One Step up Two Steps Back

That’s what training seems like at times, like trying to climb up a steep sand dune, or a loose mountain scree slope. Exhausting and discouraging.

That’s how my week started out with skiing and then running, which turned into walking.  It helps to have experience with such backslides, and I have plenty of that. I think it helps to keep a log too, it helps to realize that this is only a couple data points in a much bigger picture. So I made some adjustments and kept on plodding along…

Spring? All my space friends are using the term spring.Does this look like spring to you?

IMGP2610 a High And Low Light

No me either, pretty for sure but not spring,

though there are some beginnings of that too.

Like grizzly bear tracks right on our ski trails, oh geeze just what I need!

I am making a mental list of things I do and don’t want to cope with when I retire,

grizzes may be one of those on the don’t side, at least right where I live and play.

So I had 2 goals, and modest ones I thought, for the week, ski 40K overall and do a 10K. Well it was clear I wouldn’t make the first one, although if I add in my run/walks and give me 1K for the snow I scooped I was pretty close.

So I got up yesterday, not having met either goal, and having come maybe half way back from feeling all discouraged, and saw this right from my driveway.

 IMGP2626 a Line up

Two of my flickr friends suggested these were stepping stones for angels, or the stairway to heaven,

I like both of those notions!

So naturally I had to get out and do my 10K ski.

It was kinda hard in the last few kilometers, but not too bad, and I got er done.

Last night I took a photo spin out the road, and was treated to a Halo display that was very nice,

this is a two frame panorama, looking across Turnagain Arm toward the Kenai Mountains.

Pan 38-39 875 Halo

I won’t list settings here, suffice it to say I take a lot of shots at different setting to try to get these.

With a subject this bright I use dark glasses to look through the viewfinder and never look directly at the sun! The original photo will print about 5 times larger than what you see here, maybe more.

Of course I went out today and did 5K more on my skis, just to get this week off to a better start.

I hope everyone has a great week,

Bear Hugs to all!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to One Step up Two Steps Back

  1. Duckie says:

    You possess such a gift. Your site always takes my breathe away. Don\’t be so difficult with your self. Almost time to retire without the grizzlies.

  2. Dianne says:

    Love the photos Steve. Have a great week. 🙂 Dianne

  3. Kimmy says:

    Steve you may not have the same Spring we do but by golly you have some of the most spectacular scenery on the planet. Gorgeous I tell ya!Track me a bear now 🙂

  4. Horst says:

    Great shots Steve.

  5. Jim says:

    Spring has arrived here. Sorry. But I must say, it does look more bright and/or clear up there. The Halo shot is another amazing one. you have such wonderful subject matter right close by all the time. As for the running. There are good days and bad days. But keeping the right perspective, they all are good if not for any other reason than you being out there trying.

  6. Ellen says:

    I hear ya with the slide. I have embraced it in my life and figure if I keep steady, it\’s more of a dance! 😉 …I\’m still not cleared to run outside by my PT until there\’s no ice… thought that day had finally arrived the end of the week but it started snowing Friday and has been coming down since. 😛 Oh well. Treadmill it is. Slow and steady. 😉 (((((((((XXL HUGS))))))))

  7. Sue says:

    Beautiful pic steve, love the stepping stones for angels,Take careSue

  8. jude says:

    wow…keep em coming….hugs from montreal

  9. Pat says:

    Wow – those last two photos could have hardened atheists having a few thoughts – isn\’t physics great!Good luck with all that activity. I had a bonus round of golf on Sunday, with my brother – and I actually had another PB, albeit course specific (his home course, not mine). Glad you got the spelling right on your salutation! lol

  10. kïrstin says:

    very nice halo, although these kinds of natural phenomenon spook me just a bit when i actually see them. i cant say why for sure …ill take your spring to ours, bears and all. less pollen i imagine … *sniff*kïrstin☼

  11. Patsy says:

    I like the idea of stepping stones too, great shots and good luck with meeting your goals. Have a great week. pat

  12. Rambling says:

    The stepping stones! I was put in my vehicle a few days ago on my way to several things that would encompass all day. hence I did not want the camera in the car all those hours. (theft and temps) so I didn\’t have it. Of course, since I had no camera, I came upon cloud formations that were gorgrous. Stepping stones like those AND the clouds\’ "skid marks," I would have called them in a description if I could have captured it. Wisps of clouds that trailed the stepping stones and curled upward..each one, What an awesome sight. And me with no camera.Of course all of these you have presented us..capturing the halo is awesome in itself.. are fabulous!

  13. judy says:

    It has been awhile since I dropped bye, Your photo\’s are great as always. It\’s warm here Spring has begun in Tennessee. BEAR HUGS TO YOU TOO!!!

  14. PEP says:

    How\’s that for a little encouragement and the reward was not bad either.

  15. Lori BJ says:

    Absolutely wonderfully breath taking. You have a phtographers gift – a natural talent. You subject being a God given back drop is so precious. Thank you for sharing these things from your heart. We love what you share.

  16. Terry says:

    Wow, just absolutely awesome. Wish I had your talent.

  17. JoAnn says:

    The good Lord puts some magnificnet photo ops amid your day.

  18. Suki x says:

    This all looks so beautiful, You wil not be shot of things to do when you retire Steve believe me!!Suki xPS yes the hedgehog was \’sweet\’! yum yum!

  19. KatSoup says:

    I am exhausted ! Is this cross country I asume. WOWMy son is a tri-athlete. He has a 1/2 iron man in Sept. He swims about 1 mi. then bikes 50+ mil then he runs 12 miles. I am going to be his support team. Thats about all I am good for. :^)

  20. Rhonda says:

    Wow, I\’m tired thinking about that ski run…glad you did all the work…LOL! The photos are phenonomal and no it does not look like Spring to me…nor here either. Stepping stones for angels…love that and I\’m jealous of your halo moon!!!!! Watch out for them thar bears!!!!!!

  21. kevin says:

    Spring? I thought it was Autumn! Nice shots as usual Steve. I like the first one most, nice light, composition, lines, colour relationships, it all works.

  22. Jill says:

    nice blog entry, beautiful top photo!

  23. Cat says:

    reminds me of a spring in Northern MI – the snow drifts were up to the eaves of the garage –

Leave a Reply

