Let It Be

Saturday December 13 a bunch of us photographers went south about 60 miles to a place called Portage.
hoping to catch the full moon and it’s light.
 
Here is one of my early shots of the Big Dipper, as it arcs under Polaris, the North Star,
and with the moon shining on the top of a Chugach Mountain ridge.
This is a 5 minute exposure.

IMGP9913 a

So a while later into the night the moon suddenly appeared above a mountain to the south.

We all scrambled to our tripod setups to catch it.

I went to click the first moon photo, and only after I close the shutter I realized I had it on time exposure settings.

I fumbled with my camera frantically to try to stop it, but to no avail.

When I went to post my photos the next day, I went ahead and posted this next one,

calling it a blooper and explaining what I had done.

A comment came back almost immediately from another photographer who was there,

saying in this photo he saw the Virgin Mary.

I looked and sure enough I saw Mary too, then another comment and another and another, same thing.

And she seems to be holding something very close too, something precious, do you see?

So here is my random mistake or whatever it happens to be,

and with that I will just let it be.

IMGP9924 Moon Blooper

Merry Christmas to all from up here Alaska!

  http://www.seeqpod.com/cache/seeqpodSlimlineEmbed.swf

And the link: http://www.seeqpod.com/search/?plid=512492da01

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Let It Be

  1. Beth says:

    A Christmas miracle. Merry Christmas steve!

  2. Sarah says:

    Very, Very wonderful. Every angle in the picture adds to the theme. Amazing. Very precious indeed.

  3. Sue says:

    I think you have been Bless this Christmas Steve,Merry ChristmasTake care Sue

  4. Pat says:

    Hmmmm..Merry Christmas!

  5. Rhonda says:

    Oh how wonderful Steve…it is a sign of the season for sure and your mistake was an intentional message for you to send to all of us…what a miracle this is!

  6. Rhapsody says:

    Blessings and many happy returns on the greetings. May the following New Year bring you much joy and peace. Take care and stay blessed.Recent Blog Enteries1. Biting winter, Grocery & Public Transit (http://rappingonamelody.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!10E7CAB72959D790!3901.entry)2. Double Double, Bundle Bundle (http://rappingonamelody.blogspot.com/2008/12/double-double-bundle-bundle.html)

  7. Babblelot says:

    Incredible pictures as always Steve. You sure do get to see more than the rest of us up there. By the looks of your last picture I think you are located closer to God\’s country also. Have a wonderful Christmas!

  8. Lyn says:

    Whatever we see in it, it is an awesome picture…….if its a blooper, its pretty damn good. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year up there. Love Lyn

  9. Here I Am says:

    Yes some things in Life you need to just Let It Be……….Amazing….Warm thoughts and Wishes for you and your familyCarrie

  10. jude says:

    you too…best wishes from montreal……

  11. puzzle says:

    beautiful pieces of nature and imagination – isn\’t it love?

  12. Sheila says:

    Thanks for sharing the great photos. I really like the one of the Dipper. In the second one, I bypassed looking at the actual movement of the moon caught by the time lapse and instead marveled at the ghost image of the moon above that … at least that\’s what I see. It looks like a double image of the moon at the top of the picture.

  13. -c says:

    Even your bloopers are amazing . . .Wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas and a New Year full of God\’s Blessings!-cindy

  14. Ellen says:

    Oh yes, Steve, I see her! I see the Virgin Mary! I even saw her before I read your blog! You are an amazing photographer! (The penicillin was discovered by accident, too – you know that, don\’t you..?) By the way – the other photo is great the way it\’s supposed to ;-)Thank you for visiting my space and commenting Thiago\’s painting! I am sure he will be thrilled with so much positive response on his last painting! I wish you a happy new year with Joy, Peace and Love!Big hug from Ellen

  15. Darryl says:

    I am just going to say what ever one else has already said, but nonetheless its is still true – that was amazing ! Thanks for sharing

Leave a Reply

