Turnagain Arm in Early Winter

Last evening I had the pleasure of meeting yet another photographer, this one uses a large format camera pretty much exclusively (4×5 inch negatives).
We had a good discussion about Turnagain Arm, and agreed it is close and convenient, it offers beautiful photo opportunities, and with the railroad and highway traffic, and the often brutal cold winds it can be quite inhospitable to the photographer. Nevertheless we were there, and shared a few moments together
 
Here he is preparing his Linhoff View camera for a shot, he got 2 shots in this spot,
quite an accomplishment really under these conditions with that camera setup.
This is looking west toward the setting sun and Point Possession.
 
IMGP9123

Of course I got quite a few with my digital, this composition is looking south,

with the ice encrusted rocks of Beluga Point and the Seward Highway on the left.

It is a 3 frame panorama.

Pan 108-110 a 875 Turnagain

I am looking forward to excersizing my duty as an American to vote tomorrow.

The music I chose tonight is a favorite that was written some time ago and expresses long time I share. 

http://www.seeqpod.com/cache/seeqpodSlimlineEmbed.swf

The link if the player doesn’t work for you: http://www.seeqpod.com/search/?plid=585c3e24bf

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Turnagain Arm in Early Winter

  1. Sherry says:

    The photos are exquisite Steve. the colors are so brilliant

  2. JoAnn says:

    Beautiful shot of Beluga Point.  I exercised my right earlier!  Stay warm.

  3. Patricia says:

    hi Steve your pictures capture in such a beautiful  way very nice here is something I found it too is BeautifulPeace which we really all need  enjoy  http://www.faithflashes.com/peace2.htm   Hugs Pat

  4. Dianne says:

    Hi Steve ,I am going to go to sleep dreaming of Alaska, lol  I think I had better throw a few more blankets on the bed to keep warm. 🙂 Love your photos, great compositions.They are all so beautiful and so unique. Love the sunset with the photographer. Great work. Keep warm and keep clicking.      :)Dianne

  5. Sue says:

    Love the first one it beautifulTake careSue

  6. Vieille Ourse says:

    Good idea to vote, so you cannot blame "the others" if things turn out differently from what you expected (or did not expect).
    That mountains panorama is sooooooo beautiful ……… wished I could breathe the cold air and look at those mountains "live" ….
     
    Hugs,
    Katia
     

  7. Ann says:

    That is one of the best photos I have ever seen. The trees on the point give such a spacial (sp?) feel to the mountains. You get the sense of just how massive they are. wonderful shot.

  8. Rambling says:

    I voted for you-know-who.  🙂

  9. Cindy says:

    Great panorama Steve!  It looks like cold, colder and coldest!

  10. GERI says:

    Beautiful!! shots

  11. Marilyn says:

       Love the panorama.
       I wish you could bottled those views and sent them to me.
       Sorry, I didn\’t understand all the technical camera talk. About the only thing I know and understand about cameras is point and shoot. It\’s never to late to learn.
       Have a blessed week my friend.~Hugs~Marilyn~

  12. Patsy says:

    Great shots Steve and yes please go vote, seems like the only right we have left. Have a good day, Pat

  13. Horst says:

    Hi Steve, your panorama is beautifull. This is more like what Alaska is known for.

  14. L e e says:

    Darn, I wanted to vote for "Dopey" but couldn\’t find him on the ballot!  LOL.  I really like the panoramic pic.  You did really good on it. Thanks for sharing  it.
    Lee

  15. Pat says:

    Hi Steve,
    I love the panorama shot. That\’s really neat you ran into another photographer and were able to chat.  Cool shot at the top with him in silhouette.  Nice touch.
    Pat

  16. R U Serious says:

    Great pics!  Damn you for having such \’subjects\’!  lol  Keep clicking!
     
    As for the election, I think that both candidates are good, honest men but I also think that our Country needs to take a new direction and I felt that with McCain (economy) it would be 4 more years of Bush!!  So let\’s give Obama a chance.  Bringing our troops back and eliminating the $10 million a month we spend in Iraq will be a start.  Also, I feel that Obama has started to bring our country together.  Time will tell.
     
    Have a Great week Steve!
     

  17. Greg says:

     
    Good afternoon Steve,
     
    Well…We all voted…Now what???
     
    Have a super Sunday and safe travels…Greg
     

  18. Here I Am says:

    Love the sunset with the photographer in it. 
    Aww finally some mountain with snow.. Lovely panarama..

  19. Nozee says:

    The panorama is a keeper! wow

  20. Kat says:

    Stopped in to get a dose of your beautiful photography!  Love the panorama above!

Leave a Reply

