Tidelands

There is some 8,000 miles of coast line in Alaska, not counting all the islands.
I have lived on the coast most of my years here, and am now reconnecting with the tides.
Last night I took a stroll out on the tidelands south of town.
 
Some of you will recognize this scene, the sedge grasses and Kenai Mountains in the distance.
 IMGP5644 a

On the out tide it looks like you could walk to the mountains, but you can’t.

You can safely walk to about the edge of the vegetation and not much more.

IMGP5650 a

Little treasures can be found, the glass fishing balls don’t get this far inland though.

IMGP5651 a

Tideland natural abstract IMGP5647 ac

Tidescape, a 2 frame vertical panorama, it’s much bigger in person48-49 pan 875 Tideland

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tidelands

  1. Vieille Ourse says:

    Really beautiful pictures … Thanks Steve !
    Have a nice day out there and till next time,
    Hugs,
    Katia

  2. Cat says:

    WOW!!  The tide flats remind me of a trip up the CA coast – we stopped in Morro Bay and I spotted a blue heron out on the tide flats and approached as closely as I could(no zoom) about halfway across it occurred to me I had no idea when the tides came in or how deep they were!! Suffice to say I didn\’t find out the hard way –

  3. Kimmy says:

    Oh Steve these are AWESOME! You know I never thought of doing a vertical pano. Hmm you have my wheels turning now. Such a beautiful place and you\’ve captured it very well my friend. Much love from Tennessee.

  4. KatSoup says:

    I know why I like it here so much.  Your photos capture somthing so peaceful.  The lighting is always perfect.  They are almost intoxicating.  I never see this landscape in my life and i know these are fresh pictures of the earth taken yesterday and today.  It teases the scences.  I wish there were smell and sound here too.
     
    your friend
    kat
     
     

  5. JoAnn says:

    Love the tidelands.  The vertical panorama is beautiful, as is the natural abstract.  Good show!

  6. Beth says:

    Very nice!

  7. Babblelot says:

    I am not familiar with the tide lands. My common sense tells me this land in the picture gets covered with water when the tide comes in? The cracked land looks like a dried cow pie. Don\’t laugh as I\’m a country girl and my comparisons well may leave something. But is it wet underneath? This has gotten me curious. Beautiful pictures.

  8. Sue says:

    Wonderful pic SteveHope you have a good weekend Take careSue

  9. Arctic says:

    the light on the last 2 pics are so beautiful, especially the light yellow color under sunshine!

  10. Sheila says:

    Hey, not only did you find a feather, but I did too (5 of \’em but you know that, you saw them at FLICKR!)
    I did see those letters, but you know? there is something else… I have had 4 phenomenal things happen to me today. Still wondering if the the 5th will seal the deal and explain the mystery of my feathers.
    I really like your tideland abstract. It is such a departure for you to be looking down rather than up. There are so many perspectives to consider.
    Great job!hugs

  11. Sheila says:

         Yet again, great pics! I\’ve been to the tidal areas in Virginia. They don\’t seem to be a wide as the ones in your pictures. That\’s where you can find fiddler crabs and a few other things. Keep the great pictures coming.

  12. T says:

    Hey Steve!
    Very interesting are those tidelands!
    Photos are SO peaceful, I love them.
    Have a great weekend my dear friend!
    Hug,
    T

  13. Flo says:

    Looks like heaven.

  14. Sheila says:

    I love the picture you have as an abstract. The way the green is set against the black is so cool. It looks as if someone took a paintbrush and said "we need some green here … and here … and maybe a little here just to liven the place up a little".

  15. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Looks like a swamp to me, all you need is a couple of gators..Huh? ELZA

  16. Rambling says:

    The tide scape absolutely is my most favorite of all.  Looks like we sometimes imagine the moon surface.

Leave a Reply

