Looking For Color in Early Winter

When fall here has come and gone and early winter is here, the colors can be found in the sky. So I track the weather, the sun, the moon, and the stars, and I go out as much as I can to get a shoot in. This is from Friday night, temperature still not too cold, in the 20’s.

Waiting For The Shoot, a self portrait.

IMGP8809 Waiting For The Shot

I was staying warm in the truck, tripod set up outside.

Here is what I was listening to;

 http://www.seeqpod.com/cache/seeqpodSlimlineEmbed.swf

The shots, in order of occurrence (numbers indicate the frame number on my Pentax K20D I started using in May)

8820 Gold Coast

IMGP8820 a Gold Coast

8826 Fire Sky

IMGP8826 a Fire Sky

8830

IMGP8830 ac Sunset Just About

8836 Marble settling in the molten fabric of the Horizon

(Thanks Tani for the Title Inspiration!) 

IMGP8836 a Sunset Going ........

The following are 2 frame panoramas, (frame numbers abbreviated)

40-41 Wings of the Night

Pan 40-41 ac 875 Wings of the Night

54-55 Settling Down Into the Night

Pan 54-55 ac 875 Settling Down Into the Night

59-60 Curtain Close, Dragon of Darkness

Pan 59-60 ac 875 Curtain Close, a Day Gone By

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Looking For Color in Early Winter

  1. Ellen says:

    Dear Steve,
    You get me in the "dear Steve" mood now. No "hi, Steve"… The Stairway to Heaven and these pics – I can hardly breathe… It\’s so beautiful! Norway is going through the storm of the year this weekend. Even our region had a storm last night. We usually don\’t get very strong winds here. But in the western part of Norway – and north to a little north of Bodø – they have the western and south-western winds and the rain. I remember when I lived in Bodø, those days were tough, but exciting! We could lean on the wind..!
    Well, thank you for great pics and good music, Steve, and have a great Sunday!

  2. jude says:

    omg…..you have started me taking pics again…your compositions inspire…..there is much to be said about living in the moment…best regards

  3. Karolyn says:

    Beautiful the fire in ths sky!
    Here it is already the morning, the fog is leaving, we will have a sunny Sunday, the fall is on way… ma maple tree is not turning red, will see…!
    Have a good niht

  4. judy says:

    Thank you Steve for sharing your photo\’s. They are breath taking.
    Have a great day and God bless you.
     
    P.S. I love what you were listening to, it is beautiful 

  5. JoAnn says:

    Awesome photos but I\’m stick stuck on "temperature still not too cold, in the 20\’s".  Brrrr.  As I type this it\’s 7:15 AM and 60! Have a great day!

  6. J says:

    Great shots Steve! Gold Coast is my favorite.
    j

  7. Dianne says:

    Good morning Steve, As I sit here gazing at these images it makes me wish I were there shooting away also. You have once again captured so perfectly the awe of the magestic, Beauty beyond words.
    Thankyou for sharing with those of us who can\’t be there to see such a sight. Brilliant work Steve.
    Great self portrait as well. 🙂 Dianne

  8. Babblelot says:

    Great self portrait with the mountains off in the background. The pictures are totally awesome Steve!You found color alright. beautiful shots.

  9. Beth says:

    All great photos, including the self portrait!

  10. Jim says:

    Wonderful sun sets.  Good song as well.  🙂

  11. I says:

     
     
       I love Led Zeplin. As a matter of fact, I am going to see the all girl band that sings only Led Zeplin tunes in a few weeks. Their band name is Zeparella! Clever, eh? I really dig the self portrait. I think all your pictures are wonderful but self portraits say alot about a person. Your photos sort of make me home sick for Alaska… Even though I didnt like living in the big city there, I did enjoy the sight seeing and the beauty that State holds.
     
      Have a great day!!
     
       xo T~

  12. Terry says:

    I just love dropping into your site and looking at the gorgeous pictures you take.  The awesome beauty you see and capture for us is Mother Nature\’s finest.
    Terry

  13. Cat says:

    dragon of darkness and stairway to heaven – great pairing

  14. Polly says:

    I love your sunsets, I have to agree you have a wonderful title for the setting sun. These are melting moments. Polly.

  15. Nae says:

    I saw the dragon!  Very cool.  Very nice pictures.  Miss the sunsets — since we are raining, raining, raining — but not the cold!  You can keep those temps!
     
    Hope you are well and enjoying the weekend!
     
    God bless you and keep you,
     
    Nae  :o)

  16. steve says:

    These are some cool sunset shots… 8836 is awsome!   thanks for sharing them

  17. Rambling says:

    I love that title..\’wings of the night\’.  Perfect for that picture.  All of them are, as always, just perfect.  \’The Dragon of Darkness\’ is even more inspired… though the wings of the night..I swear, I can\’t tell which is my favorite. You are so generous to share these beauties with us every day. And the Stairway to Heaven..on my personal internal player as we speak.  😉

  18. Kenneth says:

    "They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old. Age shall not weary them nor the years condemn. At the going down of the sun and in the morning: we will remember them".   (A Tribute to those that have fallen in battle)
     
    I salute you Steve, well done.

  19. Greg says:

     

    Good morning Steve,
    I love your quote, “I am not growing old gracefully, but hanging on to youth tenaciously!”
    I’m going to hold unto those words. Thanks!
    Of coarse I had to throw on my headphones to listen to “Stairway to Heaven.” One of the best rock classics of all time.
    I like those last two photos. The title too, “Dragon of Darkness.”
    We actually made it down to 32’ degrees here last night but we will be back up to near 70 degree temps by Wednesday. If I ever do make it to Alaska it will definitely be in the summertime. However, I have to admit there is something cozy about being wrapped up in a cabin with a good wood burning stove. As long as I have high speed internet.
    Safe travels Steve, be well, and thanks for sharing Alaska…Greg
    Time to turn up the volume on my headphones for the rockin’ out part to Stairway to Heaven
     

  20. Here I Am says:

    I could tell by the red reflection in your face it had to be red out there.  What a wonderful thing to watch so many beautiful sunsets.  Fire in the sky that evening.

Leave a comment