TRILOGY

This year has been a trilogy above all other years, at least my short thirty some years here,  in that we in Alaska have had a long and wonderful fall, one more season than our usual summer-winter dual.

This last week this Trilogy of Seasons quietly closed the door of summer/fall and opened the door to winter.

The season is how I mark my time mostly, so this milestone is noticed by me every year, more so I’d say as my time here goes along.

 

Let it begin, yes that is ice staring to rim the shores of Cook Inlet

IMGP0124 a Trilogy 1 - Let It Begin

When the mountains turn white in the Chugach, and are capped with fresh cornices, and the ponds and marshes are all froze, and the swans have all flown, it is the end of season, that time is now.

IMGP0144 a Falling Back

The sun sets before 5pm now here, one of my last shots in October was the breath of middle earth,

Mount Redoubt still steaming in this 30 second exposure.

IMGP0139 a Trilogy 3 - Middle Earth's Breath

But now it is November and winter is here suddenly, the season that belongs to strange optics in the sky.

When the mirage Fata Morgan (the shape shifter) once again slices and dices even a mountain, this is again Mount Redoubt, similar view.

IMGP0225 a Refracted Redoubt I

And another just minutes later in this first show from the trickster in the new season

IMGP0232 a Refracted Redoubt 2

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to TRILOGY

  1. Rambling says:

    I am crazy for the mirage scenes so beautifully captured by you for us to enjoy and marvel over. I have never (I know I said this before) ever seen such a marvel as a mirage before and here they are for me to enjoy..almost as good as seeing them with my own eyes. I know the time and trouble you take to make all of your photographs for your own and our enjoyment. It takes a heavy investment of time..discomfort many if not most times, and most of all a love for the art of photography. Thank you.

  2. Arctic says:

    magical season change, sunset here is 2:30 pm, daylight is as short s 5 hrs now.

  3. PEP says:

    Steve, one of my co-worker\’s will be assigned to Alaska after his tour here and he is looking forward to it.

  4. Fizz says:

    Well done! Looks Great!

  5. elizabeth says:

    looking forward to ur winter pics from the relative comfort of my english hearth. stay warm brat !hugs, bb, xx

  6. Sheila says:

    Awesome pictures!!! I really like the last one.

  7. T says:

    It\’s so amazing how colours changes there. Doesn\’t happen here. And I also don\’t have a chance to observe because we are having bad weather for some time now. Short days and long nights started to affect people feelings. I can wait for snowing.Hug,T

  8. Here I Am says:

    Amazing how the scenes can change so quickly… Love those moutains..

Leave a Reply

