EAGLE EYES

On my weekend nature safari in the deep north today.
It has been ice fog in Anchor town now for a full 2 weeks, not very good light for nature/wildlife photos.
So I have been on safari looking for better light and finding it not too far, about 60 miles driving.
Today’s offering is a Bald Eagle I happened upon. This is right from my pickup truck along a less travelled road.
500 mm lens hand held and braced against window, steering wheel and whatever.
 
 
IMGP7013 ac Eagle Eyes
 
 
Everything is iced, even the feathers of our noble national bird.

Winter in the north does not spare, it is not kind, it is what it is.

These eagles and other wild creatures starve for several months during the winter.

Some starve to death, others make it.

They will scavenge, kill or do anything in their limited power to eat in a land locked in a frozen state.

There is not a single eagle that begs on a street corner, or asks for money, free insurance, welfare or anything else, they live or die without such trappings of reliance on others. Many of the things we humans personify in such creatures has no meaning to them at all, they are simply surviving.

I find such encounters enlightening, it is a stark honesty that is both refreshing and enlightening along The Trail

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to EAGLE EYES

  1. Fizz says:

    Excellent photo. Excellent point. I love this photo.. but then I\’m a sucker for the national bird. I\’m SO glad Franklin didn\’t get his way and it was the turkey… such hideous creatures!

  2. Jacque says:

    Very nice shot of the eagle. Makes you wonder why he doesn\’t just fly south before it gets so cold.You give a new perspective.Take care!

  3. Kuskulana says:

    Jacque, I can relate to them not leaving, but sometimes I wonder why I don\’t fly south when the swans do!

  4. Sue says:

    What a wonderful bird, this is great picTake caresue

  5. Dianne says:

    What a capture! Great hand held shot Steve. Sure hope this marvelous bird makes it through winter. Take care and stay warm Steve.Dianne 🙂

  6. Horst says:

    Very nice Photo Steve.

  7. Tatyana says:

    Eagle. Iced. (that\’s how I read the title first:-)))amazing shot!

  8. Pat says:

    Anthropomorphism! Do it well and do it often. That bird is not begging – he is actually selling insurance.Great shot.

  9. Rambling says:

    You have written on of the best blogs ever. I love the statement, and certainly I love the picture..you know I do.

  10. Flo says:

    What an amazing photo. He (she?) looks both miserable and dignified at the same time. What a beautiful bird.

  11. Jacque says:

    I can understand why you\’re there in Alaska after seeing these amazing photos! I just imagine you have access to food and warm shelter to make it through the long cold winter. :)"Many of the things we humans personify in such creatures has no meaning to them at all, they are simply surviving."How true that is.Stay warm and safe!

  12. Rambling says:

    I have thought about those lines off and on yesterday..those which you wrote here about survival. I knew that before from having read about it and common sense. However, to read information from someone right there who knows..very powerful. I wish I could wave a magic wand, which sadly I certainly cannot, to make it good for all birds and animals all the year long. My mom\’s heart suffers with such reality.

  13. R U Serious says:

    You live an amazing life Steve!! GREAT photos! That Bald Eagle looked ticked but they always do! Wonderful words.Not sure where our wild boars came from! I guess from the wild??

  14. Babblelot says:

    Steve this is a magnificent photo. The bird\’s attitude and the textures are incredible. Even the tips of some feathers seems frosted.Oh this is a winner. Just love this. You outdid yourself!

  15. john says:

    eagle looks not very happy on its perch with all the frost I would be a little more then frosted me self.

  16. Karolyn says:

    picture really nice… more nice than the eagle seems to be… how far away were you to take this shot?

  17. Rhonda says:

    All I can think of to say is MAGNFICIENT…God of the skies!

Leave a Reply

