Eagle Hunter

I see bald eagles everyday, usually several times a day.
I usually don’t try to photograph them unless I can get close to the food source, like when they fish,
or are feeding (scavenging) on a kill.
I have been observing a pair of eagles south of town for several years, so I have an idea of their habits and territory.
Last week I was out looking for Dall Sheep and saw this one looking right at me from a tree high on the hill.
It gave me enough time to ready my big lens and find good settings, then it flew up above the cliffs in hunting behavior.
I spent some time on this series, seeing fleeting glimpses as it circled in and out of sight above the bluff.
Here is that series
 
Looking

IMGP2703 a Looking

Searching

IMGP2707 a Searching

Hunting the Highlands

IMGP2713 a Hunting the Highlands

These were all taken with my Pentax K20D (15megapixels) 500mm, F11, 1/750 sec., ISO1600,

no tripod, I was bracing against the truck as best I could.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Eagle Hunter

  1. catamaran says:

    Beautiful pictures!

  2. Pat says:

    I never see eagles of any type – so thanks for sharing these.

  3. Sarah says:

    nice work, Steve. The one of the eagle over the rocks is really fine–the soft glide over the sharp rocks…….lovely.

  4. john says:

    Great shots. Only got a couple of them out here and the golden variety. To watch the big birds is a trip in itself.

  5. PEP says:

    Well you did a great job Steve your balance must be very good. I guess it\’s all that skiing you did in High School when you should have been in class 🙂

  6. Babblelot says:

    The time you spent was well worth it my friend.These pictures are awesome.

  7. Kimmy says:

    A mighty eagle in search of dinner. Nice shots Steve. Have a wonderful week ahead!

  8. -c says:

    Nice work! There\’s nothing as majestic than Eagle\’s wings spread full as they soar back and forth watching, waiting!I miss seeing these sights in the majestic Rockies just as you miss our midwestern thunderstorms. They become a part of who you are. -cindy

  9. KatSoup says:

    I know he\’d be a poorer man if he never saw an eagle fly ~ John Denver. I am excited to see your computer surroundings. Are you going to play? huh? huh?

  10. Rambling says:

    OH Dang! Be still my heart!!!!! You know how I feel about these guys from my other comments. They are just glorious looking. SO glad you were able to capture them in a manner of speaking. Come on, let\’s see those computer surroundings. I am going to re-post mine.

  11. Terry says:

    All I can say is WOW! They are so beautiful. Great pictures.

  12. Sherry says:

    So Majestic and beautiful. You\’re one lucky guy Steve!

  13. Cindy says:

    Great eagle shots Steve. Lots of them have returned to N. Wisconsin. From our cabin we saw 2 in the same tree. We\’re hoping they\’ll decide to nest in one of the big pines out there. Fingers crossed! So are you going to show us your Computer Surroundings? We know you have a camera and everything. hee hee

  14. Touch says:

    Magnificent creatures aren\’t they?

  15. Cat says:

    amazing how large birds perch on the very insubstantial tops of trees – we have a row of cypress pines and huge crows perch there w/ just a bit of swaying – of course the pair of 2 foot long macaws I think they were were the most spectacular sight I\’ve seen on those pines – they sounded like drunken crows and that\’s how I met my now late neighbor Lou!

Leave a Reply

