Bitter Creek

These little bees (I call them bees to be nice, these are little hornets ) make the most of late summer fare.
I am real careful around these guys as some colonies are aggresive, these were just busy on this day.
I have been attacked before by them, and it is an organized and coordinated attack believe you me.
So if I run accross a nest and I see them starting to come out, I high tail it!
But out in the open, when they are fetching food, they can be quite harmless.
Knowledge in nature is the key to not getting stung too bad I think.
And being stung should not prevent one from being afraid to enjoy life,
giving new understanding of the risks. That’s my philosophy anyway, more or less (grinning a bit)
 
How fitting then I felt at the time (back to the moment), I could photograph these busy little "bees" in peace.
And pehaps fitting also is that they make their meal on this day from the very deadly Poisonous Water Hemlock,
a bitter and lethal bounty to us, but pretty in nature just the same.

IMGP4708 a Beautiful and Bitter Bounty

A tune comes to mind from the Eagles, hope you like, and please tell me (us) how you relate to all this.

Bitter Creek

I’m off on adventure for a few days, see ya and have a good one!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bitter Creek

  1. Sue says:

    Lovely photo, we have these little hornets here,they pack a nice little punch if they get youHope you have a good weekendtake careSue

  2. Jilly says:

    Hi Steve,I will keep this story in my mind when I visit my friend and partner in Alaska at their B&B. Have a safe adventure! Jilly

  3. I says:

    photographing bees is one thing I have not accomplished yet. Have a wonderful adventure. Cant wait to see what kind of photos you bring back to us this time! xo

  4. Touch says:

    Great shot, Steve, and great advice as well!

  5. Fizz says:

    Yikes… I dont\’ like things that sting… but the photo is great!

  6. Kenneth says:

    Never have been afraid of enjoying life, My problem is I have enjoyed it too much. At times ! and endured the stings.

  7. Here I Am says:

    I got one of those hornets up my sundress the other day and had to whip the whole thing off. Thank god I was only in my yard and no one around. He stung me twice. Someday its gonna happen in a public place cause I don\’t hesitate to tear the cloths off when a bee is stinging me. We also have water hemlock. Has killed a few cows that roam our area. To deadly subjects but you made them look so lovely… Hugs Carrie

  8. Polly says:

    I came back to comment – the first time, it didn\’t register that there were two ……….uuuuuurrrrrgggggggggghhh!!!!!!!!!!!!! ok, I\’m not a fan of wasps. I know they\’re God\’s creatures and their stripes, or markings are beautifully neat and precise, they remind me of maths lessons and tigers – beautiful and dangerous – I wouldn\’t go to close.

  9. Rambling says:

    Love the photo. Me and hornets don\’t have a good relationship but I can enjoy looking at them this way. That is different markings than I have seen before. How\’s your volcano doing these days. Still smokin\’?

  10. Pat says:

    A decidedly dangerous photo!Have a great adventure.

  11. Jana says:

    I have been stung few times as a child and also as an adult. The last time it was between my eyes when I was riding a bicycle and I got pretty bad reaction from it. My whole head swelled up and you couldn\’t see my eyes. 🙂 I went to emergency room and they gave me some shots. My sister made fun of me that I look like a pig. I can laugh now but at the time it wasn\’t funny at all and it took over a week to look normal again.But I am not afraid of them, not too much, just cautious.

  12. Rhonda says:

    Great shot!

Leave a Reply

