My Ride

Custom assembled for me in 1982 in Anchorage.
The frame is a Specialized Allez, I had it powder coated blue (the stock models were all red with decals) in 1997. 
Components are Camagnolo Super Record and Shimano Dura Ace, custom wheels and 115psi tires.
Had a Race Face crank refitted this year to accomodate clipless pedals, and a new seat.
Monday was 25 miles along the Seward Highway Potter to Indian Creek and return.
After the turn around point it was like hitting a wall of resistance with the headwind (I hate headwinds LOL).
Anyway I made it in 1 hr. 34 min for an overall pace of 16mph.
Yay I thought, as I had a rest day coming up!

IMGP3249 a My Ride

Me on my ride during last Saturday’s 10 mile time trial, taken by a local photographer.

Moose Run Time Trial

This is back to Monday, before the ride I did, spotted Mount Redoubt spewing vapor and ash,

so naturally I went to a vantage point and photod up.

This is my best shot so far of the eruption, it was unusually clear.

IMGP3248 a Afternoon Delight

Considering that the volcano’s top is over 10,000 feet the steam and ash here is well over 20,000 feet.

Work is good, lots to do and good people to work with.

Hope all my space friends are doing well,

I haven’t been getting around much and I miss that and you all,

we’ll just have to catch up sometime! Take Care and stay active!!

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to My Ride

  1. Lewis says:

    Steve, you iron man you, what a sweet ride! Thanks for the great shot of the eruption, keep em coming. Take care. Lewis

  2. Babblelot says:

    That is one fancy cycle you have there. You look good on it. I was just saying tonight the news is notmentioning the volcano. Thanks for the update and picture!!

  3. R U Serious says:

    Gotta say Steve, Great pictures and LOVE your ride!! NICE!! I was hoping you would post!! Sounds like you did really well on your time trial!! Great pic of you and the volcano!! Take care Buddy,Bob~

  4. Rambling says:

    I love the blog, the ride and the photos. And the comment by Lewis Cooper there below. Like Toodie, I second how good you look on that cycle. 🙂

  5. JoAnn says:

    What a great ride! Love the photos. Don\’t work too hard.

  6. Terry says:

    Nice sweet ride there. Picture of the volcano is wonderful. Like the one of you too.

  7. Sherry says:

    You look good on that Bike Steve. I didn\’t realize the volcano was still erupting. I wonder how long that will go on.

  8. Charlotte M Simonsen says:

    Sounds like a great ride. Thanks for sharing the pictures of the volcano… It is always a pleasure to come here and see what new pictures you have posted. have a good weekend. hugs, lottemae

  9. kevin says:

    Glad you got the Redoubt shot Steve, should be interesting to see how it progresses. I\’m a bit worried about the fast downhill bike shot though, checklist; wheels, check, tires, check, cranks, check, pedals, check, seat, check………no mention of brakes!!!!

  10. Cindy says:

    Love your ride Steve. I figured you\’d show us either your boots, bike or xc skies. I guess you have lots of forms of transp. Have a great weekend.

  11. catamaran says:

    I love the volcano photo!

  12. PEP says:

    You are like the energizer bunny you just keep going and going. Stay well my friend.

  13. Joseph says:

    Very cool image. I agree with Kevin, make sure your bike is in superb condition. Looks like you are flying.

  14. Rhapsody says:

    Wow…..i see your speed on the bike and i feel swept away plus your ending gives me the impression am going down hell! lol, lol, quite and imagination huh :-). Love the pics as usual hope you are well and life is indeed treating you fine. Latest Entry at http://rappingonamelody.blogspot.com/ hope to see your footprints there via your comments peace…..

  15. Fizz says:

    You\’re lookin\’ good. Glad you got in a ride. Before I got sick with all this crap, I liked to ride, too. After I started having problems, I traded my high performance, front and back shock bike for a piano. I still intend on learning to play! Glad your bike is gettin\’ some good use.

  16. T says:

    Wow, good to see you active Steve. I am thinking every day … I\’ll start tomorrow … but this day didn\’t come till now. You gave me motivation now. Thanks. :-)Hug,T

  17. Pat says:

    Active? Well my fingers are moving!I would get out to golf but now that I have a bit of time the weather has turned bad… Great photo of the volcano.Glad you are getting some balance between work and leisure and activity.

  18. Rhonda says:

    How can I not stay active chasing a tw year old that puts the Energizer Bunny to shame…LOL!Great shot of the volcano…kinda scary though…hope it doesn\’t go crazy.Stay safe!Hugs

  19. Arctic says:

    So cool Steven, 16mph, that was a very good speed it taking account that long time.volcano eruption shot is a bonus, not so many ppl have chances in life time, either do i.take care my friend!

  20. Here I Am says:

    Well you certainly are staying active and so is your volcano. Hope you never have to photo it actually erupting. Stay fit

Leave a Reply

