Fall Colours

Fall can be, hell usually is, fleeting here in Alaska.
Sometimes the colors (colours) are frozen right on the trees (and in my mind) by the white of winter much too soon.
This fall has been very pleasing indeed, so far I’d say the best in more than 10 years, in many ways.
The warmth, the clearness of the sky, the calmness of the weather fronts coming from the pacific typhoons and the Siberian cold fronts.
 
On a nice fall day I think of think of the moment of course and try to capture it with a photo, like this one;
 
IMGP6003 a Fall Colours
 

Trying to capture the fall colours of the natural landscape of the lowlands,
and the added hue of the new snow on the mountain, this one taken just last week.
And I, as you know, often think of a piece of music.
This time I am thinking of Fancy Colours, on the Chicago II album.
I first heard this from the album my sister bought, back in ’67 or so.
I was in Junior High School at the time, working on a farm for $1 per hour.
 
Now well things are different in many ways, but not in all ways, this tune I still love.
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fall Colours

  1. Pat says:

    Wonderful colours and textures. Enjoy your brief fall. We are bounding into summer (almost!)

  2. diane says:

    Ahhh…I had forgotten the beauty up there! You truely are in a land that has a changing color and magnificence about it! Lived there for thirteen years and loved every minute of it.

  3. Life's Like A Beach says:

    What a nice way to start the day, Steve, beautiful colours. The instrumental is quite a piece of art itself, from the 60\’s. Here, we can tell fall is arriving by the sun\’s light (direction). Other than that, it\’s still extremely hot…up into the 90"s where it\’s been rainy with humidity (sticky heat). Thanks for sharing this awesome view from your side of the world. May Peace & Blessings be with you and those that are dear to you…footprints

  4. Rambling says:

    Just visually stunning with gold and green-gold. The snow is like a glaze on the mountain; a portent of the blankets of snow to come.

  5. Patsy says:

    You captured it perfectly. Just beautiful. Glad you are having a mild fall, here things are just beginning to turn , the third week of October here is when they are at their peak. I\’m going to try and capture our hills this year and share with you. I know my photos won\’t be as great as yours but I thought you might enjoy seeing our mountains in color. Hugs, Patsy

  6. Fizz says:

    Beautiful… I agree with Patsy… captured perfectly!

  7. Flo says:

    Pretty, the warm colors against the cold mountain.

  8. ' says:

    You certainly have some stunning countryside.A beautiful picture……… nice tune too.Have a fab week.

  9. Ellen says:

    Hi, Steve!Long time no see! Thanks for visiting – you came to my space, but I can\’t remember when I was here the last time. I can see that fall is there in it\’s full and fancy colors. Beautiful is the word… We had our first night with temperatures below zero last night. Still the weather is beautiful here as well. Wish you a wonderful October, Steve!Ellen

  10. Jeffrey says:

    love the moment you catch the spot lighting on the mountain cap. and again the composition is classically done, my admiration to you, steve have a nice weekend

  11. Here I Am says:

    Wow to see that much orange at one time must be real energizing. Yes the colors here at my what little there are can be very fleeting. I am mostly surrounded by dieing evergreens. Who knows maybe in 100 years my hillsides will be covered with decidious trees and the valley will blaze with color in the fall. Thanks for sharing your blazing color. Hugs Carrie

  12. Rhonda says:

    I would love to hang this on my wall…absolutely beautfiul. I\’m so glad you enjoyed a pleasant fall season!

Leave a Reply

