An Evening to Remember

As if the moose in my yard yesterday weren’t enough, last night I got a rare treat.
The Northern Lights, or Aurora Borealis, came out a day earlier than predicted, not too unusual.
But what is unusual is I could see them right from my place!
Here are a couple of the shots I got…

IMGP9002 a Aurora Borealis from My Place

I was set up at the bottom of my driveway near the mailbox. Wow no big drive or freezing my bazooties off ! IMGP9009 a Aurora Borealis from My Place

Here is a composite of the two shots, using a layering technique in Paint Shop Pro.

02-09 Aurora Borealis from My Place

This is quite the score for me, first time I have ever seen the Aurora from my place let alone photograph it here.

I think today I may have been more tired than had I been out all night, kinda weird, but not when I think about it.

When I am sitting out in my truck it is not as comfy as at home for certain, but in the truck I can doze and just open an eye every few minutes to check for activity. At home I have to get up, fully wake up and navigate to the one window that faces north with a view, or go outside. I guess I could just quit after I get something… not !

Well anyway it was worth it, now I am getting ready for tonight, although we have a front moving in. Not a real big one, just about the size of Texas.  Laughing, you know the saying, if Alaska were divided into two equal parts, then Texas would be the Third largest state!

Have a great evening/night/morning my friends!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to An Evening to Remember

  1. Babblelot says:

    I would think the Aurora would be very visible for you. Almost a night light maybe.In Wisconsin we could see it sometimes. I just figured if you were in Alaska the wholesky lit up. The day is great when you learn something new I say. Wonderful pictures!

  2. Rambling says:

    Dang!  Can life be any better or richer or delightful OR beautiful!?  No.

  3. Beth says:

    Beautiful shots!!!

  4. Dianne says:

    I have never seen the Northern Lights accept in picturers. I am truly envious, Steve.
    Awesome images. Great shots!  🙂 Dianne
     

  5. Vieille Ourse says:

    WOW, that\’s just so great … a "home made" aurora !!! Did Bonnie enjoy it as much as you did ??
     
    Have a nice night,
    Hugs + lots of pats to a sweet bundle of fur called "Bonnie" …
    Katia

  6. JoAnn says:

    Well, hello from Texas!  Beautiful photos.  Love the Aurora.  Stay warm

  7. Kimmy says:

    Beautiful view Steve. Wow.. did you happen to video? I would love to see the AB in action from your lens.

  8. Patsy says:

    All of this you get to see from your easy chair?? How cool is that?  You are truly blessed to live there and see all of these beautiful sites.  You do a great job sharing them with us who would otherwise never get to see. Thanks, Pat

  9. Terry says:

    They leave me speechless.  All I can say is WOW!
    TERRY

  10. Marilyn says:

      Awesome! Beautiful shots and what a blessing you didn\’t even have to leave home to take them.
      I\’m am truly in awe of the area you live in. I can not imagine anything more rewarding or breath taking than the views and creations you are surrounded by. You are surround by such great beauty, that I can not imagine anyone ever tiring of.
      Thank you so much for allowing us to view your world through the lens of your camera. hopefully one day I will be able to see first hand what you are blessed to see everyday.
      may God continue to bless you in all that you endeaver my friend.~Hugs~Marilyn~

  11. J says:

    The moose in your back yard was great! What a shot. Now this brings up an interesting question. What other critters you got roaming around up there? Any griz? I do believe I would carry more to shoot than a camera when outdoors at night beneath the flaming skys.
    It\’s not a bad idea beneath the cith lights either. Neat Aurora Borealis! Winter of 1980 I saw a very faint display of them in outside of Casper, Wy. What a sight they must be near your home. Watch out for bears!
    j

  12. -c says:

    People here in Kansas talk about seeing the Northern Lights once in awhile. But I was thinking it was usually in the summer. Is the Aurora Borealis a seasonal phenomenon, or are they a sporadic thing all year? Someday I WILL see them, but have not been that fortunate yet.
    -cindy

  13. Jill says:

    how incredibly awesome to live surrounded by such a varied display of nature….right in your backyard.  thanks for sharing so freely with all of us.  =D

  14. Barbara says:

    Love it! Love it! Love it! oh it reminds me of the days when I lived in the Yukon as a child. Makes me homesick.
     
    Take care
     
    Barbie

  15. Rambling says:

    Off topic I know but your comment to me was such a great play on words.  Even if it wasn\’t I made the decision that it was..hence it was funny!

  16. Fizz says:

    They are my favorite. I used to stay up all night in the late fall in Michigan and watch these lights. They would be so bright and so intense that you almost needed sunglasses. You are one lucky dood!

  17. Rhonda says:

    I\’m so jealous Steve…would give anything to see the Northern Lights.
    This is what I have been waiting for…thank you!!!
    Hugs,
    Rhonda

  18. Nae says:

    Hi Steve ~
     
    I miss the Aurora Borealis.  It has been raining, raining, raining, and more raining … all clouds … no stars … no Northern Lights.  I do remember them dancing across skies further up north.  They are truly wonderful to watch.
     
    Hope you catch up on your rest!
     
    God bless you and keep you,
     
    Nae  :o)

  19. Here I Am says:

    I love those light shows.. amazing what nature is capable of.

  20. Flo says:

    Wow, what a view!

  21. Cindy says:

    How cool, seeing northern lights and a moose right from your house.  Wow, that was your lucky day!

  22. Ann says:

    Oh my oh my oh MY!!! Bee-U-T-Full!!!

  23. GERI says:

    Wow!! What amazing shots. I was lucky enough to see the northern lights just once in my life time 20 years ago in Northern Quebec, Canada indeed it was quite a treat ..something I will always remember!! :o)  

  24. KatSoup says:

    How bout a shot of the bazooties!  Not sure what that is but am interested.  The lights are great.  I have never seen that before well, except in awesome shots.  I see you have snow.  It was 70* today
     

  25. Rambling says:

    I came back again to see this.  The meece and the aurora are just the pictures for me these past several weeks.  Love them.

  26. Arctic says:

    oH Steve, from many ways, Alaska is a realy special place for photographer like you. and you really made it.
    i look forwad to these amazing northern lights here.
    look forwad more those amazing pictures from you.
    Take care, 
     

Leave a Reply

