By Any Other Name…The Rose

As the wildflowers pass by here so does the summer.
More have come and gone now than those that yet hang on
With each passing flower, like the visiting migrations and seasons comes many emotion.
Here are a few of my favorites from the Rose Family here in Alaska
 
The Juneberry, an early petite little flower, always brings a pretty promise
 

IMGP3939 a Serviceberry, Juneberry (Amelanchier florida)

The Nagoonberry has an odd name, and hides shyly among the grasses of the subalpine.

You must look closely as you walk to find this little beauty, the emotion of discovery

IMGP4321 a Nagoonberry

Uncommon beauty is what the Marsh Fivefinger says to me…

IMGP4447 a Marsh Fivefinger

Of course no summer season is complete without the wild Prickly Rose,

enjoy the beauty and the scent but be carefull of the touch…

IMGP4309 a Prickly Rose

A special song I once heard at some friend’s wedding a very long time ago,

since then I listen to it round about this time of year,

and always with much emotion, hope you enjoy…The Rose

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to By Any Other Name…The Rose

  1. Pat says:

    Bette Middler does that so very well – thanks. And great photos too.I have an Alaskan connection with Bette. I was on a research vessel in the Gulf of Alaska (yes, the voyage you read about on my deleted blog) and I selected a video for a group of us to watch (from the available selection of some 300!) – "The wind beneath your wings" which had Bette in a major supporting role (and of course her music) – it was an excellent but "gut wrenching" movie. Anyway, the Rose brought back some memories – thanks again.

  2. Sue says:

    Your Pictures are beautiful,your wildflowers are so different from anything we have here thank you for showing them to ustake careSue

  3. Life's Like A Beach says:

    Beautiful wonders, unique in their own ways. Touching song, has always been to me to this very moment. Thank so much for sharing these cherished gift of yours. May Peace & Blessings be with you Steve. Your friend from the "Sunshine State"~Florida, "footprints"

  4. Rambling says:

    I think no one has done or will do a better rendering of the Rose than she, Bette. It always evokes memories for me.I saw the thorns on the Prickly Rose. That is one I would leave for enjoyment right where it is. That may be why it is so completely full of thornes..so as to help it propogate. Not as desirable a garden plant this way. The Marsh Fivefinger brought a strong thought to mind… which I will keep to myself, when I saw it. I think it is beautiful. The most beautiful of the flowers you have shown us today.

  5. Fizz says:

    Love the flowers. Glad I have the sound down… this song always makes me bawl like a baby… it\’s really embarassing! (I\’m at work so we can\’t have that, now can we!)Summer is a flying by, it\’s amazing how life does that… just scoots on by!

  6. Beth says:

    Beautiful flowers.

  7. Terry says:

    The flowers are just wonderful. The song is one of my favorites. My daughter and niece sang it for my parents 50th wedding anniversay and they were so touched by the beautiful words.

  8. Cat says:

    we\’re going to end up w/ a playlist for our starship that plays forever! and very cool we were blogging at the same time – damn I love this song –

  9. Rhonda says:

    Great photos and a great song…have always loved it and the wild rose is a classic treasure.

  10. Touch says:

    Greta photo, Steve.

  11. Polly says:

    I\’ve seen prickly roses in some hedgerows between gardens and fields – a pretty fence.

  12. john says:

    for the time diff I miss lots of your posts. When I do remember I am richly rewarded. The early speing and mid summer I would hike the alpine meadows looking for flowers. Such captiavating images.

  13. Dianne says:

    What a wonderful post Steve. The wildflowers you have captured , especially the wild rose are so beautiful and the song always brings a tear or two to my eyes. It is one of my favorites.Hugs from Ontario!Dianne 🙂

  14. Arctic says:

    hi Steve, being off Arctic and space (more accurately internet ) for some time, so glad to catch up last glory of Alaska summer season by enjoy our diversified Rose family members. they are like ppl with various appearances and complexions which make this world colorful. still some faint green on tundra here, but the summer is almost gone in terms of colors.shake hands:)

  15. Here I Am says:

    Your flowers are stunning. I find that five finger marsh very interesting. The wildrose is always a beauty.

  16. Jana says:

    Marsh Fivefinger is beautiful!!!!! And the song also. I didn\’t know that song and I loved it! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

