Deep Blue Silence

I often write down my thoughts as soon after a photo event as possible.
Here is what my note said last night on flickr;
 
"Tonight there was a splendid sundog (false sun seen in the northland at times) which I cannot share, but the sunset was that magnificent deep blue and the red and gold hues that silence my whole being with peace of the heavens.
A 2 frame panorama taken while brushing my bare head of the tiny gnats that have just hatched it seems. Life is good."
 
I knew that a sundog near the horizon was a long shot, but I waited there anyhow.
What happened as I thought it would, was the moisture layer near the horizon, which gives splendid colors here, blocked the high altitude ice that shows off the sundog optic.
 
I learned though, that both can coexist as it does in this image, and I love that deep blue sky and the red-orange highlight.
 

pan-18-19 ac 875

A friend asked today on flickr, how many is this? My answer is that I don’t have a hard count, but it is more than number 100 since I started photographing these sunsets a couple years ago. They are all unique and all beautiful, like all of you.

Another presentation, this time portrait style, that seems to fit well hereIMGP5720 a 875

Thought for the day; Get out and enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Deep Blue Silence

  1. Rhonda says:

    You never disappoint…this is awesome and your thoughts are wonderful!

  2. JoAnn says:

    Beautiful colors.  Thanks for today\’s thought.  I\’ll certainly try.  I know you do!

  3. Sue says:

    Beautiful pictures, you are truly giftedTake careSue

  4. Patricia says:

    That is one beautiful masterpiece Thanks for sharing itHugs Pat

  5. Kimmy says:

    Amazing view through your lens Steve. A rainbow of colors too! You and my hubby share something in common.. a bare head. lol

  6. Rambling says:

    Yes..and unique and beautiful.  And we all of us who come here to sit and watch say "thank you" for that. 

  7. J W says:

    Consider the countless sunsets and sunrises of magnificence that all humans have missed capturing on lasting medium.  It boggles the mind.  The future is beyond glory as we know it.
     
    John

  8. Patsy says:

    Good Thoughts Steve, hope you have a great Sunday.

  9. Cat says:

    LA rarely has interesting/beautiful sunsets – sigh –

  10. Arctic says:

    Splendic sot and interested descriptions!

  11. Karolyn says:

    Coucou Steve,
    Oh so beautiful! I need really to spend more time in north countries!!! I\’m leaving in Switzerland, we have splendid landscapes too with the Alpes, the lakes, etc… but the color of the nature and the sky are not like inthe north.
    I travelled several times to Iceland 10 years ago, and once to Greenland, in these north countries the color of the nature is changing every 10 minutes!
    For my job I used to travel to our facility in Norway, on the fjord coast. I have been there beginning of June, when the sun is just going down to go up again… my room was on the side of the night sun, difficult to try to sleep, my eyes would only see the sun and the sky, I tried to take pictures… nothing to see with yours… and nothing to see with the reality too… the real pictures are in me.
    Thanks for sharing with us,
    Karo
     

  12. T says:

    Amazing … I like you way of writing down the thoughts you have at those moments. Wise!
    I was alreday out and will go again soon … and not just once 🙂
    Enjoy the sunday,
    hug,
    T

  13. Flo says:

    Wonderful colors. 🙂

  14. kïrstin says:

    this is, as always, beautiful. i dont really understand what a sundog is, but i like the pictures anyway.
    s. lizard☼

  15. Sherry says:

    The colors are just magnificent!!!

  16. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Steve, you are a romantic, with a longing in your soul for a deeper relationship with God.  The beautify of nature has
    struck a tone for the supernatural.  I do pray that God gives you the desires of your heart….ELZA

  17. Nae says:

    The beauty isn\’t just in what you have taken the time to photograph, but the fact that you have taken the time to enjoy so many of them — and the generosity to share all those visions with us.
     
    God bless you and keep you,
     
    Nae  :o)

  18. elizabeth says:

    beautiful sunset, as always.  hugs. xxx

  19. KingfisherRaven says:

    Once again Steve you have captured beauty thanx for sharing !

  20. . says:

    What beautiful pictures

Leave a Reply

