Got Snow?

I have lived in of near snow country most my life so I always expect March to be a snowy month.
So far I have not been disappointed, yesterday we got 5 inches at the house so I spent the morning clearing that.
In the afternoon I took a drive south, and it had snowed 2 feet and was still snowing when I took this photo.
I should say my camera took the photo, I just set it on a tripod and used interval mode to shoot a pic every few seconds, then I scrambled up the snow bank in front of the Chugach Forest sign by a turnout.

IMGP2780 a Got Snow?

With all this snow we might just be skiing well into April !

That’s good for me, I just did a personal best 5k ski in 21 minutes flat,

not the fastest pace ever for me but the best 5k on a course with hills.

So that’s my weekend news.

Today’s news of course is the ongoing eruption of Mount Redoubt, about 100 miles southwest of here.

So far the clouds are obscuring the mountain, I will be watching the weather and going for photos if the opportunity arises.

The ashfall is missing Anchorage (and our ski trails!) so far,

I’ll report back on Redoubt when I have more news.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Got Snow?

  1. Lewis says:

    Steve, can\’t wait to see some shots of the volcano! Congrats on your 5K time, unless i get my kness rebuilt I would have a hard time making .5K!

  2. Horst says:

    Hi Steve, we also had a snow storm here yesterday. Calgary got a foot of snow and Edmonton got about 6 inches. Thank goodness we didn\’t get anymore.

  3. john says:

    Darn Alaskans get all of the snow. Share a little bit…..pack up in reefer and send this way. Drying up and dust blowing…..maybe ashes. Enjoy the snow.

  4. Vieille Ourse says:

    You look like a kid playing in the snow ! LOL ! Great fun, hé !Looking forward to any pics you have on that volcano !Hugs,Katia

  5. Patsy says:

    Congrats on the 5K. you\’re getting there!! The snow is great, I\’ve been watching the news about the volcano and was wondering how close it was to you. I\’m not rubbing it in our weekend was in the 60\’s sorry, if I could send some your way I would. Hope the ashfall stays away. Take care and have a good week.

  6. Rambling says:

    I am truly impressed with your 5k. That is super! I can appreciate every bit that went into that too. As for Mt. redoubt, that is something I have been paying close attention to since this morning when I learned it had indeed erupted and to have learned about the earthquakes..it makes me very concerned.

  7. Suki x says:

    Gret images of you and the snow Steve congrats on the 5K ski. Your eruption of Mount redoubt hit our news headlines today, enjou your week Love Suki x

  8. Sue says:

    Look like you where having a great time SteveTake careSue

  9. Rhapsody says:

    wow……….i don\’t know about skiiing, i am just not that adventurous. Looks like fun though and you seem to be enjoying yourself. Enjoy the rest of your week.

  10. Babblelot says:

    You look like a happy kid on the snow pile Steve.Congrats on the 5k!! I was wondering how far thevolcano was from you. Have fun and be safe!

  11. Sanjana says:

    HI steve……………….5k ………..i tried the skis once………………….lol we had gone for an adventure camp…………..LOL i needed two people to put them on…………..lol………………and i just coudlnt keep my body weight right……………………………..i move a couple of inches……….yes just to slip and fall where i was standing…………………LOL>……………………… you must be really fit …………………………

  12. Karolyn says:

    Great for you! That\’s good you are living in a place you feel good end enjoy the outdour activities.Greetings from Bogota,Karo

  13. R U Serious says:

    HAHAHA!!! Great comment! I\’ve been reading about that volcano and am glad the ash is noy affecting you. Looking for to your photos. I\’ll be back soon. Take care Steve

  14. I says:

    You look so happy. I wouldnt even know that it must be 100 degrees below zero out there by the look on your face. xo T~

  15. Greg says:

    Steve…It is a good thing you love snow. You Alaskans are a hearty bunch for sure…Safe travels…Greghttp://blogquest.spaces.live.com

Leave a Reply

