New Arrivals in Alaska….Summer!

First of all, last weekend, I did the 5K Heart Run, and didn’t fall down or require emergency medical help LOL

IMGP3277 Heart Run

Patted myself on the back and grateful I can even do it.

Now the first arrivals…drum roll please……………..

The Alaska State Bird (ummmm not really but sort of)

The first hatch of the mosquito are large and slow, like this one,

whom I caught quite nicely even with camera in hand.

Later hatches will produce smaller, faster, more numerous by a hundred fold,

 no make that a thousand, hell million fold,

and much more voracious little parasitic blood suckers

(all females they are here apparently put here to reproduce and feed the food chain,

of which I sometimes I wish I wasn’t such a part of).

IMGP3268 a First Kill

It’s worth giving a little blood though, to get out and see some water actually flowing!

 

IMGP3347 a Waterfall Revisited

The Mew Gulls were the first arrivals at Potter Marsh just south of here.

Gulls, like many of us, have a sordid reputation, for whatever reason.

I find these birds pretty, magnificent in flight, and successful in their environment,

 all good things I think.

This one I call True Love…

IMGP3310 ac True Love

I am getting around as I can, not leaving many comments, but know I am checking up on you K?

This is a good tune, True Love, by a little lady with a very big voice.

True Love

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to New Arrivals in Alaska….Summer!

  1. Sue says:

    Ok the mosquito you can keep, they all your\’s none of us want them lolYour pic of the water full is just beautiful,I love the gulls tooTake care Sue

  2. Rhonda says:

    Love the photo of the two gulls; veryu touching and how you captured every ripple in the water…amazing. The other day it warmed up and I was outside with Emma and within an hour I had about 20 mosquito bites…hate those things!!!!! Beautiful water flowing…very inviting.Hugs

  3. m60a3 says:

    Steve that waterfall is something special, "stones as if diamonds, sparkle in springs morning sun" and the two gulls they remind me of my neighbors "its your turn to go get lunch" great shot and thanks for sharing….PeaceMark

  4. PEP says:

    Thanks for the lovely pictures Steve. I enjoy flowing water myself.

  5. JoAnn says:

    Congrats on making the 5K Heart Run without incident! Great pics. I hate mosquitos! The gulls are really doing some major chit-chat! Enjoy your spring!

  6. catamaran says:

    Love the story and photos.

  7. Rambling says:

    The back story to the pictures…priceless. The pictures…worth waiting for and congratulations on the 5K. Like how you understated that wonderful achievement. Made me smile.

  8. jude says:

    hey steve thanks for grooveshark!!!! pics are quite lovely…hugs from montreal….

  9. Terry says:

    Congrats on the 5K run. I\’d have trouble walking it. Love the pictures but you can keep the mosquito\’s. We have enough of our own.

  10. Sherry says:

    Congratulations on making it all the way. Pictures are great

  11. Jill says:

    wow! a 5K that\’s awesomeness!!!!

  12. Sheila says:

    I love the picture of the waterfall. Congratulations on completing the run.

  13. Pat says:

    I never knew that about mosquitoes…Well done on the 5K. Great photos as always!

  14. CC says:

    I\’m with Patrick. Mosqitoes and Alaska doesn\’t go together in my head!

  15. Cindy says:

    When it comes to mosquitoes, big and slow are good as long as you\’re not swarmed by them. I hate the little quick suckers. Well actually, I hate all of them. Congrats on the run.

  16. Duckie says:

    Bravo toyou on your 5K!!!!!!!!Need some bug spray?

  17. Here I Am says:

    I see you smacked that little state bird already. He was lying unside down. Amazing how beautiful those gulls really are. Yes way up there rushing water truly means the snow is going.

  18. Babblelot says:

    Congrats on the run. I jist knew you could do it with out paddles (the shock kind). Wonderful pictures and they are now snow or ice! beautiful! great tune by the way by Pat Benatar on Groove shark

Leave a Reply

