Greatest of Days

A recent message from my friend on spaces Captain Ron, a River Boat Pilot of big boats (up to 1,000 feet long!) and a great writer too BTW

"I believe that the reason we find sunsets so fascinating is because we are capable of seeing them in an ever-changing perfection. At which moment do you chose to take the shot, Steve? At which moment do you exclaim "That’s it! Perfect!" …..click…

Each moment is perfect and yet, we wait just a tad longer… and sure enough, it is just as beautiful, maybe even more. When do you take the shot and say, "Now, THAT is it!" ….click…

What single moment defines our life? We will be unhappy unless we see it complete in all of its unfolding moods and colors, waiting for a moment which will never come, only because it is already here.

Have the greatest of days….click…

Cap’n Ron"

My reply here;

Sometimes I know, sometimes I don’t, so I try very hard to make sure I get enough samples (photos and/or life experiences) of the perfection, that I hope to get at least a good slice of it that is presentable and I like. Sometimes it is an event, and I may take hundreds of photos hoping for the best. Other times, like tonight, I know it when I see it, and just capture that special moment as best I can. I believe that single moments don’t define life, they may be pivotal points, of which I have more than a few, but I believe all the moments are woven together somehow in a grand quilt works that is the fabric of our lives. You and all the people I know and meet everyday is part of that fabric in my life, a very rich and beautiful quilt of life.

Now here is a slice of time from tonight for all

IMGP6296 a 875

A Crazy Diamond wouldn’t you say?

Speaking of which here is the long version…http://www.seeqpod.com/cache/seeqpodEmbed.swf
SeeqPod – Playable Search

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Greatest of Days

  1. Vieille Ourse says:

    Music matching with the picture … a very beautiful moment … bringing back lots of memories as well …
     
    Hugs from one of the patches of your quilt works !
    Katia

  2. Sue says:

    Wonderful pic song goes so well with itTake careSue

  3. REDEEMER WORD says:

    Steve, your sunsets are wonderful, like you are.  I didn\’t receive the music, but my computer doesn\’t  play much anyway.  I am
    apologic about your music.  Keep up the good work, like a quilt it finally will fit together.  ELZA

  4. JoAnn says:

    A beautiful moment – it makes me smile and feel good…..click

  5. Rambling says:

    I have a proposition.  I would like to rent the two of you for a week. All you have to do is sit on the porch and talk.  Why?  I like what he said that much. (Capt. Ron) and you already may be able to guess that I have a similar outlook on both what he said and what you generally say in the course of your narrations for the photographs.  In other words, similar mind sets.  🙂 

  6. Evelyn says:

    What a wonderful way to start my day.  Your photographs and your words are both beautiful.  Thank you so much for sharing.
    Evie

  7. Beth says:

    "Everything is beautiful, in its own way."
    Beautiful photo.

  8. Sherry says:

    What a beautiful and accurate discription of moments in life.
    Hugs
    Sherry

  9. Kimmy says:

    I sit here at home sick today.. thinking I\’d log on long enough to see if anyone had posted a new blog and I\’m so happy I did. What a brilliant display in the sky you captured Steve. And just the right words to make my day. :)((hugs))

  10. Nae says:

    Hi Steve ~
     
    Just wanted to congratuate you on the Microsoft Home Magazine recognition!  Your site surely deserves it for sharing so much beauty!!
     
    I hope that you are well!
     
    God bless you and keep you,
     
    Nae  :o)

  11. Cindy says:

    Love all those layers.  Hmmm,  Microsoft Home Magazine recognition?  I\’ll have to check that out.  Congratulations.

  12. Robinson says:

    Hello Steve!What a beautiful Picture of the sunset? Thank you for sharing! hugs!

  13. L e e says:

    It must be our quest for perfection that keeps us taking those pics.  But, then, God\’s work is perfection, isn\’t it.    Never-the-less, I do wonder why I take so many pictures when my 16 yr old grandson will pick up a camera, take one picture, and it is just awesome.  He has taken some of the most beautiful pics.    Oh, and btw, Steve, he is taking the advanced engineering curriculum in high school!
    Many blessings
    Lee

  14. Fizz says:

    Love the Floyd — Have Kashmere as my ringtone on my cell — Love the photo, too! It\’s a two-fer.– Fizz —

  15. Sheila says:

    When I look at this capture, I hear a thundering silence.  How is that for perfect?
    hugs

  16. Sheila says:

    WOW! AWESOME! BEAUTIFUL! If could think of more words, I\’d type them here. The picture is GREAT! COOL! Ok, I\’ll stop. I love the way you said life is a quilt. Each thing we do is but a piece. Life is the whole.

  17. Sheila says:

         Maybe some pictures aren\’t perfect by your trained and professional eye, but they\’re all perfect in their own way. This isn\’t an insult toward you. I just think any photo of nature is beautiful in and of itself.

  18. Rhonda says:

    All I can say is Wow…God\’s canvas painted across the sky and captured by your magnificient eye and talent.

  19. Lyn says:

    Perfect music for a perfect picture. Thanks again

  20. Terry says:

    I can\’t find the words to describe how wonderful that picture and music are.  Your photography is just awesome.  Can\’t wait to see more.  Congrats on the Microsoft Home Magazien recognition.  Have a great day.
    Terry

  21. Cat says:

    Oh that worked really well!

Leave a Reply

