Return of the Mirage

The Edge of the Earth?…………
A Mirage dissects the end of Fire Island using prisms and lenses of differing temperature layers.
Just imagine what the early explorers may have thought when they saw such things from their wooden ships…
I know I am amazed every single time I see these mirages

IMGP3505 a Edge of the Earth

A 3 frame panorama of a Superior Mirage, Fata Morgana, the shape shifter, of Camelot legend.

She took a smooth topped typical plateau island and just scrambled the top and end a bit.

This was a typical fleeting display, I feel fortunate to have seen it let alone capture a slice of it. 

May 4 09 Optical Tricks of The Shape Shifter

PS; it seems almost like cheating to be out there enjoying such a spectacle and not freezing my ass off!

                         There is magic out there!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Return of the Mirage

  1. Babblelot says:

    How wonderful Steve! I\’ve never seen anything like this. Thankyou for showing methis magic with your talent!

  2. john says:

    the mirages, stories of myths and legends. To capture one puts you on a mythical level.

  3. puzzle says:

    No wonder that sailors in ancient times came into troubles … beautiful to me: the second picture, which looks like an island with woods and single trees.

  4. PEP says:

    Thanks for letting us share the magic. Glad you are able to find these magical moments and share them with us.

  5. catamaran says:

    Beautiful…thanks for sharing!

  6. Sheila says:

    Awesome!

  7. Sue says:

    Thank you for sharing the Magic of your photos with usThey are beautifulTake careSue

  8. Rhonda says:

    It truly is magical…you are so fortunate to be able to capture the magic of our planet!

  9. Kenneth says:

    “Life is a mirage; It comes from no visible rain; It falls into no recognizable sea.”Great photos Steve.

  10. Rambling says:

    I loved this..you know how I am about mirages. Thanks to you, as I have said before, I have finally seen one albeit via your photographs. Thank goodness for your expertise.

  11. Rambling says:

    P.S. I like what John Bord said there…your second commenter I believe.

  12. Here I Am says:

    Wow I have never seen anything like this..

Leave a Reply

