Matter’s of Opinion

Sometimes I am sure I got just the right photo at the right time,
but I like to post more than that and get feedback from the reader/viewer.
This is a series of three from Friday night;
one is my favorite,
another seems to be other’s favorites,
and the other has recieved little attention, but not in that order.
What do you think?
 
The first, Point Possession in Landscape
  

IMGP9753 ac 875

The second in Portrait

IMGP9761 ac 875

The third, a 2 frame vertical panorama in the waning lightPan 65-66 ac 875

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Matter’s of Opinion

  1. Sheila says:

    ok ok Steve, so what do we win if the answers are correct? I like best the second one with the reflection of the sun in portrait. I bet the first one got the most attention and the last one the least. Did I win, did I win?hugs from an east coast__________ (fill in the blank, but it had better be, winner?)

  2. Sarah says:

    I like the first–it seems to give me more energy when I look at it……..

  3. Babblelot says:

    My fav is the last one. Such beautiful colors, so romantic yet relaxing.

  4. Sherry says:

    After looking at them for awhile the last one is my favorite. It just kind of looks mysterious to me.

  5. kevin says:

    Gee Steve, where to start? This really is a matter of personal preference, so there\’s no right or wrong answer. Let me commence by saying that it\’s diificult subject matter, looking directly into the sun with what appears to be a mostly cloudless sky. If there was more cloud, possibly further obscuring the sun, then the contrast level in the scene would be less. As it is you\’re really working hard to deal with the huge contrast range. Personally I think I prefer the first image. I like the golden tonings and the compositional elements of the hill on the left edge of frame which must breaks up the horizon line a bit, and the > shape in the foreground which leads the eye up into the picture. Also there is some detail retained in the foreground. A couple of technical points with the image, firstly the lens flare. Looking into the sun, lens flare is always going to be an issue no matter how good the lens is and how many flare reduction coatings the manufacturer has employed. Personally I\’m happy to accept the flare in this case. Another point is the cropping, let\’s tidy up the bottom and left edges of the frame. As for the two vertical format shots. Again really a matter of personal preference. I think I would leave the bottom part of the image out altogether. On my screen at least there seems to be a fair bit of digital noise creeping into the foreground pool of water. This again is tough to avoid because of the differing light levels from bright sky to dark(er) foreground. If we look at the top half of the second shot, it becomes a study in three colours, red, yellow and black. Rather than battling against the high contrast, maybe there\’s a case for embracing the contrast and actually exploiting it, going for a purely graphic even "unnatural" look. Not sure whether you agree with any, or all of that Steve, but it might be a starting point for further lively discussion. (chuckle) All the best, KD.

  6. Pat says:

    Hi Steve,I came via Shelia\’s space – though I see you around other peoples spaces as well.They all look good – but the first one is my favourite (perhaps, just because I can see it all at once on the screen!)

  7. Nozee says:

    Steve — I like the 1st one the most. It does not take the fact away that the reflections of the sun in the other two is awesome.

  8. puzzle says:

    the colours of the first image with the clearness and size of the second – but I prefer colour first.

  9. Sue says:

    Last for me but, love the colour in all of themtake careSue

  10. Kenneth says:

    I agree with Kevin, well the bits I understood.

  11. Jeffrey says:

    The first one has (as KD pointed out ) a flare, and it has a foggy yellow( or gold) overall color cast,a little overexposed perhaps? it commonly seen when you direct shot toward sun.My favorate is second one , ,the composition is tighter, simpleler and cleaner,the 2/3 of sun distorded into oval shape and high contrast make the image has more emotional and dramatic impact than the other two. hi steve, always enjoyed your images and sharing different opnions, we all learn from the disscussion,take care, Jeff

  12. pookie says:

    second one for me steve…more visually attractive,colours and blend of light…… beautiful pookie

  13. kïrstin says:

    they remind me of an image i had of someplace described in a book i read once. they also leave me a little melancholy. as for favorites, i have to go with the crow on the previous post … ;)kïrstin☼

  14. Life's Like A Beach says:

    Re: The first, Point Possession in Landscape. It is my favorite of the series. Enjoyed each one\’s vibrant colors. These are great shots Steve. This past weekend in Florida was overcast with clouds so I missed the beautiful sky. Thanks for sharing. Have a Safe & Great Week…Peace, footprints

  15. Rhonda says:

    Wow Steve, this is a tough choice. I love them all but have to say the 2nd one is my favorite…I like the cooler tones.Hugs

  16. catamaran says:

    I choose the former,the spatial landscape reflects the sun in the water and colors!

  17. Suki x says:

    All beautiful Steve cannot choose between them but I would like to see the whole of the picture on my screen, I know that the smaller size would loose impact so best as the are all very beautifulMerry Christmas to you and yours and a Happy New YearLove suki x

  18. Bonnie-Land says:

    I have to choose the first one, if i invert it i see a majestic looking exclamation mark, stretching off into infinity.Merry Christmas my friend, Hugs always.

  19. Lyn says:

    I like them all, but I think I like the 3rd one, if I have to choose. Love the rams tho. They are beautiful in the snow. Still not used to this new spaces setting and havent been around to get used to it……..Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. We are even getting our share of snow now………quite alot for us. Love Lyn

  20. elizabeth says:

    middle one steve cos of the colour of the foreground water. i would have made that a seperate pic, pool and rocks, lovely.xmas hugs from bb. xxx

Leave a Reply

