Sunday

A series of success and failures, that is a good day I think,
the failures are something to embrace and learn from
I had several photo ops today,
A Merlin Falcon which I did not get a good enough pic of to post,
a hunting raptor, same thing, Merlin? don’t know
 
But I saw amazing sights, and got something, so here are a couple of somethings for you all
 
 This is an Inferior Mirage of Fire Island in Cook Inlet from this morning. Caused by the heating of the tide flats at low tide relative to the cool air just above. This causes bending of light from the "lens" created by the temperature gradient (and its altered refractive index). These mirages are unstable as the warm air rises and the cooler air settles, thus dissolving the optical effect.
 
Pretty cool huh?

IMGP5738 ac Floating In Air

And a very special thing to me, the first Trumpeter Swan pair back in my neck of the woods.

Here one looking curious, and yes I was talking to him, it was getting quite late for light

 IMGP5818 a

Coming in closer checking me out, they are quite sociable you know

IMGP5812 a

And then the pair of mates together, as it is meant to be, don’t you think?

IMGP5828 a

Tonight’s music, a favorite of mine, just because

 http://www.seeqpod.com/cache/seeqpodEmbed.swf
SeeqPod – Playable Search

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sunday

  1. michael says:

    HI you have some very nice pictures and I see you like the swans they pass my home everyday as I live with a canal passing by my back garden and Iam told that they mate for life maybe they could give us a clue for our love life ( lol) hope you carry on with you fine snaps and with that ill say all the best .
    Mike

  2. Patricia says:

    I didn\’t know swans mated for life I know wolves do and Bears that was a really good picture you caught of themHugs Pat PS you should send your pictures into national geographic there always have contest for photographers I think you would win hey might win a fancy camera take care

  3. Vieille Ourse says:

    Nice pictures as ever. As for the swans and mating for live, scientists have discovered that this was perhaps a little overdone … they tagged several swans with electronic devices and followed their wereabouts on computers … and (sorry to disappoint you) they noticed that some of them … had a lover they visited from time to time … Ha, ha !!!!
     
    Have a nice day and till next time,
    Hugs from Belgium
    Katia

  4. Mei's says:

    Vieille Ourse make me smile! Thank you my friend, I need that!

  5. Polly says:

    The swans, even in the dark are wonderful, a perfect pair.

  6. Rambling says:

    The mirage is a pleasure I have never had nor would I ever have had without you.  What a surprise and what a pleasure.The swans are, as always, exquisite to me.  There is something somehow touching to see them in the dusk.  (Knowing they are mated and going to rest together).I hope for the Merlin one day when it\’s convenient.  I like raptors almost more than the song birds.  I love them all, however.  🙂

  7. Fizz says:

    awesome night shots of the swans! Impressive. They are so beautiful. well done.– Fizz —

  8. Flo says:

    Neat mirage. Pretty swans. 🙂

  9. JoAnn says:

    Thanks Steve for showing us the beauty of Alaska!  The mirage is wonderful but the Trumpeter Swans take my breath away!  Have a wonderful day.

  10. Sue says:

    White swans how beautiful, ive only ever seen the black one we have here,Thank you for show use they just lovelyTake careSue

  11. Ellen says:

    Hi, Steve!
    I dropped in to tell you I come from youtube! I was running through my favorites and found your amazing Northern Lights. Just beautiful. And when I study your video I see even better what an artist he is, my footballer Thiago, who painted the Northern Lights here in Norway. First I watch your video, then I watch the painting on my wall, then the video, then the painting, then… Wow – it\’s magic!
    Wish you a great day, Steve!
    Ellen

  12. Sheila says:

    The mirage is very cool. I like the pictures of the swans. The darkness makes them the only focal point for people looking at the pictures. I think they\’re great.

  13. Cindy says:

    Very cool.  Nice seeing the swans too.  So, what do you say to a swan?

  14. Robinson says:

    Hi Steve, Hello
     
    I \’ve just made a visit, love the swans!  "The swang sings; Ti ra li oh, Ti ra lio! bye for now NatalieR

  15. Sheila says:

         Awesome pictures!

  16. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Steve, you are really a romantic….Some of your music I have never heard of , sorry.  I like the
    classic type.  ELZA

  17. Babblelot says:

    Sorry the photos didn\’t work out. The swans though are unique as the darkness sets a mood I think.Yes we do learn from our mistakes. It\’s remembering what not to do though 😉

  18. Lyn says:

    I love the swans. In fact I love all the pics, as usual. Especially with a little Doobies to go along with. Not all days are as good as others, but I like them all anyhow. Thanks Steve, keep um coming.

  19. T says:

    Romantic swans 🙂
    The first photo is GREAT!
    Hugs,
    T

  20. I says:

     
     
      The swans are gorgeous! I really like the panoramics that you have done in previous posts too. I have never seen that done before (I dont think?).
     
      xo T~

  21. R U Serious says:

    Wow Steve!!  Beautiful!!! 
    Thanks for your comment.  I think I\’m ready as long as I remember to breathe….. and I don\’t cry!!  lol

  22. KingfisherRaven says:

    Love these photos Steve and thanx for the Music one of my fav Bands to  and track !

  23. KatSoup says:

    I dont understand what you said but the shot is great.  My son gets upset with me for always trying to photograph the moment he says it takes away from the simple joy.  Sometimes I agee, when I miss the shot. I would have loved to see the falcon.
     

  24. Cat says:

    Lovelovelove the swans – and the inferior mirage – didn\’t know that could happen up there –

Leave a Reply

