Riding the Storm Out

After the north and south winds of the last blog converged we were beset by a very windy night last Thursday.
I was out in the yard Thursday nite and the winds weren’t bad at ground level, but I estimated them at 50 to 70 mph at tree top. Winds were recorded here in town at 100mph+ that night.
  
Well when I got up and around here is what I found
 IMGP8535 What a blow!

Yep right accross my new (used) trailer! Could have been worse though.

These spruce trees are 100 to 120 years old and this storm took down thousands of them.

It’s really time for them all to go here, so this is a blessing in a way.

Well I got busy and I got out the trusty Poulan saw and started to cut

 IMGP8537

I cut and I cut, and I limbed, bucked and cut the rounds for burning in the future (one or two years)

IMGP8545 a

Funny, today’s Horrorscope (for Aquarius) said in essence, you will get calls, news etc that may seem upsetting (sh!t happens is how I interpretted it)

Deal with it (I am paraphrasing here) and don’t let it drive you crazy (that is close to a quote there).

I think I have done that pretty much and things are pretty good in spite of all the sh!, ahem, …stuff.

And you know I will get more parking space out of the deal, pretty good really.

 http://www.seeqpod.com/cache/seeqpodSlimlineEmbed.swf

The Url if the link above doesn’t work: http://www.seeqpod.com/search/?plid=89a7f35832

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Riding the Storm Out

  1. Here I Am says:

    Oh my gosh!  You are lucky it didn\’t hit your house.. I know the mess all the cutting makes as we cut all our firewood and clean and burn all the remains.  We have huge firs all around our house most 100 years and more..One day it will happen to us..The tree can look good but I see it was the roots and base that gave.  I was at a space today they\’d had over a foot of snow in a freak storm.  Anyway to bad about the trailer. Sh…t Happens
     
     

  2. Sue says:

    Glad it was only the tree that come down and on your trailer not your houseTake careSue

  3. judy says:

    Good mornig Steve, Sorry about your trailer must have been a wild night with the wind. Thank go it wasn\’t your home and everyone is safe. Looks like you have your firewood covered…

  4. 晓亮 says:

    You get all the rounds for burning in the future (one or two years), Oh, congratulations!

  5. Vieille Ourse says:

    As a friend of mine says : "Cutting wood is making you feel warm 2x … first when you cut it and then also when you burn it !".
     
    Have a nice day,
    Hugs,
    Katia
     

  6. Beth says:

    Look at it this way Steve, it could have been worse and sawing all of those logs was wonderful exercise for you.
    I hope today is better for you.

  7. Rambling says:

    Thank you..I have Riding the Storm Out in my personal mind player now.  I\’ll ride the storm out on my midnight train to Georgia.You look mighty good there!  🙂

  8. Patsy says:

    I remember those days Steve, we use to heat with wood, and I hated that job. cutting, stacking, taking into the house burning it and it all started over until winter ended!!! I feel your pain. Now I have total electric who hoooooooooo. Take care , you look great. Hugs, Pat

  9. Sherry says:

    Sorry about the trailor Steve but at least you will have a good supply of burning wood for future use.
    Don\’t work to hard cutting that up now.
    Hugs
    Sherry

  10. Cindy says:

    Well, doesn\’t that just suck!  Sorry about your smashed trailer.  Did that other Steve (you know the one on the bench) do anything to help with your wood cutting?  Do you really use spruce for heat or is that for outdoor campfire type fires?

  11. Fizz says:

    Good news, tho, cause next years wood for the fireplace is here! Woot! If not for yours, then you can sell it to some city slicker!Love the song & the photo\’s. I love Horror scopes! They\’re always right on, maybe because they\’re so general.

  12. J W says:

    I can smell those conifers sizzling in the fire.  Great attitude Steve….it could have been your house.  I\’ve been that route.  Tis a shock that will rock your moral foundation.  Be well and stay the course my friend.
     
    John

  13. Sarah says:

    nice looking bunch of fire wood–love the smell of a house that uses it.  I wouldn\’t live in a house that did not have that option…….It will certainly make some lovely warmth in a winter or two.  Bummer about the trailer–is it fixable?

  14. CAROL says:

    WHEW I feel like I took the big walk all the way here.. I can never get this space to open to see the pictures with this slow a$$ dial up I got here. One day I will be able to just zip along and see it all. but right now it is what it is..WHAT HUGE TRUNKS those are that is a lot of work sawing it all up.
     Thanks for visiting me all the times you do. I love hearing from you and what\’s going on there. We are most definitely back to fall today and the heat wave is over.. DID you leave a door open or something?? heheheh  ; ) 

  15. Rhonda says:

    Hey, God sent you some free fireword!  Love your positive attitude Steve and watch out for them thar trees!Hugs,Rhonda

  16. Cat says:

    Mickey Mouse is watching over you…I\’m just saying – LOL!!

  17. JoAnn says:

    Sorry \’bout ya trailer!  You really had to work hard for more parking space! 

  18. Jill says:

    so….making more parking spaces for all those wild parties?  =D
     
    very thankful that it wasn\’t the house and you can\’t really argue with free firewood. 
     
    have a safe one! 

  19. Nae says:

    A blessing!  Sort of … wood to keep you warm through the expensive winter months.  Sorry it crushed your trailer though!!  Happy, however, that you are well!
     
    God bless you and keep you,
     
    Nae  :o)

  20. Karolyn says:

    Very impresive! Great you were in safe place in your house….

  21. Jodi says:

    wow. 100 mph winds?! UNREAL! Looks like you have quite a bit of firewood now though. Would love to have a couple of those stumps just to sit around my pond. Too bad about your flatbed … will you still be able to use it? Ours sure come in handy and it would be a bummer to be without it now. Love these photos. 

  22. Rambling says:

    But:Every leaf speaksbliss to me,fluttering from the autumn tree.Emily Bronte

Leave a Reply

