December 7, A Day of Infamy…Imagine

Looking through some of the stuff my mother gave me,
This was a card, front and back, roughly 3" x 6" my Dad brought back.
I don’t have the full history, but Dad wasn’t in this bomber squadron, he was in the 267th near as I can tell.
He was however, a pilot of the B-24 Liberators, so perhaps these were cards they got as a morale thing.
We need that now I think, morale boosters, wish I could talk to Dad about it now.
 
Can you imagine flying such a machine and bombing your family homeland where you knew there were relatives, delivering 10,000 pounds of bombs at a time to your target? And can you imagine being only 19 and turning your 20th birthday over there during all this and away from your bride back home? Can you imagine flying this 4 engine monster and being so shot up from flack because you finally drew the card to be at the tail end of the raid, and you loose one engine after another, and flying all nite alone without the squadron until she just won’t fly anymore and you have to go down in the North Atlantic and save as many of the crew (of 9 men) as you can?
 
 1944 Bomber Art Card, Can You Imagine?

A song from an unlikely patriot, but a talented one.

http://www.seeqpod.com/cache/seeqpodSlimlineEmbed.swf

The link to the music; http://www.seeqpod.com/search/?plid=f6ce8cd838

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to December 7, A Day of Infamy…Imagine

  1. JoAnn says:

    No, Steve – I cannot imagine! Your dad was a brave man and so very young. Thanks for sharing this small piece of his life with us.

  2. Lyn says:

    I cant imagine it either, but thanks for sharing it. Makes me sad to think of how he must have felt. Lots going on around now and worrisome for us all, but your pics make me smile. Not sure I like this new space thing, think they should have left it alone for idiots like me who have enough trouble with this computer stuff…….Oh well, found yours so guess I am ok. Thanks Love Lyn

  3. PEP says:

    I love that song. Maybe one day there will be such a world. For now I\’ll continue to imagine and do what I can.

  4. Patricia says:

    HI STEVE MY FATHER WAS A NAVIGATOR ON A B17 FLYING FORTRESS OVER GERMANY ON A 17TH MISSION HIS PLANE WAS SHOT UP SO BAD THAT OUT OF ALL THE CREW . OUT OF THE WHOLE CREW THERE WERE 7 SURVIVORS AND THREE WOUNDEDONE BEING MY FATHER WHICH PUT HIM OUT OF THE WAR . THANK YOU STEVE FOR REMEMBER DEC7,1941AND HERE IS A SPECIAL GIFT FOR YOU AND YOUR FAMILY PEACE LOVE PAT http://www.asilentnightmovie.com/full/

  5. m60a3 says:

    Those cards are priceless, such memories they must hold. I thank you for your Dad\’s service to his country. And thank you for shareing with us your priceless memories of your Dad.PeaceMark

  6. Sherry says:

    No Steve, I can\’t imagine. My dad always regretted that they wouldn\’t take him. He was drafted buy he had a knee that kept dislocating on him so for that reason he as sent home.What a proud son you are and for very good reason. Thank him for me will you. He\’ll hear youHugsSherry

  7. Cat says:

    One can only hope & pray that at some point the human race will cease and desist from inflicting such horror on each other –

  8. Rambling says:

    There are many stories and I am glad to have shared yours with you.

  9. Sue says:

    What storys those cards could tellThank you for showing usTake careSue

  10. puzzle says:

    Is it possible, to feel "genetic innocent"?During the 19th century, the U.S.A. has given a new home to lots of poor people from Poland, Austria and Germany – which areas formed at that time the enemy, because of Hitlers activities the aim for the bombs. So I have ancestors & relatives in all mentionned countries, including the U.S.A. (who came from Poland and "East Prussia") and my research had results which told me, they all were involved in some kind of these actions, good and bad – so with whom should I feel ashame? – Maybe, for political reasons and common human morals, people who dropped bombs on the "german" areas, were right, but to feel personal conflicts beeing involved in such deadly actions are the real honour of individual character.

  11. Cindy says:

    No matter where or when it happens or which side you\’re on, war is tragic and scary,Very appropriate song, considering today (the 8th) is the anniversary of John Lennon\’s death. Another tragedy.

  12. Jacque says:

    Hi Steve,Thank you for sharing this. My father was in WW II. I enjoyed your comment to Tanja and came over to say hi. Take care and have a wonderful week!

  13. catamaran says:

    hi Steve,The Americans have us on D-Day in Normandy liberates.In the area where i live are regularly excavated and aircraft bombs harmless made.Here memorial stones are also thousands of young Americans fallen from World War 2.

  14. Gareth says:

    Very interesting stuff this Steve. Not sure how much you knew about your Dad, but about my Dad I knew only what people told me of him (NB: he passed away when I was very young). Then one day I found a photo of him stood next to my Mother he had one hand around her waist and his other hand was holding his rifle….. the strange thing is that he was in his police uniform. I asked all my brothers about why my Dad was holding a rifle and was in a Police Uniform……. the response I got was silent and still is to this day. I guess there is some things in the life that we are not supposed to know about.Regards Gareth

  15. Bonnie-Land says:

    Thank you for shareing this with us, my Father was also in WW11, they called it D+1, he just missed Italy, was pulled off at last minute, good thing as his enitre company was wiped out. He now lives with my Hubby and me & is 86, he still doesnt talk about the horror, but not may do,You take care my friend, Have a great week, Hugs always, Bonnie

  16. Patsy says:

    A proud son you must be. Wars are awful, but we still have to support our troops. My dad was a WWII vetran, hardly ever spoke of the war, all I know that on his military papers he was in 5 major battles in the South Pacific. I guess the less we know the better off we are??? Take care Steve and a Great post. If you are interested my new address is: http://patsystanley.blogspot.com As ever, Pat

  17. Here I Am says:

    How nice to be able to share a piece of your families history with a photo of it and story to tell. Something as simple as that card probly holds lots of memories.

  18. Fizz says:

    Yeah… men were like that in those days. They knew about God, country and honor. And they knew how to suck it up, get it done and just keep on goin\’ cause there was no time to stop and worry about it.My papa said it… You did what you had to do. You did it and you came back. And you just moved on, no sense in looking back on the whole thing \’cause it would change.I\’m glad you shared. I wish you could talk to him, too!

  19. elizabeth says:

    hugs from way over here. BB. xxx

Leave a Reply

