Swans in Alaska

The fall this year is as close to an Indian Summer as Alaska gets,
the best (meaning longest non winter period) in all my short 34 years here.
Wow 34 years, hard to imagine, remember when over 30 sounded old?
I do, but here I am, 24 more than that!
The Trumpeter Swans have made their presence here at the coastal wildlife refuge,
and are a focus of attention for many a photographer including me.
They have flown down south here from more Arctic climes, and are literally in training for their migratory marathon to places 1 or 2 thousand miles south of here (still north of where people say y’all).
Here are a few recent frames…
 
High Steppin Takeoff

IMGP6420 ac High Stepping It

Four in Formation, when they leave here and gather up for the journey, it will be in the hundreds

IMGP6439 ac Four in Formation

Comming In

IMGP6436 ac Coming In

Wishing well to all from me up here.

Tonight was the first time I ever heard this tune,

I thought I had heard all from Joe Walsh but as always I have more to experience.

Joe Walsh  INDIAN SUMMER

Here is another rendition by the same name, this one from Glenn Miller, a big band from my father’s era.

I wonder how Glenn and Joe would get along if they could meet up?

Glenn Miller INDIAN SUMMER

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Swans in Alaska

  1. jude says:

    another good one eh….hugs from montreal…bon jour chere…

  2. Sue says:

    SteveThese are wonderful pic\’s, the swans looks so free and that a beautiful thing to seeLove the music, by both artist, I\’ve not hear the Joe Walsh one beforeGreat blogTake careSue

  3. Lori BJ says:

    Beautiful shots. Glad you shoot with a camera! lol The fall colors have not hit here yet as we have gone straight to snow and frozen rain. maybe this weekend we will see some color changes… im so confused. lol 35 as a high yesterday and 70 by friday. I am begining to wonder what season this really is…. {grin} take care steve – and thank you for stopping by

  4. Pat says:

    Hi Steve,I don\’t normally keep track of my age – when people ask, I have to work it out (I do know what year I was born – and generally know the current year!)Great photos, the last especially – it actually "took my breath away".All the bestPatrick

  5. J says:

    Hi Steve, looks like a fun shoot! Great shots, as always. Ya\’ll enjoy the weather while it last now ya hear.j

  6. Tatyana says:

    can\’t open the music but… amazing shots, Steve! Age thing…. grrr, i think age is in your head but not in your heart or on your face so who cares how old we are if we keep feeling young?;-)hugs,T.

  7. Patsy says:

    Ya\’ll come on down. Beautiful Steve and remember this saying my grandmother told me. Are you ready? "The older the fiddle the sweeter the music" Hope this helps. Hugs, Patsy from Wild and Wonderful WV

  8. Flo says:

    Awesome shots!

  9. Terry says:

    Swans are such beautiful birds and you really have some great shots there. We used to have a pair on the river by our house but one was killed and the other left.

  10. john says:

    Swans are so graceful, also very aggresive. I had some charge at me years ago when I was taking their picture. ruffled their feathers up and lowered their beaks. i said okay and backed off. Great shots with the fall colors in the background. With the ice storm we went direct to brown… stay warm

  11. Babblelot says:

    I know you had allot of fun on this excursion. The Fall colors are so pretty and the grace of the swan you have captured. I actually noticed something weird…swans have huge feet!

  12. Horst says:

    Toodie, you forget Swans are big birds. Nice photos Steve.

  13. Polly says:

    These are my favourite birds. You are so lucky to have them nearby to photograph – Whenever I see them, especially in flight, I have to stop and stare – must be the kiddie in me 🙂

  14. I says:

    LOVE the Glenn Miller rendition. Your photos are amazing as always. Such beautiful golden colors!

  15. Life's Like A Beach says:

    Love it! Stunning—Awesome, in it\’s entirety! …from down South y\’all. Thanks Steve 🙂 May Peace & Blessings be with you, footprints

  16. Arctic says:

    this is supper series Steve. those green colors hardly let anyone believes here is Alaska…some locals said, the climate is not only changing, it is changing at an unprecedented rate.

  17. Viviane says:

    love especially picture with for swans full-facethat\’s really funny, it\’s like if swans made a show for youtwo swans with stretched wings and two others with rounded wingsThey respect a perfect symmetry for your beautiful photosmoreover their white colours in middle automnal landscape are wonderful!!!!

  18. Sarah says:

    I\’ve been watching for their arrival here is Washington State, Steve. So looking forward to these big birds! Excellent shots, keep that shutter clicking.

  19. Cat says:

    love Glenn Miller – wanna dance?

  20. John says:

    Some good Stuff there Steve

  21. Rhonda says:

    Swans are my favorite water birds…so graceful and so beautiful…great shots!!!

  22. Here I Am says:

    You certainly captured the beauty of these guys. The middle photo is just outstanding..

  23. Jana says:

    beautiful. The swans have so much grace.

Leave a Reply

