Wish You

This July was hot by Alaska norms (if there is such a thing as a norm up here),
and fires were widespread to say the least.
A million acres burnt up they say, more than the size of Rhode Island, a little state,
but just think of 1,500 square miles up in flames eh?
Well on the positive side, and there is much really, this is nature’s way of cleansing the forest and bush lands, and the most efficient means of putting the living nutrients straight into mother earth. The downside of for me is the smoke, pretty in someways and not so pretty in others. The haze I don’t mind, there is always something to take a photo of that loves subdued light. When it get intense enough that I can smell it and feel my throat dry, that is not very fun,
and it puts a crimp in my outdoor athletic endeavors.
Even so, when the light commands I am compelled to respond, as in this shot,
Smokey Mountains in Alaska

IMGP4620 Smokey Mountains in Alaska

On a recent business trip up to Trapper Creek, ‘up country’ as we say, about 100 miles,

I caught a peaceful moment or two, after a few mile run and with a very pleasant thunderstorm,

followed by a cooling rain,

It reminded my of the song to follow and the part about the cooling water after the fever’s end…

IMGP4647 a Summer Rain

I wish you peace

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wish You

  1. Sue says:

    Wonderful music goes so well with the bloglove the pic\’s, but the last so beautiful and like the song so peacefulTake careSue

  2. Beth says:

    Great pictures!

  3. Rambling says:

    I see we don\’t have the patent we thought we had for the Great Smoky Mountains! 😉

  4. Terry says:

    Wonderful pictures.

  5. I says:

    Whoa, that is alot of smoke, my friend. Somehow I never imagined that Alaska would have thunderstorms at any time. I guess cause I thought the weather there wouldnt be the kind of weather to generate a thunderstorm. I hope the smoke clears soon!xo

  6. Life's Like A Beach says:

    There is a calmness to these majestic mountains in their subdued lighting, cool tone colors. The greenery of the open landscape, wild fuscia flowers, calm of the brook draws me like an invitation to come sit for awhile. Found this to be beautiful & heartwarming with the music, Steve. I wish you peace…footprints

  7. Horst says:

    Oh Steve we had many a forest fire around Edmonton. One year it was so bad here, that for a month it was very hard to breath. We had trouble seeing the downtown buildings from a kilometer away, that\’s how bad the smoke was.

  8. Touch says:

    That shot looks like our mountains in normal summer haze. We get fires here as well but none so far this year. I have COPD so even a little smoke means I\’m stucjk inside with the A/C on and the air exchanger shut off.

  9. Babblelot says:

    I was wondering about the warm weather up there. That\’s allot of smoke hanging around. I wonder if Russia can see it?Bad joke. Beautiful photos Steve. It clearly shows what\’s happening. Take care.

  10. Rhapsody says:

    ooohhhhhhhhhhh……….those fires can be fierce. How everyone is safe. love the pic with the swing, looks inviting. Glad you are doing well. This year summer in Toronto (don\’t want to talk to fast) has been good, according to me, cause everybody else seems to be grumbling. What can I say, i don\’t love the sweltering heat that sucks all the air and you can taste the asphalt. Rain and cool breeze are my thing, so am loving it……Have a blessed one my friend and enjoy whats left of the week.

  11. Fizz says:

    Wonderful… I love all these photo\’s

  12. Jana says:

    what a lovely picture with the bench and the smoky mountains

  13. Polly says:

    I love the contrast of the very civilised seat that I would love to sit on to view your wilderness. How green is your valley! Is there any more that one could want. I wish you peace and happiness.

  14. Here I Am says:

    We often have many fires burning around our area. Some summers the haze lingers for long periods. Yes I don\’t mind when there are fires as they do clean the area out. We have been lucky last few lightening storms brought heavy rain also. I love the feeling outside after these rains everything feels so refreshed.

Leave a Reply

