Wildflower

I was out on my road bike…

I thought I would do 20 miles on the highway, 10 out, 10 back.

The first few went ok, then I got to where the headwind was more,

I don’t like headwinds much, but I try to persevere,

While I was being buffeted and held back (average speed less than 15mph) by the head wind I thought of a photo I recently took of a little waterfall. In my mind I renamed it Mommy Tears, Mommy being mother earth.

Funny what one thinks of when toiling away…

After 3-4 miles I thought maybe I’ll just do a 10 mile ride, this is pretty tough…

IMGP3781 a Little Streams

Well I hung in there, one mile at a time, knowing I would hurt some, and knowing the downwind run would be fast,

and it was, 22mph+ is a good ride on a bike, and this was the meditative part,

no thought of song or emotion, just spinning and speed, pain be damned, the part I like.

Later I went out in the truck, hoping to get any photo, it has been a couple days, and I love the wildflowers here in the north. Then today I went out in the morning’s sweet light. The bloom is on in the rocky places from sea level to the high alpine, the well drained and warm places, right after the Mommy Tears of the past few week’s.

Here are a couple of my favorites:

Beautiful Jacob’s Ladder, little blooms to 1 inch

 IMGP3937 ac Beautiful Jacob's Ladder

And smaller yet at only 1/4 inch, Kinnikinnick a member of the Heath Family
They are like tiny little bells that ring out to me in a big way everytime I see them!

IMGP3943 a Kinnikinnick

The tune I thought of on my ride was Wildflower, I bet you’ve heard it.

>>>>>WILDFLOWER

Sometimes things just connect…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Wildflower

  1. Rambling says:

    OH my gosh! Holy Cow. Talk about knock \’em dead gorgeous!!! Each photo is! The tears, theKinnikinnick and the Jacob\’s Ladder. I am just bowled over. What you went thru to see them the first time on the bike ain\’t bad neither. WHEW! 🙂

  2. Duckie says:

    I have never seen Jacob\’s Ladder nor a Kinnikinnick. How lovely.Eileen

  3. john says:

    knick knick was Indian tobacco out west for peace pipe or …Thje spring flowers are great.

  4. Sue says:

    I love the waterfall and you gave it the right name, as it falls softly like tearsThe wild flowers are so different to what we have here, so small but yet so beautifulTake careSue

  5. Jill says:

    i love spring in Alaska….via your camera…thanks!

  6. Lewis says:

    Beautiful shots Steve. Thanks

  7. J says:

    Hi Steve,You have a talent for weaving your beautiful photography into interesting posts. Good work Steve.j

  8. Rhonda says:

    I just love this post and the flowers are unique and beautiful. And the waterfall…the name you gave it is perfect.Thanks so much for all you bring to us!Hugs

  9. Dianne says:

    Steve, I love how you match your wonderful images to a song. My favorite is the second photo, although they are all so beautiful. The morning light shines perfectly on each one. I went biking on the waterfront trail on Sunday and it felt so good to be biking again. The sights and sounds of Nature were music to my ears. It was a leizurely ride, not like yours at all.You did good and persevered. Way to go my friend.Your friend from Ontario, Canada.Dianne 🙂

  10. Tracey says:

    Love the Kinnickinnick. The vibrant, healthy green with the delicate white and pink bells are quite the sight! So glad to see you\’re having spring.

  11. Here I Am says:

    Yes the wildflowers are starting to show their faces. Beautiful

  12. Cindy says:

    Cool picture of the waterfalls. It looks like the rocks have sprung leaks. Those Kinnikinnick blossoms look something like blueberries. Both dainty little flowers.

  13. Terry says:

    Your capture of the flowers is so nice, they are so pretty. The waterfall is an awesome picture. Perfect name too.

  14. Sherry says:

    You named the waterfall perfectly Steve. The photo\’s a beautiful.

  15. Fizz says:

    Love the flowers, amazing photos!

  16. catamaran says:

    Excellent Steve, I love wildflowers.

  17. PEP says:

    I love the picture of the water fall and you are right it does look like tears.

  18. Life's Like A Beach says:

    This is beautiful…sorry to missed when it was first posted…thanks so much for sharing. May Peace & Blessings be with you Steve and your family…your friend, footprints

Leave a Reply

