Blue Abyss

I went out to see what I could see and I settled into one of my photo haunts south of town. It looked like the sunset might light up, but it did not. There was no disappointment on my part. The typhoons of the pacific are spinning moisture this way, and it shifts the light through a trillion and more micro droplets that hang in the air. This night it was a blue filter, as blue as blue can be.

It is this type of mood, this change up, this reveal of nature that I come out here for.

IMGP6764 ac The blue Abyss, living with sleeping giants.

Living here in sight of the giants that we hope keep sleeping is an experience to me. You may think that Alaska is a far away place to you but it really isn’t. One eruption of one of these explosive volcanoes could bring your world as well as mine to its knees or much more, and there is nothing at all in our power that can change, let alone predict it. This is in spite, it seems to me, of our arrogance of feeling in control of our little worlds.

IMGP6758 a

It is both humbling and uplifting to me to be in proximity to such power. To be such a tiny and frail being amongst such mighty wonder.

It is as if I being a wildebeest in the heart of the Serengeti I would suppose, hoping the lion has a full belly for now, and there is another day ahead.

But for now, it is a deep blue, dead calm scene, as I take my few photos.

A sea so calm I want to be out there in my kayak, a blue so deep I think deeply and contemplate things like hope, calm, peace and love.

IMGP6757 a A Calm So Deep

 

Tomorrow the storm may rage, the lion will kill, the world may end.

But on this night, is the deep blue peace of mother ocean.

It is really enough for now, at least for me.

 http://www.seeqpod.com/cache/seeqpodEmbed.swf
SeeqPod – Playable Search

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Blue Abyss

  1. Nozee says:

    Sleeping blue giants of hidden fury.Yes we are arrogant in our ways of thinking we have the last say.. humbling indeed.

  2. Vieille Ourse says:

    Blue is my favorite color and these pictures are so great … in addition the music matches the feelings that such landscapes coould generate … nature is beautiful, let\’s enjoy the present moment whatever may happen … or not happen (during our life time).
     
    Have a "blue-tiful" time up there, Steve,
    Hugs,
    Katia
     

  3. Sherry says:

    I Can\’t imgaine what it\’s like standing there with the blue of the sky and ocean and not be impressed.

  4. Ellen says:

    Hi, Steve!
    Blue is my color, too. It\’s always commented when people come into my house 😉 That\’s why I love my "Northern Lights" painting so much. It\’s got that deep blue in it, and I can stare at it for hours… I changed my job a month ago. Since then I\’ve been going by train every day. That train follows the river all the way from Årnes to Sørumsand. On days with a clear, blue sky the river lights up my day.
    I love your space, Steve – I always come back here to look if there\’s something new. There always is 🙂

  5. JoAnn says:

    Thanks for the blues and a little Buffet! Let\’s hope those giants continue to sleep. Have a good day.

  6. Rambling says:

    I truly like what Le Snoop said, your first commenter.  It was written so well and succinctly that I can\’t juggle words and say essentially the same thing, so I will let Le Snoop speak for me as well.  Lovely lovely blue abyss you presented us with.

  7. Beth says:

    Blue photos and Jimmy seem to go together somehow.

  8. Kimmy says:

    Steve you have a way of tying emotions to photos like no other. The song just sets it off even more. Just beautiful, peaceful and serene. *sigh*

  9. Sarah says:

    Very soothing, words and pictures of our small planet.  The one with the island I think is a place I have also photographed–that island off that point……I\’ll check my photos and get back to you if I find it.  Peace, man.  And Love.

  10. I says:

     
     
       Oh Steve… I sware! Your pictures are getting even more beautiful. I am not sure how that is possible since your pictures have always been beautiful but something is different….
     
      This post and the few posts before this one, have left me with goosebumps!
     
         xo T~

  11. T says:

    Another BLUE blog … my favourite colour … great photos!
    It\’s enough for me too. I don\’t want to worry about tomorow. It is still today … and more wonderful moments as I am listening this song of J. Buffet. Thanks!
    Hug,
    T

  12. Sheila says:

    I love these. And you couldn\’t be more right. We only think we control nature. Every time it shakes, rattles, and rolls, we find we don\’t control anything.

  13. Babblelot says:

    What a fantastic view. All the shades of blue forming a landscapeof such wonder. You found a treasure here. Love the song.

  14. Sheila says:

    True blue, with a smidgeon of pink!
    These photos have the ability to calm one\’s soul, to allow for introspection, contemplation and meditation. My whole parasympathetic (haven\’t used a 5 dollar word on you in a while and I am so into this Language of Medicine course!) system has slowed down looking at these photos. You are not only the moose and bear whisperer, but you are the people too!
    hugs from a very calm some body on the east coast

  15. Sheila says:

    errrrrrrrrrrr people whisperer too! see I am so calm I am almost asleep PFFFFFFFFFFFFFT!

  16. Rhonda says:

    If those photos can calm and soothe the spirit, I don\’t know what can.  Absolutely  beautiful photos as well as your words behind them…beautiful still peace.
    Hugs,
    Rhonda

  17. kïrstin says:

    mt st helens was enough to show me what a volcano can do. it didnt end the world, but it changed it.
    s. lizard☼

  18. Nae says:

    Hi Steve ~
     
    Thank you for leaving words of understanding and encouragement on my page!  They were very appreciated.
     
    I also enjoyed what you wrote on your site — and the photos are soothing.
     
    Keep up the great work!
     
    God bless you and keep you,
     
    Nae  :o)

  19. Amanda says:

    Hello Steve,
    I am with you on this one, i love your sentiment here. Who knows what tomorrow may bring, each day we gain, is a another special moment in time.
    Hope you and your family are keeping well.  Havent heard from you in ages, but then i haven\’t really been around much on msn or spaces.  Too busy living life !!
    Take care,
    Love Mandy Marie xx

  20. Here I Am says:

    All those deep shades of Blue.  They look calm, but inside all of those deep blues lies an energy ready to be released at any moment.  I see both sides at once.  
    Just Breezeing Thru
    Carrie

Leave a Reply

