
and the Midnight Sun from my vantage points.
A very arduous endeavor for certain, and now I have many frames that need processing.
This is a 3 frame panorama I took June 22 at 12:30am (Solstice here was the 21st with 19 hours 21 minutes daylight).
It is looking due north, Mount Foraker is on the left, and Denali, the great one
(AKA Mt. McKinley, or "Big Mac" as we call it sometimes) center, with city lights below.
It is said that Foraker is little sister to Denali,
though the latter is a massive granite intrusion while the former is a volcano, very different…
 

Pan 43-45 a 875 Solstice Midnight Sun

 The song, if you care to listen, by Bob Dylan  http://www.seeqpod.net/cache/seeqpodSlimlineEmbed.swf

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Knocking on Heaven’s Door

  1. Nozee says:

    *sigh*wish I was there..It is almost impossible to imagine so many hours of sun.Sorry to say this.. but it has now turned towards winter again:-) turning back towards summer for us.Thanks Steve

  2. Sue says:

    Wow That is so beautiful
    Take care
    Sue

  3. JoAnn says:

    Stunning as usual.

  4. Sherry says:

    The song fits this picture Steve.
    Hugs
    Sherry

  5. Bill says:

    I like seeing the lights of town. Reminds me of living in Colorado Springs. On dark nights I could see tiny twinkling lights in the
    mountains and watch as tiny headlights made their way home.
    Have a great day
    Bill

  6. Dianne says:

    This is such a beautiful veiw. Great composition including the song. Thanks Steve. Have a Blessed week. 🙂 Dianne

  7. Robinson says:

    Hi Steve:
     
    A very good morniing to you, re-knocking on heavens door, I do hope you were not going for a vist with St. Peter,
    just a simply LOL from you, NathalieR.

  8. Beth says:

    The photo is great, so is the song!

  9. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Steve you are pulling my heart strings, someday we will be in heaven.  I have grandson named Dylan and a step grandson named
    Dylan.  I had never heard this Dylan sing before , now I know why they named my grandsons after him.  I wnted to hear the song
    again but I couldn\’t get it to work again.  Anyway I like the view so appropiate for such a song.  Blessings….ELZA

  10. Vieille Ourse says:

    You really spoil us, Steve !
    Thanks and take care,
    Hugs from Belgium

  11. Arctic says:

    a so spetacular scene!

  12. Isabelle says:

    Amazing site and great song!!!
     
    I guess heaven\’s door must look something like that…..
     
    Take care,
    Isa

  13. Cindy says:

    Sure looks heavenly to me!

  14. Philip says:

    Beautiful panorama, Steve!  The song is one of my favorites, also.  Vaya con Dios!

  15. DANA says:

    Beautiful. To know that every sunset, sunrise, sky is absolutely different each and every day, it\’s wonderful we get to catch it through your photos. Thanks. Great song, haven\’t heard it forever.

  16. HEDGE says:

    Very cool!  Would be fun to go golfing at night with so much sunlight!

  17. brook says:

    Hey Steve.  Great picture!  As always.  I hope you had a good weekend.  🙂

  18. Sherri says:

    As always your pics are fantastic!!

  19. Sheila says:

    Steve!
    no need to knock….from what I can see, the door stands wide open! what that must do the spirit…
    beautiful, serene and exhilarating all at the same time.
    thanks for sharing,
    hugs hugs

  20. Rambling says:

    Sheila said it so well there…took the words from my "mouth"

Leave a comment