Freeze Up

A couple video clips from this week, a little taste of Alaska Freezup
 
Falls Creek near freezup but still flowing, the next day it was completely froze.
I am getting into these video clips, can you tell?
Would have been a big thing to setup and take a good still,
and I had other goals in mind (like not freezing my ass off for one).

 

The currents in Turnagain Arm are strong and swift, and now the ice is forming fast, it was moving 3-5 knots here.
You can’t outrun it if you are on the flats, you can’t out paddle it in a Kayak.
You just have to watch it from a safe distance, and only play in it at slack tide, and when the ice isn’t there.
The noise you hear is the wind, the temperature was in the lower teens F.
It is chilling to say the least to stand out there for even half a minute now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Freeze Up

  1. elizabeth says:

    hiya brat, cant see the vids so i\’ll be back later to try again. hugs, bb, xxx

  2. Flo says:

    Wonderful video. Made me feel the chill (here in Florida) watching it. 🙂

  3. Terry says:

    Started to shiver after watching, lol. Great videos.

  4. Sherry says:

    Fast flowing for sure, I wouldn\’t want to be caught in it. Love the video\’s

  5. Rambling says:

    I can tell you are getting into videos! 🙂

  6. Babblelot says:

    I knew I should have put on a sweater before viewing. Brrr great videos. Jjjjust like bbbeing there! Brrrr.

  7. Cheryl says:

    I likethe videos. I want to asteral project myself to go look at a few places I have not seen in many years. I used to sit on Madeline Island on Lake Superior and watch the waves come ashore in the winter. It sounded beautiful and was beautiful. Ice would form instantly and it sounded like breaking glass every time a wave him. So pristine and clean. Before my dad died he wanted to go to the island. He had never been there ane at that time neihter had I. I ended up living there for 10 years on the mainland only a few miles from his place. Brings back memories…

  8. john says:

    When I was in the north Atlantic they measured tempurature by how fast exposed flesh froze, at chill index 5 is took 60 seconds to freeze, the lungs, cheeks etc. The one time was enough i learned the hard way. Winter in the cold country is different. Great stuff.

  9. Here I Am says:

    wow is that ever moving fast on the tide coming in. I have also been playing around a bit with my video on my camera. Haven\’t posted anything yet. We had rain today so snow is patched all over and a mucky mess. Will freeze again tonight makeing everything slick in the mornng. It has been so mild the last few days. Feels weird… Well my friend have a great weekend. Hugs Carrie

  10. I says:

    I do not know how you do it! There is no way I could stand in cold like that. Very impressive that you stand in those kind of temps. It is nice that we get to benefit from it and get to view the videos but I do feel for you in those cold temps. You are one tough man, Steve.

  11. Fizz says:

    Excellent video… love it… I like this new medium you\’re working with!!

  12. Greg says:

    Wow!That wind does sound cold and the current looks so powerful even on video.

  13. Jana says:

    Thank you for these videos Steve! For brining Alaska closer to us! I bet the cold had to be worse with the wind! And I would never ever get in kayak in such a freezing weather! 🙂

Leave a Reply

